2019-20 Future-oriented Financial Statement

Statement of Management Responsibility (unaudited)
For the Year ending March 31

Management of the Office of the Correctional Investigator (OCI) is responsible for these future-oriented financial statements, including responsibility for the appropriateness of the assumptions on which these statements are prepared. These statements are based on the best information available and assumptions adopted as at December 21, 2018 and reflect the plans described in the Departmental Plan.

These Future-oriented Financial Statements have been prepared in accordance with the Treasury Board's accounting policies and its Guide on the preparation of general purpose Future-oriented Financial Statements.

These Future-oriented Financial Statements have not been audited.

Ivan Zinger J.D., Ph.D
Correctional Investigator
Ottawa, Canada

Manuel Marques
Chief Financial Officer
Ottawa, Canada

Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (unaudited)
For the Year ending March 31
(in dollars)
Forecast results
2018-19
Planned results
2019-20
Expenses (Note 5)
Ombudsman for federal offenders
$ 4,824,901 $ 0
Independent Oversight of Federal Corrections
0 4,649,400
Internal Services
1,305,540 1,258,053
Total expenses $6,130,441 $5,907,453
Revenues
Miscellaneous revenues
100 120
Revenues earned on behalf of government
(100) (120)
Total revenues $ 0.00 $ 0.00
 
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers $ 6,130,441 $ 5,907,453

The accompanying notes form an integral part of the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations.

 

Notes to the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (unaudited)
For the Year ending March 31

1. Methodology and significant assumptions

The Future-Oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared on the basis of government priorities and departmental plans as described in the Departmental Plan.

The information in the forecast results for fiscal year 2018–19 is based on actual results as at December 21th, 2018 and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year.  Forecasts have been made for the planned results for the 2019-20 fiscal year.

The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:

  • The Office’s activities will remain substantially the same as for the previous year;
  • Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.

These assumptions are made as at December 21th, 2018.

2. Variations and changes to the forecast financial information

Although every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2018–19 and for 2019–20, actual results achieved for both years are likely to differ from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this Future-Oriented Statement of Operations, the Office of the Correctional Investigator has made estimates and assumptions about the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are based on past experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances, and are continually evaluated.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations and the historical statement of operations include:

  • the timing and the amount of acquisitions and disposals of property, plant and equipment may affect gains/losses and amortization expense;
  • the implementation of new collective agreements in the core public administration that can impact the Office of the Correctional Investigator; and
  • other changes to the operating budget, such as new initiatives or technical adjustments later in the fiscal year.

After the Departmental Plan is tabled in Parliament, the Office of the Correctional Investigator will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Results Report.

3. Summary of significant accounting policies

The Future-Oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared using the Government of Canada’s accounting policies in effect for fiscal year 2018–19, and is based on Canadian public sector accounting standards.  The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

a) Expenses

The Office records expenses on an accrual basis.

Other expenses are generally recorded when goods are received or services are rendered and include expenses related to personnel, professional and special services, repair and maintenance, utilities, materials and supplies, as well as amortization of tangible capital assets. Provisions to reflect changes in the value of assets or liabilities, such as provisions for bad debts, loans, investments and advances and inventory obsolescence, as well as utilization of inventories and prepaid expenses, and other are also included in other expenses. 

b) Revenues

Revenues from regulatory fees are recognized in the accounts based on the services provided in the year.

Funds received from external parties for specified purposes are recorded upon receipt as deferred revenue. These revenues are recognized in the period in which the related expenses are incurred.

Other revenues are recognized in the period the event giving rise to the revenues occurred. Revenues that are non-respendable are not available to discharge the Office’s liabilities. Although the deputy head is expected to maintain accounting control, he has no authority over the disposition of non-respendable revenues. As a result, non respendable revenues are considered to be earned on behalf of the Government of Canada and are therefore presented as a reduction of the department’s gross revenues.

4. Parliamentary authorities

The Office is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to the Office differs from financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles because authorities are based mainly on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current, or future years. Accordingly, the Office has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities
(in dollars) Forecast results
2018-19
Planned results
2019-20
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers $ 6,130,441 $ 5,907,453
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:    
Decrease (increase) in employee future benefits
(31,411) 15,318
Services provided without charge by other government departments
(612,441) (624,123)
Decrease (increase) in vacation pay and compensatory leave
(1,672) (3,695)
Refunds of previous years' expenditures
1,821 2,187
Adjustments to previous years’ payables at year end
17,702 34,043
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities
(626,001) (576,270)
Adjustment for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:    
Increase in salary overpayments
5,553 5,887
Increase in other loans and advances to employees
9,839 9,172
Total items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities
15,392 15,059
Requested authorities $ 5,519,832 $ 5,346,242

 

b) Authorities requested
(in dollars) Forecast results
2018-19
Planned results
2019-20
Authorities requested:    
Vote 1 – operating expenditures
$ 4,926,507 $ 4,735,703
Statutory amounts
593,325 610,539
Total authorities requested $ 5,519,832 $ 5,346,242

5. Comparative information

In 2019-20, the Office of Correctional Investigator will transition from a reporting framework comprising Strategic Outcomes and a Program Alignment Architecture to a Departmental Results Framework comprising Core Responsibilities and Departmental Results. For comparative purposes, expenses for 2018-19 are presented by Core Responsibility on the same basis as 2019-20 in accordance with the Office’s new Departmental Results Framework.

État financier prospectif de 2019-2020

Énoncé de la responsabilité de la direction (non vérifié)
pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars

La direction du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel est responsable de l’intégrité et les conventions sur lesquels cet état financier prospectif a été préparé. Cet état financier prospectif est fondé sur les meilleurs estimations disponibles au 21 décembre 2018 et conforment aux plans décrits au Plan ministériel.

Cet état financier prospectif a été préparé conformément aux politiques du Conseil du trésor et son Guide sur la préparation des états financiers prospectifs.

Cet état financier prospectif n'a pas fait l'objet de vérification.

Ivan Zinger J.D., Ph.D
Enquêteur Correctionnel
Ottawa, Canada

Manuel Marques
Premier dirigeant des finances
Ottawa, Canada

État des résultats prospectifs
Pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars (non-vérifié)
(en dollars)
Résultats projetés
2018-2019
Résultats prévus
2019-2020
Charges (Note 5)
Ombudsman pour les délinquants
4 824 901 $ 0 $
Surveillance indépendante des services correctionnels fédéraux
0 4 649 400
Services internes
1 305 540 1 258 053
Total des charges 6 130 441 $ 5 907 453 $
Revenus
Revenus diverses
100 120
Revenus gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement
(100) (120)
Total des revenus 0,00 $ 0,00 $
 
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 6 130 441 $ 5 907 453 $

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante de l’état des résultats prospectifs.

 

Notes à l’état des résultats prospectif (non auditées)
pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars

1. Méthodologie et hypothèses importantes

L’état des résultats prospectif a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans ministériels qui sont décrits dans le plan ministériel.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats projetés de l’exercice 2018-2019 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 21 décembre 2018 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l’exercice. Des prévisions ont été réalisées pour les résultats prévus de l’exercice 2019-2020.

Les principales hypothèses qui sous-tendent les prévisions sont les suivantes :

  • Les activités du Bureau resteront, pour l’essentiel, les mêmes que celles de l’exercice précédent;
  • Les charges et les revenus, y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes au gouvernement, sont fondés sur l’expérience acquise. L’évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre.

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 21 décembre 2018.

2. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l'exercice 2018-2019 et pour 2019-2020, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de différer des prévisions financières présentées, et l’écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation du présent état des résultats prospectif, le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l’égard des événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Elles sont fondées sur l’expérience acquise et d’autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances, et sont évaluées de façon continue.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l’état des résultats prospectif et l’état des résultats historique incluent :

  • le moment et le montant des acquisitions et des aliénations de biens immobiliers, d’installations de production et d’équipements qui peuvent influer sur les gains ou pertes et les charges d’amortissement;
  • la mise en œuvre de nouvelles conventions collectives à l’administration centrale qui peuvent avoir une incidence sur le Bureau;
  • les modifications supplémentaires au budget de fonctionnement en raison de nouvelles initiatives ou de rajustements techniques mis en œuvre plus tard au cours de l’exercice.

Une fois que le plan ministériel sera présenté, le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel ne fera pas de mise à jour des prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le rapport ministériel sur les résultats.

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L’état des résultats prospectif a été préparé conformément aux conventions comptables du gouvernement du Canada en vigueur pour l’exercice 2018-2019, et s’appuie sur les normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l’utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence notable par rapport aux normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

a) Charges

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice.

Les autres charges sont généralement comptabilisées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou les services sont rendus et comprennent les charges de fonctionnement liées au personnel, services professionnels et spéciaux, réparation et entretien, services publics, fournitures et approvisionnement, ainsi que l'amortissement des immobilisations corporelles. Les autres charges incluent des provisions qui tiennent compte des changements de la valeur des actifs et des passifs, y compris les provisions pour créances douteuses, les prêts, les placements, les avances et la désuétude des stocks.  De plus, les charges incluent l'utilisation des stocks et des charges payées d'avance ainsi que d’autres.

b) Revenus

Les revenus provenant de droits réglementaires sont constatés dans les comptes en fonction des services fournis au cours de l’exercice.

Les autres revenus sont comptabilisés dans l’exercice pendant lequel les opérations ou les événements qui ont généré les revenus surviennent.

Les revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés ne peuvent servir à acquitter les passifs du Bureau. Bien que l’on s’attende à ce que l’Enquêteur correctionnel maintienne le contrôle comptable, il n’a pas l’autorité pour disposer des revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés. Par conséquent, les revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés sont considérés comme étant gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada et sont présentés en réduction du montant brut des revenus de l’entité.

4. Autorisations parlementaires

Le Bureau est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires. La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties au Bureau ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont principalement fondées sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l’état des résultats prospectif d’un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires approuvées au cours de l’exercice précédent, de l’exercice en cours ou d’exercices futurs. Par conséquent, le coût de fonctionnement net du Bureau pour l’exercice diffère suivant qu’il est calculé selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées
(en dollars) Résultats projetés
2018-2019
Résultats prévus
2019-2020
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 6 130 441 $ 5 907 453 $
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations :    
Diminution (augmentation) des avantages sociaux futurs
(31 411) 15 318
Services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères gouvernementaux
(612 441) (624 123)
Diminution (augmentation) des indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires
(1 672) (3 695)
Remboursement de charges des exercices antérieurs
1 821 2 187
Ajustements aux créditeurs à la fin de l’année des exercices antérieurs
17 702 34 043
Total des postes qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations
(626 001) (576 270)
Rajustement pour les postes qui n’ont pas d’incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations :    
Augmentation du trop-payés de salaire
5 553 5 887
Augmentation des autres prêts et avances aux employés
9 839 9 172
Total des postes qui n’ont pas d’incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations
15 392 15 059
Autorisations demandées 5 519 832 $ 5 346 242 $

 

b) Autorisations demandées
(en dollars) Résultats projetés
2018-2019
Résultats prévus
2019-2020
Autorisations demandées :    
Crédit 1 – Dépenses de fonctionnement
4 926 507 $ 4 735 703 $
Montant des postes législatifs
593 325 610 539
Autorisations demandées totales 5 519 832 $ 5 346 242 $

Information comparative

En 2019-2020, le Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel du Canada remplacera le cadre redditionnel composé des résultats stratégiques et d’une architecture d'alignement des programmes par un cadre des résultats ministériels composé de responsabilités essentielles et les résultats ministériels. À des fins de comparaison, les dépenses pour 2018-2019 sont présentées selon la même base que 2019-2020 conformément au nouveau cadre de résultats ministériels du Bureau.