Office of the Correctional Investigator
48th Annual Report to Parliament
2020 – 2021
Presentation Deck

February 2022

 

Overview and Contents

  • Correctional Investigator’s Message, summarizing the impact of COVID-19 on federal corrections.

  • Review of significant cases and updates on major files, including sexual coercion and violence behind bars.

  • Six national investigations – use of force, women’s corrections, Structured Intervention Units (SIUs), medical isolation, prison suicide and Canadian ratification of the Optional Protocol to the Convention Against Torture.

  • Assessment of the mandatory reporting burden imposed on small and micro-agencies, like the OCI.

  • Twenty recommendations – including four outside the direct responsibility of the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC).

  • Correctional Investigator’s Outlook for federal corrections in 2021-22.

 

2020-21 OCI Annual Statistics

  • $5.4 M budget

  • 38 FTEs

  • 10 days spent in facilities + 43 virtual visits

  • 4,509 offender complaints

  • 481 interviews with offenders and staff

  • 1,471 use of force reviews

  • 136 deaths in custody and serious bodily injury reviews

  • 19,143 contacts (including toll-free phone)

  • 3.7M website page views (112,405 unique visitors)

 

National Investigations

 

1. Use of Force

Purpose: This investigation examines the intersection of racial representation and involvement of Black, Indigenous and Peoples of Colour (BIPOC), and other vulnerable persons in use of force incidents.

General Findings

  • Use of force incidents have risen steadily over the last five years, despite an overall decline in the prison population.

  • Inflammatory spray (pepper spray) continues to be over-utilized and remains the most common type of force used in federal prisons.

  • A significant proportion of persons involved in use of force incidents had a history of suicide, self-injury, and/or other mental health need.

 

Use of Force

Specific Findings

  • Race was found to be uniquely associated with over-representation of Black, Indigenous, and Peoples of Colour (BIPOC) in use of force incidents in federal prisons.

  • On average, Black and Indigenous individuals experience proportionately more use of force incidents than any other racial group.

  • Use of force in federal corrections appears vulnerable to the influence of racial bias.

 

Use of Force: Recommendations

  1. CSC should conduct an in-depth evaluation of the Engagement and Intervention Model (EIM) with a view to implementing changes that will reduce the over-reliance on force options overall, particularly inflammatory sprays, and provide concrete strategies for adopting evidence-based, non-force options for resolving incidents.

  2. CSC should review and revise its policy and practice regarding use of inflammatory sprays when responding to incidents involving individuals who are self-harming or suicidal, with a view to reducing their use when responding to individuals who are experiencing mental health crises.

  3. CSC should develop a reliable method for administratively tracking individuals with mental health concerns in order to identify how policies and practices, such as use-of-force, impact this particularly vulnerable population.

  4. CSC should promptly develop an action plan in consultation with stakeholders to address the relationship between use-of-force and systemic racism against Indigenous and Black individuals and publicly report on actionable changes to policy and practice that will effectively reduce the over-representation of these groups among those exposed to uses of force.

 

2. Women’s Corrections

Purpose: This investigation examines progress made in women’s corrections over the last 30 years against the principles and problems identified in Creating Choices, the 1990 Report of the Task Force on Federally Sentenced Women.

General Findings

  • Admissions and counts in women’s federal correctional facilities have more than tripled since 1990.

  • Today, Indigenous women comprise 43% of the federally sentenced women population, up from 23% in 1990.

 

Women’s Corrections

Specific Findings

  • Many of the progressive principles and ideas of Creating Choices – presumption of minimum-security classification at admission; no perimeter fencing; no maximum-security units; no segregation for incarcerated women; use of strip-searching – have been abandoned in favour of a framework that puts security and control at the forefront.

  • Access to programs, services, and interventions for women remain problematic:

    • Indigenous women have limited access to specialized programming, Elders, and Indigenous Liaison Officers.

    • Job training for women is often grounded in gendered roles and expectations, offering few marketable skills.

 

Women’s Corrections: Recommendations

  1. CSC should conduct an external review to evaluate all security practices within women’s facilities with a view to eliminating or reducing overly secure procedures that move women’s corrections further away from the objectives identified in Creating Choices.

  2. CSC should conduct an independent in-depth study of its Women Offender Correctional Program (WOCP) and Indigenous Women Offender Correctional Program (IWOCP) to better understand why the programs have been deficient in producing improved correctional outcomes for participants, particularly for Indigenous women.

  3. CSC should significantly increase the use of temporary absences and work releases for women, particularly those in minimum security, to ensure they can regularly access the community to provide more options and enhance their opportunities for successful reintegration.

  4. CSC should return to the basic principles identified in Creating Choices and develop a long-term strategy to ensure that all women are prepared at their earliest date possible to return to the community and that significant resources be reallocated to the community supervision program and community correctional programming to support women back in the community.

  5. Alternative accommodations for women housed in secure units should be pursued along with the eventual closure of all secure units. If secure units remain open, they should only be used for temporary removal and separation of women after a serious incident until a proper alternative placement is found.

 

3. Structured Intervention Units (SIUs)

Purpose: This investigation looks at the introduction of SIUs in penitentiaries, which replaced solitary confinement (administrative segregation) in November 2019.

Preliminary Observations

  • Problems with data collection, accountability and transparency limit assessment of SIU compliance with mandated measures, e.g., out of cell time, “meaningful” human contact, reason for placement.

  • No public records regarding compliance with Independent External Decision Maker (IEDM) removal orders from SIUs.

  • SIUs purportedly have more favourable conditions of confinement and better access to services compared to other areas of maximum-security facilities. As a result, prisoners often refuse to voluntarily leave these units.

 

SIUs: Recommendations

  1. CSC should publish forthwith a quarterly record of SIU placement authorizations under section 34 (2) of the CCRA, including the reasons cited for granting authorization. This record should also include the number of instances where individuals were subjected to Restricted Movement under section 37.91 (1) of the CCRA.

  2. CSC should finalize and publish a timeline indicating how it plans to meet its legislated reporting requirements under section 37 (2) (Obligations of the Service) and section 32 (3) (Physical Barriers), as well as under section 37.2 (Health care recommendations).

 

4. Use of Medical Isolation

Purpose: This investigation examines the use of medical isolation (quarantine periods) in context of reducing COVID-19 transmission in federal prisons.

Major Findings

  • CSC’s approach to medical isolation has the potential to violate or degrade residual liberties and minimum standards guaranteed in law (e.g. access to fresh air exercise, out of cell time, access to programs and services).

  • Use of medical isolation in CSC facilities appears to far exceed the need, potentially extending beyond quarantine periods and cases recommended by public health authorities.

 

Medical Isolation: Recommendations

  1. Commissioner’s Directive 822 (Medical Isolation and Modified Routine for COVID-19) should be immediately revised to include:

    1. Definitions that clearly distinguish between the practice of medical isolation and quarantine, including clinically relevant criteria where appropriate.

    2. Service standards (time restrictions, response times) for medical clearance and the institutional head’s authorization to discontinue medical isolation and quarantine.

    3. Time restrictions for quarantine and medical isolation, with clear guidelines to allow for the extension of restrictions as per the advice of health care.

    4. A requirement that any stays in medical isolation beyond 14-days be flagged in the offender management system (OMS), and be subject to the same level of review and oversight as those in place for Structured Intervention Units.

    5. Basic expectations for conditions of confinement including out-of-cell, yard, and shower time, access to video visitation, and health care visits.

 

5. Prison Suicide

Purpose and Context: This investigation examines a series of systemic failures that contributed to the suicide of a young Indigenous man (M) in a maximum-security facility. After an assault on his life and fearful for his safety, M was maintained in segregation or other restrictive confinement until his suicide six months later.

Systemic Failures

  • M was subject to involuntary transfers to alleviate his segregation status. Solitary confinement was often used to manage his disruptive, assaultive, and self-injurious behaviours. With each transfer, M became increasingly disengaged and withdrawn.

  • A comprehensive assessment of M’s suicidal risk was never completed.

  • Acts of self-injury were considered instrumental or wilful in nature, and were often met with force.

  • No coordinated mental health continuum of care was present among the various transfer sites.

  • M’s Indigenous status, which should have informed his care and treatment plans, was not taken into account in sentence administration.

 

Prison Suicide: Recommendations

  1. CSC’s team of national investigators within the Incident Investigations Branch (IIB) should be comprehensively trained in the principles and practices of Gladue analysis and Gladue report writing (Indigenous social history). Further, National Boards of Investigation into a person of Indigenous ancestry should be principally led, investigated, and written from an Indigenous social history perspective.

  2. A Gladue-informed summary of M’s case should be prepared and used as a national training and learning tool for all CSC staff. In the interests of transparency and accountability, any documentation prepared to meet my recommendations in this case should be made public.

  3. CSC should discontinue the practice of labeling non-suicidal self-injurious behaviour in prison settings as “instrumental,” “willful,” or “deliberate” in nature or intent. A comprehensive mental health assessment of self-injurious and suicidal persons should be completed, and clear guidance provided to front line staff in how to manage and de-escalate incidents of self-injurious and suicidal behaviour.

  4. The Commissioner should proactively issue a formal apology to M’s family for the systemic failures of Correctional Service Canada.

 

6. Canada’s Ratification of OPCAT

Concern: Canada has yet to ratify the Optional Protocol to the Convention Against Torture. The OPCAT would create a framework for independent national and international inspection of all places of detention in Canada.

  • Canada lacks a coordinated and proactive framework of monitoring and inspection of places where citizens are deprived of their liberty.

  • Federally, the OPCAT would create a single mechanism for inspection of detention facilities under federal authority (penitentiaries, immigration holding centres, Canadian Forces Service Prisons and Detention Barracks, and RCMP holding cells).

  • More broadly, the OPCAT would extend to all places and persons deprived of liberty regardless of cause, circumstance, or context.

 

Reporting Burden of Micro Agencies

  • As a micro-agency, the OCI has the same mandatory reporting requirements as the Correctional Service of Canada (19,000 employees).

  • The Office is required to issue 40 corporate reports each year, many of which are redundant, bureaucratic or duplicative.

  • The burden to produce these reports detracts from the delivery of the Office’s core mandate.

  • Essential elements of public reporting (transparency, results for Canadians, performance, accountability, value for money) can be condensed into a single 12-page report, which is appended to this year’s Annual Report.

 

Other Recommendations

  1. The Minister of Public Safety should engage the Public Health Agency of Canada to conduct an independent epidemiological study of the differential rates of COVID-19 infection and spread in Canadian federal prisons and report results and recommendations publicly.

  2. The Minister of Public Safety should promptly conduct an in-depth review of the community corrections sector with a view to considerably enhancing financial, technical and infrastructure supports. Funding for a reinvigorated community corrections model could be re-profiled from institutional corrections in direct proportion to declining warrants of committal and returning admissions, and the planned and gradual closures of redundant or archaic penitentiaries.

  3. The President of Treasury Board should recognize the reporting burden of small and micro agencies, and play a leadership role by developing a whole-of-government approach to alleviate this burden. Before full legal and regulatory reforms can be introduced, Treasury Board Secretariat should consider legal exemptions for eligible small and micro agencies to start reporting differently.

  4. The Prime Minister of Canada should fulfill this Government’s commitment by signing the Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture and taking concrete steps within the next four years to ensure this important human rights instrument is ratified.

 

Correctional Investigator’s Outlook

Areas of OCI Focus for 2021-2022

  • Review Office’s response and effectiveness through COVID-19 and implement lessons learned.

  • Formalize our approach to systemic investigations and prison inspections.

  • Launch an external stakeholder engagement strategy.

Thematic Investigations in 2021-2022

  • Indigenous programs.

  • Update of the Black inmate experience.

  • Restrictive confinement in maximum-security facilities.

Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel
48e rapport annuel au Parlement (2020-2021)
Présentation

Février 2022

 

Aperçu et contenu

  • Message de l’enquêteur correctionnel, qui résume l’incidence de la COVID-19 sur les services correctionnels fédéraux.

  • Examen des affaires importantes et mises à jour des principaux dossiers, notamment la coercition sexuelle et la violence en milieu carcéral.

  • Six enquêtes nationales – recours à la force, services correctionnels pour femmes, unités d’intervention structurée (UIS), isolement médical, suicide en prison et ratification par le Canada du Protocole facultatif se rapportant à la Convention contre la torture.

  • Évaluation de la charge de déclaration obligatoire imposée aux petits et micro-organismes, comme le BEC.

  • Vingt recommandations – dont quatre ne relèvent pas de la responsabilité directe du Service correctionnel Canada (SCC).

  • Perspectives de l’enquêteur correctionnel sur les services correctionnels fédéraux en 2021-2022.

 

Statistiques annuelles du BEC 2020-2021

  • Budget de 5,4 millions $.

  • 38 ETP.

  • 10 jours passés dans les installations + 43 visites virtuelles.

  • 4 509 plaintes de délinquants.

  • 481 entretiens avec des délinquants et des membres du personnel.

  • 1 471 examens du recours à la force.

  • 136 décès en détention et examens de blessures corporelles graves.

  • 19 143 contacts (y compris par appel téléphonique gratuit).

  • 3,7 millions de vues sur le web (112 405 visiteurs uniques).

 

Enquêtes nationales

 

1. Recours à la force

Objectif : Cette enquête examine l’intersection de la représentation raciale et de l’implication des personnes autochtones, noires et de couleur (PANDC), et d’autres personnes vulnérables dans les incidents de recours à la force.

Constatations générales

  • Les incidents liés au recours à la force ont augmenté régulièrement au cours des cinq dernières années, malgré une baisse générale de la population carcérale.

  • Les aérosols inflammatoires (vaporisateur de poivre) continuent d’être sur-utilisés et demeurent le type de force le plus utilisé dans les prisons fédérales.

  • Une part importante des personnes impliquées dans les incidents de recours à la force avaient des antécédents de tentatives de suicide, d’automutilation ou d’autres besoins en matière de santé mentale.

 

Recours à la force

Constatations spécifiques

  • Il a été constaté que la race était particulièrement associée à la surreprésentation des personnes autochtones, noires et de couleur (PANDC) dans les incidents de recours à la force dans les prisons fédérales.

  • En moyenne, les personnes noires et les autochtones subissent proportionnellement plus d’incidents de recours à la force que tout autre groupe racial.

  • Le recours à la force dans les services correctionnels fédéraux semble vulnérable à l’influence des préjugés raciaux.

 

Recours à la force : Recommandations

  1. Le SCC devrait évaluer en profondeur le modèle d’engagement et d’intervention (MEI) en vue de mettre en œuvre des changements qui réduiront le recours excessif à la force dans l’ensemble, surtout aux aérosols inflammatoires, et formuler des stratégies concrètes pour résoudre les incidents par des moyens non violents fondés sur des données probantes.

  2. Le SCC devrait examiner et réviser sa politique et ses pratiques concernant l’usage des aérosols inflammatoires dans les incidents impliquant des personnes qui s’automutilent ou qui sont suicidaires, en vue de réduire cet usage dans les interventions auprès de personnes qui vivent des crises de santé mentale.

  3. Le SCC devrait élaborer une méthode fiable pour le suivi administratif des personnes souffrant de problèmes de santé mentale, et déterminer ainsi la manière dont les politiques et les pratiques, comme le recours à la force, influent sur ces personnes particulièrement vulnérables.

  4. Le SCC devrait élaborer rapidement un plan d’action en consultation avec les intervenants pour examiner la relation entre le recours à la force et le racisme systémique à l’égard des personnes autochtones et noires, et rendre compte publiquement des changements, réalisables dans les politiques et les pratiques, à même de réduire dans les faits la surreprésentation de ces groupes parmi les personnes exposées au recours à la force.

 

2. Services correctionnels pour femmes

Objectif : Cette enquête examine les progrès réalisés dans les services correctionnels pour femmes au cours des trente dernières années par rapport aux principes et aux problèmes relevés dans La création de choix, le rapport de 1990 du Groupe d’étude sur les femmes purgeant une peine fédérale.

Constatations générales

  • Le nombre de femmes admises dans les établissements correctionnels fédéraux a plus que triplé depuis 1990.

  • Aujourd’hui, les femmes autochtones constituent 43 % des femmes condamnées à des peines de ressort fédéral, contre 23 % en 1990.

 

Services correctionnels pour femmes

Constatations spécifiques

  • Bon nombre des principes et idées progressistes promus par La création de choix – présomption de classification de sécurité minimale à l’admission; pas de clôture d’enceinte; pas d’unités de sécurité maximale; pas de ségrégation pour les femmes incarcérées; recours à la fouille à nu – ont été abandonnés en faveur d’un cadre qui place la sécurité et le contrôle au premier plan.

  • L’accès des femmes aux programmes, aux services et aux interventions demeure problématique :

    • Les femmes autochtones ont un accès limité aux programmes spécialisés, aux aînés et aux agents de liaison autochtones.

    • Les formations professionnelles destinées aux femmes sont souvent fondées sur des rôles et des attentes sexospécifiques et offrent peu de compétences commercialisables.

 

Services correctionnels pour femmes : Recommandations

  1. Le SCC devrait effectuer un examen externe pour évaluer toutes les pratiques de sécurité qui sont en vigueur dans les établissements pour femmes en vue d’éliminer ou de réduire les procédures trop sécuritaires qui éloignent les services correctionnels pour femmes des objectifs définis dans La création de choix.

  2. Le SCC devrait mener une étude indépendante et approfondie de son Programme correctionnel pour délinquantes (PCD) et de son Programme correctionnel pour délinquantes autochtones (PCDA) afin de mieux comprendre les raisons pour lesquelles ces programmes n’ont pas réussi à produire de meilleurs résultats correctionnels pour les participantes, en particulier pour les femmes autochtones.

  3. Le SCC devrait fortement augmenter le recours aux permissions de sortir et aux placements à l’extérieur pour les femmes, surtout celles à cote de sécurité minimale, de sorte qu’elles passent régulièrement du temps en société, ce qui leur offrirait plus de choix et augmenterait leurs chances de réintégration.

  4. Le SCC devrait revenir aux principes fondamentaux énoncés dans La création de choix, élaborer une stratégie à long terme qui prépare les femmes le plus tôt possible à retourner à la vie en société, et réaffecter des ressources importantes au programme de surveillance communautaire et aux programmes correctionnels communautaires afin de soutenir les femmes qui retournent à la vie en société.

  5. Il faut chercher d’autres solutions pour les femmes hébergées dans les unités sécurisées, puis fermer toutes les unités sécurisées. Si les unités sécurisées restent ouvertes, elles ne doivent servir qu’au retrait et à la séparation temporaires des femmes après un incident grave, jusqu’à ce qu’un substitut adéquat soit trouvé.

 

3. Unités d’intervention structurée (UIS)

Objectif : Cette enquête porte sur l’introduction dans les établissements pénitentiaires des UIS, qui ont remplacé l’isolement cellulaire (isolement préventif) en novembre 2019.

Observations préliminaires

  • Des problèmes de collecte de données, de responsabilité et de transparence limitent l’évaluation de la conformité des UIS aux mesures prescrites, p. ex. temps hors cellule, contact humain « significatif », raison du placement.

  • Aucun document public concernant le respect des ordres de retrait des UIS par un décideur externe indépendant (DEI).

  • Les UIS bénéficient prétendument de conditions de détention plus favorables et d’un meilleur accès aux services par rapport aux autres secteurs des établissements de sécurité maximale. En conséquence, les détenus refusent souvent de quitter volontairement ces unités.

 

UIS : Recommandations

  1. Le SCC devrait publier sans délai un registre trimestriel des autorisations de placement dans les UIS en vertu du paragr. 34(2) de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, y compris les raisons invoquées pour accorder l’autorisation. Ce registre doit également indiquer le nombre de cas où des personnes ont été soumises à une restriction de mouvement en vertu du paragr. 37.91(1) de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition.

  2. Le SCC devrait élaborer et publier un calendrier indiquant la manière dont il compte satisfaire aux exigences législatives en matière de rapports en vertu du paragr. 37(2) (Obligations du Service), du paragr. 32(3) (Obstacles physiques) et de l’article 37.2 (Recommandations en matière de soins de santé).

 

4. Recours à l’isolement médical

Objectif : Cette enquête examine le recours à l’isolement médical (quarantaine) pour réduire la transmission de la COVID-19 dans les prisons fédérales.

Principales constatations

  • La démarche du SCC en matière d’isolement médical pourrait potentiellement violer ou dégrader les libertés résiduelles et les normes minimales garanties par la loi (par exemple, l’exercice à l’air frais, le temps passé hors de la cellule, l’accès aux programmes et aux services).

  • Le recours à l’isolement médical dans les établissements du SCC semble largement dépasser les besoins, voire les périodes de quarantaine et les cas recommandés par les autorités de santé publique.

 

Isolement médical : Recommandations

  1. La Directive du Commissaire 822 (COVID-19 – Isolement médical et horaire modifié) devrait être révisée sans délai pour y inclure :

    1. Des définitions qui distinguent clairement l’isolement médical de la quarantaine, notamment des critères cliniques, s’il y a lieu.

    2. Des normes de service (restrictions temporelles, délais d’intervention) pour l’autorisation médicale et l’autorisation du chef d’établissement de mettre fin à l’isolement médical et à la quarantaine.

    3. Des restrictions temporelles sur la quarantaine et l’isolement médical, et des directives claires sur la prolongation des restrictions sur avis médical.

    4. Une exigence selon laquelle tout isolement médical de plus de 14 jours doit être signalé dans le Système de gestion des délinquants (SGD) et faire l’objet d’un examen et d’une surveillance de même degré que les unités d’intervention structurée.

    5. Les conditions minimales de détention, notamment le temps passé hors de la cellule, dans la cour, sous la douche, les visites vidéo et les visites médicales.

 

5. Suicide en prison

Objectif et contexte : Cette enquête examine toute une série de faux pas systémiques qui ont contribué au suicide d’un jeune homme autochtone (M) dans un établissement de sécurité maximale. Après qu’il ait attenté à sa vie, et craignant pour sa sécurité, M a été maintenu en isolement ou autre confinement restrictif jusqu’à son suicide six mois plus tard.

Défaillances systémiques

  • M a fait l’objet de transferts involontaires pour alléger son isolement. On l’a souvent isolé dans sa cellule pour gérer ses comportements perturbateurs, agressifs et d’automutilation. Transfert après transfert, M s’est de plus en plus retiré et replié sur lui-même.

  • On n’a jamais effectué une évaluation complète du risque qu’il se suicide.

  • Les actes d’automutilation étaient considérés comme étant manipulateurs ou volontaires par nature, et étaient souvent combattus par la force.

  • Aucun continuum de soins de santé mentale coordonné n’était présent d’un établissement à l’autre.

  • Le fait que M était autochtone aurait dû être pris en compte dans ses plans de soins et de traitement, mais ne l’a pas été dans l’administration de sa peine.

 

Suicide en prison : Recommandations

  1. Les enquêteurs nationaux du SCC, qui relèvent de la Direction des enquêtes sur les incidents (DEI), devraient recevoir une formation complète sur les principes et les pratiques de l’analyse Gladue et de la rédaction de rapports Gladue (histoire sociale autochtone). De plus, les travaux des commissions nationales d’enquête sur les personnes d’ascendance autochtone devraient être principalement dirigés, menés et rapportés du point de vue de l’histoire sociale autochtone.

  2. Un sommaire du cas de M, éclairé par l’arrêt Gladue, devrait être rédigé, puis servir d’outil national de formation et d’apprentissage pour tout le personnel du SCC. Dans l’intérêt de la transparence et de la responsabilité, tout document élaboré pour répondre à mes recommandations dans cette affaire devrait être rendu public.

  3. Le SCC devrait cesser de qualifier le comportement d’automutilation non suicidaire en milieu carcéral de « manipulateur », de « volontaire » ou de « délibéré » par nature ou par intention. Une évaluation complète de la santé mentale des personnes qui s’automutilent et des personnes suicidaires doit être réalisée, et des conseils clairs doivent être donnés au personnel de première ligne sur la manière de gérer et de désamorcer les incidents liés aux comportements d’automutilation et aux comportements suicidaires.

  4. La commissaire devrait prendre l’initiative de présenter des excuses officielles à la famille de M. pour les défaillances systémiques du Service correctionnel du Canada.

 

6. Ratification du PFCCT par le Canada

Préoccupation : Le Canada n’a pas encore ratifié le Protocole facultatif se rapportant à la Convention contre la torture. Le PFCCT créerait un cadre pour l’inspection nationale et internationale, de manière indépendante, de tous les lieux de détention au Canada.

  • Le Canada ne dispose pas d’un cadre coordonné et proactif pour le contrôle et l’inspection des lieux où les citoyens sont privés de liberté.

  • À l’échelle fédérale, le PFCCT créerait un mécanisme unique pour l’inspection des établissements de détention de ressort fédéral (pénitenciers, centres de surveillance de l’immigration, casernes de détention et prisons militaires des Forces canadiennes, et cellules de détention de la GRC).

  • Plus largement, le PFCCT s’étendrait à tous les lieux et à toutes les personnes privées de liberté, indépendamment de la cause, des circonstances ou du contexte.

 

Le fardeau des rapports sur les micro-organismes

  • En tant que micro-organisme, le BEC est soumis aux mêmes exigences en matière de rapports obligatoires que le Service correctionnel du Canada (19 000 employés).

  • Le Bureau est tenu de publier quarante rapports intégrés chaque année, dont beaucoup sont redondants, bureaucratiques ou font double emploi.

  • Le fardeau que constitue la production de ces rapports détourne l’attention du Bureau de la réalisation de son mandat principal.

  • Les éléments essentiels des rapports publics (transparence, résultats pour les Canadiens, rendement, responsabilité, optimisation des ressources) peuvent être condensés en un seul rapport de douze pages, qui est annexé au rapport annuel de cette année.

 

Autres recommandations

  1. Le ministre de la Sécurité publique devrait demander à l’Agence de santé publique du Canada de mener une étude épidémiologique indépendante sur le taux distinctif d’infection et de propagation de la COVID-19 dans les prisons fédérales canadiennes et de rendre publics les résultats et les recommandations.

  2. Le ministre de la Sécurité publique devrait rapidement procéder à un examen approfondi du secteur des services correctionnels communautaires en vue d’en améliorer considérablement le soutien financier, technique et infrastructurel. Les fonds nécessaires à la revitalisation des services correctionnels communautaires pourraient être puisés dans ceux des services correctionnels institutionnels en proportion directe de la baisse des mandats d’incarcération et des admissions de retour, ainsi que de la fermeture planifiée et progressive des pénitenciers redondants ou archaïques.

  3. Le président du Conseil du Trésor devrait reconnaître le fardeau que constitue la production de rapports pour les petits et micro-organismes, et jouer un rôle de premier plan en élaborant une approche pangouvernementale qui allège ce fardeau. Avant que des réformes juridiques et réglementaires complètes puissent être introduites, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor devrait envisager des exemptions légales qui permettent aux petits et micro-organismes admissibles de commencer à produire des rapports différents.

  4. Le premier ministre du Canada devrait respecter l’engagement du gouvernement actuel de signer le Protocole facultatif se rapportant à la Convention contre la torture et prendre des mesures concrètes au cours des quatre prochaines années pour que cet important instrument des droits de la personne soit ratifié.

 

Perspectives de l’enquêteur correctionnel

Domaines d’intervention du BEC pour 2021-2022

  • Examiner la réaction du Bureau à la pandémie COVID-19, son efficacité, et appliquer les leçons retenues.

  • Formaliser notre démarche envers les enquêtes systémiques et les inspections de prisons.

  • Mettre en place une stratégie de mobilisation des intervenants externes.

Enquêtes thématiques en 2021-2022

  • Programmes autochtones.

  • Mise à jour du vécu des détenus noirs.

  • Enfermement restrictif dans les établissements à sécurité maximale.