ARCHIVED - Office of the Correctional
Investigator

2000-2001
Estimates

A Report on Plans and Priorities

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Approved

______________________________________

Solicitor General of Canada


TABLE OF CONTENTS

Section I: Message

A. Correctional Investigator's Message
B. Management Representation Statement

Section II: Departmental Overview

A. Mandate, Roles and Responsibilities
B. Objective
C. Operating Environment
D. Agency Planned Spending

Section III: Plans, Results and Resources

A. Objective
B. Business Line Description
C. Key Results Commitments, Planned Results, Related Activities and Resources

Section IV: Financial Information

Table 4.1: Net cost of Program for the Estimates Year

Section V: Other Information

Table 5.1: Statutes and Regulations
Table 5.2: Reports
Table 5.3: References


Section I: Message

A. Correctional Investigator's Message

I am mandated as an Ombudsman for federal corrections. The Office carries out this function within an environment that has traditionally been closed to public scrutiny with a high level of mistrust between correctional officials and inmates.

I am firmly committed to the Ombudsman concept and believe that the provisions of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act provide for a process through which the vast majority of individual and systemic concerns can be reasonably addressed. It is important for all parties to appreciate that the Correctional Investigator is neither an agent of the Correctional Service of Canada nor the advocate of every complainant or interest group that lodges a complaint. I am mandated to investigate complaints from an independent and neutral position and in cases where there is evidence of unfairness, make appropriate recommendations concerning corrective action.

Over the past year, the Office has vigorously pursued an agenda of operational improvement in order to optimize its efficiency in carrying out its primary mandate. A significant milestone in this process was reached on 18 October 1999 when I formally signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Correctional Service of Canada. The intent of this agreement is to assist both agencies in addressing areas of offender concern in an objective, thorough and timely fashion.

I look forward to the challenges of the coming years and a continued open and cooperative working relationship with our partners in the corrections field so as to ensure that offender complaints are dealt with in an environment of openness, accountability and fairness. Canadian society is indeed better served and protected when everyone involved in Corrections strives steadfastly towards the fair, humane and equitable treatment of offenders.

B. Management Representation Statement

MANAGEMENT REPRESENTATION

Report on Plans and Priorities 2000-2001

I submit, for tabling in Parliament, the 2000-2001 Report on Plans and Priorities (RPP) for the Office of the Correctional Investigator (OCI).

To the best of my knowledge, the information:
  • Accurately portrays the department's mandate, plans, priorities, strategies and expected key results of the organisation.

  • Is consistent with the disclosure principles contained in the Guidelines for Preparing a Report on Plans and Priorities.

  • Is comprehensive and accurate.

  • Is based on sound underlying departmental information and management systems.
I am satisfied as to the quality assurance processes and procedures used for the RPP's production.

The Planning and Reporting Accountability Structure (PRAS) on which this document is based has been approved by Treasury Board Ministers and is the basis for accountability for the results achieved with the resources and authorities provided.

Name:___________________________________


Date:___________________________________

Section II: Departmental Overview

A. Mandate, Roles and Responsibilities

The Office of the Correctional Investigator was established in 1973 pursuant to Part II of the Inquiries Act. With the proclamation in November 1992 of Part III of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, this is now the enabling legislation. The mandate of the Correctional Investigator, as defined by this legislation, is to function as an Ombudsman for federal offenders. The Correctional Investigator is independent of the Correctional Service of Canada and may initiate an investigation on receipt of a complaint by or on behalf of an offender, at the request of the Minister or on his own initiative. The Correctional Investigator is required by legislation to report annually through the Solicitor General to both Houses of Parliament.

In addition, Section 19 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act requires that the Correctional Service of Canada "where an inmate dies or suffers serious bodily injury" conduct an investigation and provide a copy of the report to the Correctional Investigator.

The Office of the Correctional Investigator is headed by the Correctional Investigator who reports to Parliament through the Solicitor General. The Agency's resources has provided for 17 full-time equivalents, 10 of which make up the investigative staff. The total resources are $1,763,000 for the fiscal year 2000-2001.

B. Objective

To act as an Ombudsman on behalf of offenders by thoroughly and objectively reviewing a wide spectrum of administrative actions and presenting findings and recommendations to an equally broad spectrum of decision makers, inclusive of Parliament.

C. Operating Environment

The maintaining of an independent and objective review process within a correctional environment where the Office has virtually no control over either the number of complaints or the extent of investigations required presents a number of unique challenges. First, the resolution of disputes in an environment traditionally closed to public scrutiny with an understandably high level of mistrust between correctional officials and inmates, requires that the Office not only be, but be seen to be independent of both the Correctional Service and the Ministry. Second, given that the authority of the Office rests with its power of persuasion and public reporting, rather than enforceable recommendations, it is imperative that appropriate administrative and political mechanisms be available to ensure that reasonable, fair and timely action is taken on the Office's findings.

D. Agency Planned Spending

Office of the Correctional Investigator

Financial Spending Plan
$thousands Forecast Spending
1999-2000*
Planned Spending
2000-2001
Planned Spending
2001-2002
Planned Spending
2002-2003
Budgetary Main Estimates 1,768 1,763 1,763 1,763
Less: Respendable revenue - - - -
Total Main Estimates 1,768 1,763 1,763 1,763
Adjustments 299 - - -
Net Planned Spending 2,067 1,763 1,763 1,763
Plus: Cost of services received without charge 108 108 108 108
Net cost of program 2,175 1,871 1,871 1,871
 
Full Time Equivalents 17 17 17 17


* Reflects best forecast of total planned spending to the end of the fiscal year

Section III: Plans, Results and Resources

A. Objective

To act as an Ombudsman on behalf of offenders by thoroughly and objectively reviewing a wide spectrum of administrative actions and presenting findings and recommendations to an equally broad spectrum of decision makers, inclusive of Parliament.

B. Business Line Description

The Office of the Correctional Investigator has one Business Line which, as detailed in Section 167 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, is to conduct investigations into the problems of offenders related to decisions, recommendations and or omissions of the Commissioner of Corrections or any person under the control and management of, or performing service for or on behalf of the Commissioner of Corrections that affect offenders either individually or as a group.

C. Key Results Commitments, Planned Results, Related Activities and Resources

Key Results Commitments
Planned Results
Related Activities
Resources
($thousands)
To provide Canadians with:

an independent and impartial review agency to investigate problems of federal offenders related to decisions, recommendations, acts or omissions of the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC).
  • An effective, thorough, impartial and independent review process of all complaints made by or on behalf of federal offenders.
  • An Office which is accessible to the offender population and to all other parties who wish to file a complaint on their behalf.
  • An effective, thorough, impartial and independent review process of all CSC Investigations convened pursuant to section 19 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act (inmate death or serious bodily injury) and of interventions by Institutional Emergency Response Teams (IERTs).
  • Demonstrated leadership in identifying and addressing
    systemic problems and emerging issues in Corrections.
  • A multi-faceted, dynamic and responsive communications strategy.
  • Confidence and understanding of the Canadian public, including federal offenders, vis-à-vis the Office's role, mandate and services.
  • Positive results of the actions taken by the Correctional Service of Canada in response to the Office's findings and recommendations.
  • Deal effectively, thoroughly, impartially and independently with all complaints made by or on behalf of federal offenders.
  • Visit all federal institutions on a regular basis and interview offenders who have a complaint.
  • Maintain a toll-free telephone line for offenders experiencing problems of an urgent nature and to provide easier access to the Office for Canadians from coast to coast.
  • Review all CSC Investigations as per section 19 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act and all interventions of Institutional Emergency Response Teams (IERTs) in an effective, thorough, impartial and independent fashion.
  • Undertake any other investigative activity it deems necessary to carry out its primary mandate.
  • Continue to inform federal offenders and other Canadians of its mandate, role and services through all available media, inclusive of its own website.
  • Maintain an open, honest and professional working relationship with the Correctional Service of Canada, in keeping with our Memorandum of Understanding.
  • 2,100

Section IV: Financial Information

Table 4.1: Net cost of Program for the Estimates Year

($thousands) Office of the
Correctional Investigator
Total
Planned Spending (Budgetary and Non-budgetary Main Estimates plus adjustments) 2,067 2,067
Plus: Services Received without Charge
Accommodation provided by Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC)
108 108
Contributions covering employer's share of employees' insurance premiums and expenditures paid by TBS - -
Workman's compensation coverage provided by Human Resources Canada - -
Salary and associated expenditures of legal services provided by Justice Canada - -
Less: Respendable Revenue
Less: Non-respendable Revenue
-
-
-
-
2000-2001 Net Program Cost (Total Planned Spending) 2,175 2,175

Section V: Other Information

Table 5.1: Statutes and Regulations

Corrections and Conditional Release Act, Part III

Table 5.2: Reports

Table 5.3: References

Name
Title
Address
Tel. No.
Fax No.
R.L. Stewart
Correctional Investigator
275 Slater Street
Room 402
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 5H9
(613)990-2689
(613)990-9091
Ed McIsaac
Executive Director
275 Slater Street
Room 402
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 5H9
(613)990-2691
(613)990-9091

ARCHIVÉE - Bureau de l'Enquêteur
correctionnel

Budget des dépenses
2000-2001

Un rapport sur les plans et les priorités

Contenu archivé

L'information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Approuvé

_______________________________________

Solliciteur général du Canada


TABLE DES MATIÈRES

Section I: Message

A. Message de l'Enquêteur correctionnel
B. Déclaration de la Direction

Section II: Vue d'ensemble du ministère

A. Mandat, rôles et responsabilités
B. Objectif
C. Contexte opérationnel
D. Dépenses prévues

Section III: Plans, résultats et ressources

A. Objectif du secteur d'activité
B. Description du secteur d'activité
C. Principaux engagements en matières de résultats, résultats escomptés, activités et ressources connexes

Section IV: Renseignements financiers

Tableau 4.1: Coût net du programme pour l'année budgétaire

Section V: Autres renseignements

Tableau 5.1: Lois et règlements
Tableau 5.2: Rapports
Tableau 5.3: Références


Section I: Message

A. Message de l'Enquêteur correctionnel

J'ai un mandat d'ombudsman dans le cadre du régime correctionnel fédéral. Le Bureau exécute cette fonction dans un environnement qui depuis toujours a été fermé aux regards du public et où l'on trouve considérablement de méfiance entre les gardiens et ceux qu'ils surveillent.

Je suis tout à fait convaincu de la valeur du concept d'ombudsman et je crois que les dispositions de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition présente un processus qui nous permet de traiter la vaste majorité des préoccupations individuelles et systémiques. Toutes les parties doivent comprendre que l'Enquêteur correctionnel n'est ni un agent du Service correctionnel du Canada ni l'avocat de chaque plaignant ou de chaque groupe d'intérêt qui dépose une plainte. J'ai le mandat d'enquêter sur les plaintes de façon indépendante et neutre et, dans le cas où il y a des preuves d'injustice, de formuler des recommandations appropriées sur les mesures correctives à prendre.

Au cours de la dernière année, le Bureau a investi des ressources considérables pour améliorer ses opérations afin d'optimaliser son efficacité à satisfaire son mandat principal. Une étape importante dans ce processus fut atteinte le 18 octobre 1999 lorsque j'ai signé un protocole d'entente avec le Service correctionnel du Canada. Le but de cette entente est d'aider les deux organismes à traiter les problèmes des contravenants de façon objective, complète et sans retard indu.

J'attends avec confiance les défis des années à venir et je crois que nous aurons toujours avec nos partenaires dans le domaine correctionnel, une relation de travail ouverte et marquée au coin de la coopération afin que d'assurer que les problèmes des contravenants soient traités dans une atmosphère d'ouverture, de responsabilité et d'équité dans la prise de décision. La société canadienne est effectivement mieux servie et mieux protégée si tous ceux qui oeuvrent dans le domaine correctionnel soutiennent de façon inconditionnelle le traitement juste, humain et équitable des contravenents.

B. Déclaration de la Direction

DÉCLARATION DE LA DIRECTION

Un rapport sur les plans et les priorités 2000-2001

Je soumets, en vue de son dépôt au Parlement, le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités de 2000-2001 du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel (BEC).

À ma connaissance (et sous réserve des observations ci-dessous), les renseignements:
  • Décrivent fidèlement les mandats, plans, priorités, stratégies et résultats clés escomptés de l'organisation.
  • Sont conformes aux principes de divulgation de l'information énoncés dans les Lignes directrices pour la préparation du Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.
  • Sont complets et exacts.
  • Sont fondés sur de bons systèmes d'information et de gestion sous-jacents.
Je suis satisfait des méthodes et procédures d'assurance de la qualité qui ont été utilisées pour produire le RPP.

Les ministres du Conseil du Trésor ont approuvé la structure de planification, de rapport et de responsabilisation (SPRR) sur laquelle s'appuie le document et qui sert de fondement à la reddition de comptes sur les résultats obtenus au moyen des ressources et des pouvoirs fournis.

Nom:___________________________________


Date:___________________________________

Section II: Vue d'ensemble du ministère

A. Mandat, rôles et responsabilités

LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel fut établi en 1973 en vertu de la Partie II de la Loi sur les enquêtes. Cette base légale a été modifiée en novembre 1992 avec la promulgation de la Partie III de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition. Le mandat de l'Enquêteur correctionnel, tel que défini par cette Loi, est d'agir en tant qu'ombudsman pour les délinquants sous juridiction fédérale. LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel est indépendant du Service correctionnel du Canada et peut ouvrir une enquête par suite d'une plainte émanant de ou présentée au nom d'un délinquant ou d'un détenu, à la demande du Ministre ou de sa propre initiative. L'Enquêteur correctionnel doit présenter un rapport annuel par l'entremise du Solliciteur général devant chaque chambre du Parlement.

De plus, l'article 19 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition exige que le Service correctionnel du Canada effectue une enquête "en cas de décès ou de blessure grave d'un délinquant" et parvenir une copie du rapport à l'Enquêteur correctionnel.

LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel est dirigé par l'Enquêteur correctionnel qui se rapporte au Parlement par l'entremise du Solliciteur général. Les ressources de l'agence consistent en 17 "équivalents temps plein", 10 desquels forment le personnel enquêteur. Les ressources totales sont 1,763,000$ pour l'année fiscale 2000-2001.

B. Objectif

Agir en tant qu'ombudsman au nom des contrevenants en examinant à fond et de façon objective un large éventail d'activités administratives et en présentant ses conclusions et ses recommandations à un grand nombre de décideurs, y compris le Parlement.

C. Contexte opérationnel

Le maintien d'un processus de révision indépendant et objectif en milieu correctionnel où le Bureau n'a virtuellement aucun contrôle sur le nombre de plaintes ou sur la profondeur des enquêtes requises, présente de nombreux défis bien particuliers. Premièrement, la résolution de disputes dans un environnement qui, depuis toujours a été fermé aux yeux du public et où l'on trouve, bien entendu, considérablement de méfiance entre les gardiens et ceux qu'ils surveillent, exige que le Bureau soit non seulement indépendant du Service correctionnel et du Ministère mais aussi qu'il soit perçu comme tel.

Deuxièment, il est impératif étant donné que l'autorité du Bureau réside dans ses pouvoirs de persuasion et de rapporter publiquement plutôt que sur des recommandations exécutoires qu'il y ait des mécanismes appropriés aux niveaux administratif et politique pour assurer qu'on donne suite à ses constats de façon juste, raisonnable et sans délai indu.

D. Dépenses prévues

Bureau de l'Enquêteur correctionnel

Plan de dépenses
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues
1999-2000*
Dépenses prévues
2000-2001
Dépenses prévues
2001-2002
Dépenses prévues
2002-2003
Budgétaire du Budget principal des dépenses 1,768 1,763 1,763 1,763
Moins: Recettes disponsibles - - - -
Total du Budget principal des dépenses 1,768 1,763 1,763 1,763
Rajustements 299 - - -
Dépenses prévues nettes 2,067 1,763 1,763 1,763
Plus: Coût des services reçus sans frais 108 108 108 108
Total des dépenses prévues 2,175 1,871 1,871 1,871
 
Équivalents temps plein 17 17 17 17

*Ce montant reflète les prévisions les plus justes du total des dépenses prévues à la fin de l'exercice courant

Section III: Plans, résultats et ressources

A. Objectif du secteur d'activité

Agir en tant qu'ombudsman au nom des contrevenants en examinant à fond et de façon objective un large éventail d'activités administratives et en présentant ses conclusions et ses recommandations à un grand nombre de décideurs, y compris le Parlement.

B. Description du secteur d'activité

LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel a seulement un secteur d'activité qui, comme détaillé à l'article 167 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, est chargé d'enquêter sur les problèmes des délinquants liés aux décisions, recommandations ou omissions ou les deux qui proviennent du Commissaire du Service correctionnel du Canada ou d'une personne sous son autorité ou exerçant des fonctions en son nom qui affectent les délinquants individuellement ou en groupe.

C. Principaux engagements en matières de résultats, résultats escomptés, activités et ressources connexes

Principaux engagements en matière de résultats
Résultats escomptés
Activités connexes
Ressources
(en milliers de dollars)
Fournir aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes:

Un organisme de révision indépendant et impartial qui mène des enquêtes sur les problèmes des délinquants liés aux décisions, recommandations, actes ou omissions qui proviennent du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC).
  • Un processus de révisions de toutes les plaintes formulées par ou au nom des délinquants fédéraux qui est efficace, complet, impartial et indépendant.
  • Un bureau qui est accessible aux délinquants et à tous les autres partis voulant formuler une plainte en leur nom.
  • Un processus de révision de toutes les enquêtes du SCC, ayant été convoquées suite à l'article 19 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition (lorsqu'un détenu meurt ou subit des blessures graves), qui est efficace, complet, impartial et indépendant.
  • Un leadership évident aux niveaux de l'identification et de la résolution des problèmes systémiques et des questions actuelles dans le domaine correctionnel.
  • Une stratégie de communications dynamique, polymorphe et sensible aux besoins de la clientèle visée.
  • La confiance et la compréhension du public canadien, incluant des délinquants fédéraux vis-à-vis le rôle, le mandat et les services du Bureau.
  • Les résultats positifs des actions prises par le Service correctionnel du Canada en réponse aux constats et recommandations du Bureau.
  • Traiter de manière efficace, complète, impartiale et indépendante toutes les plaintes reçues des ou au nom des délinquants fédéraux.
  • Visiter régulièrement toutes les institutions fédérales et y rencontré tous les détenus désirant formuler une plainte.
  • Maintenir un service téléphonique gratuit pour les délinquants aux prises avec des problèmes urgents et pour faciliter l'accès au Bureau pour tous les Canadiens.
  • Revoir de façon efficace, complète, impartiale et indépendante les Enquêtes du SCC en vertue de l'article 19 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition et toutes les interventions des équipes institutionnelles.
  • Entreprendre toute autre activité d'enquête jugée nécessaire pour remplir son principal mandat.
  • Continuer d'informer les délinquants fédéraux et tous les autres canadiens de son mandat, son rôle et ses services par tous les média disponible, incluant son propre site internet.
  • Maintenir une relation ouverte, honnête, et professionnelle avec le Service correctionnel du Canada et ce, conformément avec notre protocole d'entente.
  • 2,100

Section IV: Renseignements financiers

Tableau 4.1: Coût net du programme pour l'année budgétaire

(en milliers de dollars) Bureau de
l'Enquêteur correctionnel
Total
Dépenses prévues (Budgétaire et non budgétaire du Budget principal des dépenses plus rajustements) 2,067 2,067
Plus: Services reçus sans frais
Locaux fournis par Travaux public et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC)
108 108
Cotisations aux régimes d'assurance des employés et coûts payés par le SCT - -
Protection des accidents du travail assurée par Développement des ressources humaines Canada - -
Traitements et coûts des services juridiques connexes fournis par le ministère de la Justice Canada - -
Moins: Recettes disponibles
Moins: Recettes non disponibles
-
-
-
-
Coût net du programme pour 2000-2001
(Total des dépenses prévues)
2,175 2,175

Section V: Autres renseignements

Tableau 5.1: Lois et règlements

Partie III - Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous conditions

Tableau 5.2: Rapports

Tableau 5.3: Références

Nom
Titre
Adresse
No. de téléphone
No. de fax
R.L. Stewart
Enquêteur correctionnel
275 rue Slater
Pièce 402
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1P 5H9
(613)990-2689
(613)990-9091
Ed McIsaac
Directeur exécutif
275 rue Slater
Pièce 402
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1P 5H9
(613)990-2691
(613)990-9091