Office of the Comptroller General (OCG) Horizontal Audit of Protection of Personal Information

Office of the Correctional Investigator Management Action Plan
AUDIT RECOMMENDATION MANAGEMENT ACTION AREA RESPONSIBLE EXPECTED COMPLETION DATE
Privacy notices    

A privacy notice is not included for information collected for the Ed McIsaac Human Rights in Corrections Award.

A privacy notice will be developed and provided to nominees at the time of collection of the information relating to their personal information.

Corporate Services

March 31, 2014

completed

The OCI’s website, with regards to the Award, details, in the Nomination Procedures section, the type of personal information to be provided in conjunction with the nomination for the reward, but also does not contain a privacy notice.

The privacy notice (above) will be posted on the OCI’s website providing the reader with assurances that personal information will be protected.

Corporate Services

March 31, 2014

completed

A privacy notice was included in both the Personal Information Request Form and the Direct Deposit Enrolment Form. The Privacy Notice is the same in both cases and, while InfoSource is referenced in the Personal Information Request Form, neither form refers to the PIBs to which information is aligned.

Response: The Direct Deposit Enrolment Form (PWGSC 8437) and the Personal Information Request forms used by the OCI are issued by the Government of Canada and for that reason are generic. Both forms state:

“The information provided is protected under the Privacy Act, The information may be accessed through your program department using the Personal Information Bank number PPU 040 listed in the Info Source Publication.”

Although a welcomed addition to this form, the OCI is unable to add any OCI-related information, such as a reference to PIBS on these forms.  
Corporate Services

March 31, 2014

completed

Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA)    

A PIA has not been required since 2009, when the Ed McIsaac Human Rights in Corrections Award was introduced. Given the historically low volume of PIAs in the organization, triggers and written guidance on when and how to conduct a PIA have not been developed. The decision to conduct a PIA would be informed with the use of TBS tools and guidance. The OCI’s RPP for FY 2012-13 shows no changes or major new initiatives planned for the year.

The OCI will determine if a PIA is required in relation to the Ed McIsaac Human Rights in Corrections Award. This will be done with the TBS Checklist to determine when a PIA is required.

The requirement to complete a Privacy Impact Assessment for future incremental programs or activities will be determined by OCI senior management. 
Corporate Services

March 31, 2014

completed

Vérification horizontale sur la protection des reseignements personnels du Bureau du Contrôleur général

Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel Plan d'action
RECOMMANDATION DE LA VÉRIFICATION ACTION PRÉVUE PAR LA DIRECTION RESPONSABLE DATE PRÉVUE D'ACHÈVEMENT
Avis de confidentialité    

Un avis de confidentialité n’est pas inclus pour les renseignements recueillis dans le cadre du Prix Ed McIsaac pour la promotion des droits de la personne dans le système correctionnel.

Un avis de confidentialité sera établi et présenté aux candidats au moment où on leur demandera des renseignements personnels.

Services corporatifs

Le 31 mars 2014

Terminé

Sur le site Web du BEC, la section Mises en candidature précise le type de renseignements personnels à fournir en vue de la mise en candidature pour le Prix, mais ne contient pas d’avis de confidentialité.   

L’avis de confidentialité (ci-dessus) sera affiché sur le site Web du BEC, afin de garantir au lecteur que ses renseignements personnels seront protégés.

Services corporatifs

Le 31 mars 2014

Terminé

Un avis de confidentialité a été inclus dans la Formule de demande d’accès à des renseignements personnels et la Demande d’inscription au dépôt direct. L’avis de confidentialité est le même dans les deux formulaires. La Formule de demande d’accès à des renseignements personnels fait référence à Info Source, mais aucun des formulaires ne mentionne le FRP qui correspond aux renseignements.

Réponse : La Demande d’inscription au dépôt direct (TPSGC 8437) et la Formule de demande d’accès à des renseignements personnels que le BEC utilise sont émises par le gouvernement du Canada et sont donc génériques. Les deux formulaires énoncent ce qui suit :

« Les renseignements fournis sont protégés conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. On peut y avoir accès en utilisant le numéro de fichier de renseignements personnels TPSGC PPU 040 inscrit dans la publication Info Source ».

Le BEC ne peut pas ajouter sur ces formulaires de l’information qui le concerne, comme une référence aux FRP, bien qu’un tel ajout soit apprécié.   

 

Services corporatifs

Le 31 mars 2014

Terminé

Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVPK)    

Une EFVPK n’a pas été requise depuis 2009, année de création du Prix Ed McIsaac pour la promotion des droits de la personne dans le système correctionnel. Compte tenu du nombre traditionnellement peu élevé d’EFVPK au BEC, des critères et des instructions écrites n’ont pas été établis pour préciser quand et comment procéder à une EFVPK. La décision de mener une EFVPK sera fondée sur les outils et les directives du SCT. Le RPP du BEC pour 2012-2013 ne prévoit pas de changements importants ou de nouvelles initiatives ou pour l’année.

Le BEC déterminera si une EFVPK est requise dans le cadre du Prix Ed McIsaac pour la promotion des droits de la personne dans le système correctionnel. La liste de vérification du SCT sera utilisée pour déterminer si une EFVPK est requise.

L’exigence de procéder à une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée pour les programmes ou les activités futurs sera déterminée par la haute direction du BEC.   
Services corporatifs

Le 31 mars 2014

Terminé