2017-18 Future-oriented Financial Statement

Statement of Management Responsibility (unaudited)
For the Year ending March 31

Management of the Office of the Correctional Investigator (OCI) is responsible for these future-oriented financial statements, including responsibility for the appropriateness of the assumptions on which these statements are prepared. These statements are based on the best information available and assumptions adopted as at December 16, 2016 and reflect the plans described in the Departmental Plan.

These Future-oriented Financial Statements have been prepared in accordance with the Treasury Board's accounting policies and its Guide on the preparation of general purpose Future-oriented Financial Statements.

These Future-oriented Financial Statements have not been audited.

Ivan Zinger J.D., Ph.D
Correctional Investigator
Ottawa, Canada

Manuel Marques
Chief Financial Officer
Ottawa, Canada

Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (unaudited)
For the Year ending March 31
(in dollars)
Forecast results
2016-17
Planned results
2017-18
Expenses
Ombudsman for federal offenders
$4,114,167 $4,133,059
Internal services
1,108,835 1,113,927
Total expenses $5,223,002 $5,246,986
Revenues
Miscellaneous revenues
33 35
Revenues earned on behalf of government
(33) (35)
Total revenues $ 0.00 $ 0.00
 
Net Cost of Operations $5,223,002 $5,246,986

The accompanying notes form an integral part of these financial statements.

Notes to the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (unaudited)
For the Year ending March 31

1. Methodology and significant assumptions

The Future-Oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared on the basis of government priorities and departmental plans as described in the Departmental Plan.

The information in the forecast results for fiscal year 2016–17 is based on actual results as at December 16, 2016 and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for the planned results for the 2017-18 fiscal year.

The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:

  • The Office’s activities will remain substantially the same as for the previous year;
  • Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.

These assumptions are made as at December 16, 2016.

2. Variations and changes to the forecast financial information

Although every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2016–17 and for 2017–18, actual results achieved for both years are likely to differ from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this Future-Oriented Statement of Operations, the Office of the Correctional Investigator has made estimates and assumptions about the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are based on past experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances, and are continually evaluated.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations and the historical statement of operations include:

  • the timing and the amount of acquisitions and disposals of property, plant and equipment may affect gains/losses and amortization expense;
  • the implementation of new collective agreements; and
  • other changes to the operating budget, such as new initiatives or technical adjustments later in the fiscal year.

After the Departmental Plan is tabled in Parliament, the Office of the Correctional Investigator will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Results Report.

3. Summary of significant accounting policies

The Future-Oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared using the Government of Canada’s accounting policies in effect for fiscal year 2016–17, and is based on Canadian public sector accounting standards.  The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

a) Expenses

The office records expenses on an accrual basis.

Expenses for the office’s operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered, including services provided without charges for accommodation, employee contributions to health and dental insurance plans, legal services and worker’s compensation, which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost. Vacation pay and compensatory leave, as well as severance benefits, are accrued, and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their respective terms of employment.

Expenses also include provisions to reflect changes in the value of assets, including provisions for bad debt on accounts receivable, provision for valuation on loans, investments and advances and inventory obsolescence, or liabilities, including contingent liabilities and environmental liabilities to the extent the future event are likely to occur and a reasonable estimate can be made.

Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets, which are capitalized at their acquisition cost.  Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset. 

b) Revenues

Revenues from regulatory fees are recognized in the accounts based on the services provided in the year.

Other revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event that gave rise to the revenue takes place.

Revenues that are non-respendable are not available to discharge the office's liabilities. Although the correctional investigator is expected to maintain accounting control, he or she has no authority over the disposition of non-respendable revenues. As a result, non-respendable revenues are considered to be earned on behalf of the Government of Canada and are therefore presented as a reduction of the office's gross revenues.

4. Parliamentary authorities

The office is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to the office differs from financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles because authorities are based mainly on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current, or future years. Accordingly, the office has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities
(in dollars) Forecast results
2016-17
Planned results
2017-18
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers $5,223,002 $5,246,986
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:    
Decrease (increase) in employee future benefits
6,424 (3,212)
Services provided without charge by other government departments
(587,535) (591,960)
Decrease (increase) in vacation pay and compensatory leave
636 2,742
Refunds of previous years' expenditures
2,009 2,742
Adjustments to previous years’ payables at year end
20,000 7,802
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities
(558,466) (582,450)
Adjustment for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:    
Total items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities
- -
Requested authorities $4,664,536 $4,664,536

 

b) Authorities requested
(in dollars) Forecast results
2016-17
Planned results
2017-18
Authorities requested:    
Vote 1 – operating expenditures
$4,102,301 $4,102,301
Statutory amounts
562,235 562,235
Total authorities requested $4,664,536 $4,664,536

État financier prospectif de 2017-2018

Énoncé de la responsabilité de la direction (non vérifié)
pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars

La direction du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel est responsable de l’intégrité et les conventions sur lesquels cet état financier prospectif a été préparé. Cet état financier prospectif est fondé sur les meilleurs estimations disponibles au 16 décembre 2016 et conforment aux plans décrits au Plan ministériel.

Cet état financier prospectif a été préparé conformément aux politiques du Conseil du trésor et son Guide sur la préparation des états financiers prospectifs.

Cet état financier prospectif n'a pas fait l'objet de vérification.

Ivan Zinger J.D., Ph.D
Enquêteur Correctionnel
Ottawa, Canada

Manuel Marques
Premier dirigeant des finances
Ottawa, Canada

État des résultats prospectifs
Pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars (non-vérifié)
(en dollars)
Résultats projetés
2016-2017
Résultats prévus
2017-2018
Charges
Ombudsman pour les délinquants
4 114 167 $ 4 133 059 $
Services internes
1 108 835 1 113 927
Total des charges 5 223 002 $ 5 246 986 $
Revenus
Recettes diverses
33 35
Recettes gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement
(33) (35)
Total des revenus 0,00 $ 0,00 $
 
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 5 223 002 $ 5 246 986 $

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers.

Notes à l’état des résultats prospectif (non auditées)
pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars

1. Méthodologie et hypothèses importantes

L’état des résultats prospectif a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans ministériels qui sont décrits dans le plan ministériel.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats projetés de l’exercice 2016-2017 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 16 décembre 2016 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l’exercice. Des prévisions ont été réalisées pour les résultats prévus de l’exercice 2017-2018.

Les principales hypothèses qui sous-tendent les prévisions sont les suivantes :

  • Les activités du Bureau resteront, pour l’essentiel, les mêmes que celles de l’exercice précédent;
  • Les charges et les revenus, y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes au gouvernement, sont fondés sur l’expérience acquise. L’évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre.

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 16 décembre 2016.

2. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l'exercice 2016-2017 et pour 2017-2018, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de différer des prévisions financières présentées, et l’écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation du présent état des résultats prospectif, le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l’égard d’événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Elles sont fondées sur l’expérience acquise et d’autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances, et sont évaluées de façon continue.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l’état des résultats prospectif et l’état des résultats historique incluent :

  • le moment et le montant des acquisitions et des aliénations de biens immobiliers, d’installations de production et d’équipements qui peuvent influer sur les gains ou pertes et les charges d’amortissement;
  • la mise en œuvre de nouvelles conventions collectives;
  • les modifications supplémentaires au budget de fonctionnement en raison de nouvelles initiatives ou de rajustements techniques mis en œuvre plus tard au cours de l’exercice.

Une fois que le plan ministériel sera présenté, le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel ne fera pas de mise à jour des prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le rapport ministériel sur les résultats.

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L’état des résultats prospectif a été préparé conformément aux conventions comptables du gouvernement du Canada en vigueur pour l’exercice 2016-2017, et s’appuie sur les normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l’utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence importante par rapport aux normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

a) Charges

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice.

Les charges de fonctionnement du Bureau sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les locaux, les cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires, les services juridiques et les indemnités d’accident au travail, qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de cessation d’emploi sont accumulées et comptabilisées au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d’emploi.

Les charges incluent également des provisions qui tiennent compte de changements dans la valeur d’actifs. Cela comprend des provisions pour créances douteuses sur les comptes débiteurs, des provisions pour évaluation de prêts, de placements et d’avances, ainsi que la désuétude des stocks ou les passifs, dont les passifs éventuels et les passifs environnementaux, dans la mesure où l’événement futur est susceptible de se produire et où une estimation raisonnable peut être établie.

Les charges incluent également l’amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, lesquelles sont capitalisées à leur coût d’acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l’amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l’actif.

b) Revenus

Les revenus provenant de droits réglementaires sont constatés dans les comptes en fonction des services fournis au cours de l’exercice.

Les autres revenus sont comptabilisés dans l’exercice pendant lequel les opérations ou les événements qui ont généré les revenus surviennent.

Les revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés ne peuvent servir à acquitter les passifs du Bureau. Bien que l’on s’attende à ce que l’Enquêteur correctionnel maintienne le contrôle comptable, il n’a pas l’autorité pour disposer des revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés. Par conséquent, les revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés sont considérés comme étant gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada et sont présentés en réduction du montant brut des revenus de l’entité.

4. Autorisations parlementaires

Le Bureau est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires. La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties au Bureau ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont principalement fondées sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l’état des résultats prospectif d’un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires approuvées au cours de l’exercice précédent, de l’exercice en cours ou d’exercices futurs. Par conséquent, le coût de fonctionnement net du Bureau pour l’exercice diffère suivant qu’il est calculé selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants  :

a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées
(en dollars) Résultats projetés
2016-2017
Résultats prévus
2017-2018
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 5 223 002 $ 5 246 986 $
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations :    
Diminution (augmentation) des avantages sociaux futurs
6 424 (3 212)
Services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères gouvernementaux
(587 535) (591 960)
Diminution (augmentation) des indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires
636 2 742
Remboursement de charges des exercices antérieurs
2 009 2 178
Ajustements aux créditeurs à la fin de l’année des exercices antérieurs
20 000 7 802
Total des postes qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations
(564 222) (582 450)
Rajustement pour les postes qui n’ont pas d’incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations :    
Total des postes qui n’ont pas d’incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations
- -
Autorisations demandées 4 664 536 $ 4 664 536 $
b) Autorisations demandées
(en dollars) Résultats projetés
2016-2017
Résultats prévus
2017-2018
Autorisations demandées :    
Crédit 1 – Dépenses de fonctionnement
4 102 301 $ 4 102 301 $
Montant des postes législatifs
562 235 562 235
Autorisations demandées totales 4 664 536 $ 4 664 536 $