2012-13 Future-oriented Financial Statement

Statement of Management Responsibility (unaudited)

Senior Management of the Office of the Correctional Investigator is responsible for this future-oriented financial statement, including responsibility for the appropriateness of the assumptions on which these statements are prepared. These statements are based on the best information available and assumptions adopted as at January 31, 2012 and reflect the plans described in the Report on Plans and Priorities.

This future-oriented financial statement has been prepared in accordance with the Treasury Board’s accounting policies and its Guide on the preparation of general purpose future-oriented financial statements.

This future-oriented financial statement has not been audited.

Howard Sapers
Correctional Investigator
Ottawa, Canada

Manuel Marques
Chief Financial Officer
Ottawa, Canada

Future-oriented Statement of Financial Position (unaudited)
As at March 31, 2013
(in dollars)
2012 2013
Assets
Financial Assets
Due from Consolidated Revenue Fund $109,000 $90,250
Accounts receivable and advances (Note 4) 15,300 13,300
Total financial assets 124,300 103,550
Non-financial assets
Tangible capital assets 0 0
Total Assets 124,300 103,550
 
Liabilities and Equity of Canada
Liabilities
Accounts payable and accrued liabilities (Note 5) $109,000 $90,250
Vacation pay and compensatory leave 141,705 139,116
Employee future benefits (Note 6) 579,482 619,482
Total Liabilities $830,187 $848,848
Equity of Canada (705,887) (745,299)
Total Liabilities and Equity of Canada $124,300 $103,550

Future-oriented Statement of Operations (unaudited)
For the Year Ended March 31, 2013
(in dollars)
2012 2013
Expenses
Ombudsman to federal offenders $4,294,966 $4,585,306
Internal services 738,114 791,267
Total Expenses 5,033,080 5,376,574
Revenues
Ombudsman to federal offenders 50 100
Internal services 0 0
Total revenues 50 100
 
Net Cost of Operations $5,033,030 $5,376,474

Future-oriented Statement of Equity (unaudited)
For the Year Ended March 31, 2013
(in dollars)
2012 2013
Equity of Canada, beginning of year $(647,899) $(705,887)
Net cost of operations (5,033,030) (5,376,474)
Net cash provided by Government 4,523,383 4,879,505
Change in due from the Consolidated Revenue Fund 25,659 (18,750)
Services provided without charge by other government departments (Note 7) 453,000 476,308
Equity of Canada, end of year (705,887) (745,299)

Future-oriented Statement of Cash Flow (unaudited)
For the Year Ended March 31, 2013
(in dollars)
2012 2013
Operating activities
Net Cost of Operations $5,033,030 $5,376,474
 
Non-cash items:
Services provided without charge by other government departments (Note 7) (453,000) (476,308)
Amortization of tangible capital assets 0 0
 
Variations in Statement of Financial Position:
(Decrease) increase in accounts receivable and advances (2,169) (2,000)
(Increase) decrease in accounts payables and accrued liabilities (25,659) 18,750
Decrease (increase) in vacation leave and compensatory leave 1,181 2,589
(Increase) decrease in employee future benefits (Note 6) (30,000) (40,000)
Cash used by operating activities 4,523,383 4,879,505
 
Net cash provided by Government of Canada 4,523,383 4,879,505

Segmented information (note 8)
The accompaning notes form an intergral part of this financial statement.

 

1. Authority and purpose

The Office of the Correctional Investigator was established in 1973 pursuant to Part II of the Inquiries Act. With the proclamation in November 1992 of Part III of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, this is now the enabling legislation. The mandate of the Correctional Investigator, as defined by this legislation, is to function as an Ombudsman to federal offenders. The Correctional Investigator is independent of the Correctional Service of Canada and may initiate an investigation on receipt of a complaint by or on behalf of an offender, at the request of the Minister or on his own initiative. The Correctional Investigator is required by legislation to report annually through the Minister of Public Safety to both Houses of Parliament.

In addition, Section 19 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act requires that the Correctional Service of Canada “where an inmate dies or suffers serious bodily injury” conduct an investigation and provide a copy of the report to the Correctional Investigator.

Internal Services supports the delivery of the Office’s Ombudsman role to offenders as well as its corporate obligations to the Central Agencies of Government.

2. Significant assumptions

The Future-oriented Financial Statement has been prepared on the basis of the government priorities and the plans of the organization as described in the Report on Plans and Priorities. The Future-oriented Statement of Operations is prepared based on the Program Alignment Architecture Structure approved by TBS.

The main assumptions are as follows:

  1. The organization’s activities will remain substantially the same as in the previous year.
  2. Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.
  3. Allowances for uncollectibility are based on the likely outcome of actual situations.
  4. Estimated year end information for 2011-12 is used as the opening position for the 2012-13 forecasts.

These assumptions are adopted as at January 31, 2012.

3. Variations and changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to accurately forecast final results for the remainder of 2011-12 and for 2012-13, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this Future-oriented Financial Statement, the Office has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and jugements may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and judgement are continually evaluated and are based on historical experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the Future-oriented Financial Statement and historical Financial Statement include:

  1. The timing and amounts of acquisition and disposals of equipment may affect gains/losses and amortization expense.
  2. Further changes to the operating budget through additional new initiatives or technical adjustments later in the year.

Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, the Office will not be updating the forecasts for any changes to appropriations or forecast financial information made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

4. Summary of accounting policies

The Future-oriented Financial Statement has been prepared in accordance with the Treasury Board accounting policies stated below and its Guide on the preparation of general purpose Future-oriented Financial Statements, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian generally accepted accounting principles.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

(a) Parliamentary appropriations: The Office is financed by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary appropriations. The cash accounting basis is used to recognize transactions affecting parliamentary appropriations. The Future-oriented Financial Statement is based on accrual accounting. Consequently, items presented in the Future-oriented Financial Statement is not necessarily the same as the one provided through appropriations from Parliament. Note 5 provides a reconciliation between the bases of reporting.

(b) Net Cash provided by Government: The Office operates within the Consolidated Revenue Fund (CRF), which is administred by the Receiver General of Canada. All cash received by the Office is deposited to the CRF and all cash disbursements made by the Office are paid from the CRF. The net cash provided by Government is the difference between all cash receipts and all cash disbursements including transactions between organizations of the Government.

(c) Amount due from/to CRF
Amounts due from/to the CRF are the result of timing differences at year-end between when a transaction affects authorities and when it is processed through the CRF. Amounts due from the CRF represent the net amount of cash that the Office is entitled to draw from the CRF without further appropriations to discharge its liabilities.

(d) Revenues
Revenues from regulatory fees are recognized in the acocunts based on the services provided in the year.
Funds received from external parties for specified purposes are recorded upon receipt as deferred revenue. These revenues are recognized in the period in which the related expenses are incurred.

Funds that have been received are recorded as deferred reveunue, provided the organization has an obligation to other parties for the provision of goods, services or the use of assets in the future. Other revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event that gave rise to the revenue takes place.

(e) Expenses
Expenses are recorded on the accrual basis:

  • Vacation pay and compensatory leave are accrued as the benefits are earned by employees under their respective terms of employment.
  • Services provided without charge by other government departments for accommodation and the employer contributions to the health and dental insurance plans are recorded as operating expenses at their estimated cost.

(f) Employee future benefits

  • Pension benefits: Eligible employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, a multi-employer pension plan administered by the Government of Canada. The Office’s contributions to the Plan are charged to expenses in the year incurred and represent the Office’s total obligation to the Plan. Current legislation does not require the Office to make contributions for any actuarial deficiencies of the Plan.
  • Severance benefits: Employees are entitled to severance benefits under conditions of employment. These benefits are accrued as employees render the services necessary to earn them. The obligation relating to the benefits earned by employees is calculated using information derived from the results of the actuarially determined liability for employee severance benefits for the Government as a whole.

5. Parliamentary appropriations

The Office receives most of its funding through annual Parliamentary authorities. Items recognized in the Statement of Operations and the Statement of Financial Position in one year may be funded through Parliamentary appropriations in prior, current or future years. Accordingly, the Office has different net results of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

(a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities:
(in dollars) 2012 2013
Net cost of operations $5,033,030 $5,376,474
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Add (Less)
   
Services provided without charge by other government departments (Note 7) (453,000) (476,308)
Refund of prior year expenditures 2,130 2,130
Adjustments of accounts payable at year end 13,500 13,600
Increase (Decrease) in Employee severance benefits (30,000) 40,000
Increase (Decrease) in vacation pay and compensatory leave 1,181 (2,588)
Revenue not available for spending 50 100
Amortization of tangible capital assets 0 (5,000)
  (466,138) (428,066)
Forecast authorities used $4,566,892 $4,948,408
(b) Authorities requested
(in dollars) 2012 2013
Program expenditures - Vote 40 $4,014,465 $4,307,353
Contributions to employee benefits plan 577,427 641,055
Forecast of authorities available $4,591,892 $4,948,408

Forecast authorities requested for the year ending March 31, 2013 are the planned spending amounts presented in the 2012-13 Report on Plans and Priorities. Estimated authorities requested for the year ending March 31, 2012 include amounts presented in the 2011-12 Main Estimates and supplementary Estimates (A) and (B), planned for presentation in Supplementary Estimates (C) and estimates of amounts to be allocated at year-end from Treasury Board central votes.

6. Employee benefits

(a) Pension benefits
The Office’s employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, which is sponsored and administered by the Government of Canada. Pension benefits accrue up to a maximum period of 35 years at a rate of 2 percent per year of pensionable service, times the average of the best five consecutive years of earnings. The benefits are integrated with Canada/Québec Pension Plans benefits and they are indexed to inflation.

Both the employees and the Office contribute to the cost of the Plan. The expense amounts for both 2011-12 and 2012-13 is estimated at $300,000 each year, represents approximately 1.9 times the contributions by employees.

The Office’s responsibility with regard to the Plan is limited to its contributions. Actuarial surpluses or deficiencies are recognized in the financial statements of the Government of Canada, as the Plan’s sponsor.

(b) Severance benefits
The Office provides severance benefits to its employees based on eligibility, years of service and final salary. These severance benefits are not pre-funded. Benefits will be paid from future authorities. Information about the severance benefits, measured as at March 31, is as follows:

(in dollars) 2012 2013
Accrued benefit obligation, beginning of year $549,482 $579,482
Expense or adjustment for the year 100,000 75,000
Benefits paid during the year (70,000) (35,000)
Accrued benefit obligation, end of year $579,482 619,482

 

7. Related party transactions

The Office is related as a result of common ownership to all Government of Canada departments, agencies, and Crown corporations. The Office enters into transactions with these entities in the normal course of business and on normal trade terms. Also, during the year, the Office receives common services which are obtained without charge from Government departments as disclosed below:

(a) Common services provided without charge by government departments
During the year, the Office is forecasted to receive services without charge from departments for accommodation, the employer’s contribution to the health and dental insurance plans and workers’ compensation coverage. These services provided without charge have been recorded in the Office’s future-oriented statement of operations as follows:

(in dollars) 2012 2013
Accommodation $256,000 $260,000
Employer contributions to the health and dental insurance plans 197,000 216,308
  $453,000 $476,308

The Government has centralized some of its administrative activities for efficiency and cost-effectiveness purposes and economic delivery of programs to the public. As a result, the Government uses central agencies and common services organizations so that one department performs services for all other departments and agencies without charge. The costs of these services, such as payroll and cheque issuance services provided by Public Works and Government Services Canada and audit services provided by the Office of the Auditor General are not included in the Office’s future-oriented statement of operations.

b) Other transactions with related parties
(in dollars) 2012 2013
Expenses - Other Government departments and agencies $388,071 $476,308

8. Segmented Information

Presentation by segment is based on the organization’s Program Alignment Architecture. The presentation by segment is based on the same accounting policies as described in the Summary of significant accounting policies in note 2. The following table presents the expenses incurred and revenue generated for the main program activities, by major object of expenses and by major type of revenues. The anticipated segment results for the period are as follows:

(in dollars) 2012 2013
Expenses Total Ombudsman for
federal
offenders
Internal Services Total
Salaries and employee benefits 3,973,320 3,711,224 632,190 4,343,414
Professional and special services 386,656 316,022 53,508 369,530
Accommodation 281,817 238,253 46,421 284,673
Travel and relocation 234,951 192,030 32,514 224,544
Equipment 39,930 32,635 5,526 38,161
Utilities, material and supplies 24,932 20,378 3,450 23,828
Communication 38,110 31,148 5,274 36,422
Equipment rentals 3,242 2,650 449 3,098
Information 33,837 27,655 4,683 32,338
Amortization 0 0 5,000 5,000
Repairs 16,286 13,311 2,254 15,565
Total Expenses 5,033,080 4,585,306 791,267 5,376,574
Revenues
Other revenues 50 100 0 100
Net Cost of Operations
Net Cost of Operations $5,033,030 $4,585,206 $791,267 $5,376,474

État financier prospectif de 2012-2013 (non vérifié)

Énoncé de la responsabilité de la direction (non vérifié)

La direction du Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel est responsable de l’intégrité et les conventions sur lesquels cet état financier prospectif a été préparé. Cet état financier prospectif est fondé sur les meilleures estimations et information disponible au 31 janvier 2012 et conforment aux plans décrits au Rapport sur les plans et priorités.

Cet état financier prospectif a été préparé conformément aux politiques du Conseil du trésor et son Guide sur la préparation des états financiers prospectifs.

Cet état financier prospectif n’a pas fait l’objet de vérification.

Howard Sapers
Enquêteur correctionnel
Ottawa, Canada

Manuel Marques
Dirigeant principal des finances
Ottawa, Canada

 

État de la situation financière prospectif (non vérifié)
Pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2013
(en dollars)
2012 2013
Actifs
Actifs financiers
Montant à recevoir du Trésor 109 000 $ 90 250 $
Débiteurs et avances (Note 4) 15 300 13 300
Total des actifs financiers 124 300 103 550
Actifs non-financiers
Immobilisations corporelles 0 0
Total des actifs 124 300 103 550
 
Passifs et Avoir du Canada
Passifs
Créditeurs et charges à payer (Note 5) 109 000 $ 90 250 $
Indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires 141 705 139 116
Prestations de départ des employés (Note 6) 579 482 619 482
Total des passifs 830 187 $ 848 848 $
Avoir du Canada (705 887) (745 299)
Total des passifs et de l’avoir du Canada 124 300 $ 103 550 $

État des résultats prospectif (non verifié)
Pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2013
(en dollars)
2012 2013
Charges
Ombudsman pour les délinquants 4 294 966 $ 4 585 306 $
Services internes 738 114 791 267
Total des charges 5 033 080 5 376 574
Revenus
Ombudsman pour les délinquants 50 100
Services internes 0 0
Total des revenues 50 100
 
Cout net des activités poursuivies 5 033 030 $ 5 376 474 $

État de l’avoir du Canada prospectif (non vérifié)
Pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2013
(en dollars)
2012 2013
Avoir du Canada, au début de l’exercice (647 899) $ (705 887) $
Coût de fonctionnement net (5 033 030) (5 376 474)
Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernment 4 523 383 4 879 505
Variation des montants à recevoir du Trésor 25 659 (18 750)
Services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères (Note 7) 453 000 476 308
Avoir du Canada, à la fin de l’exercice (705 887) (745 299)

État des flux de trésorerie prospectif (non vérifié)
Pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2013
(en dollars)
2012 2013
Activités de fonctionnement
Coût de fonctionnement net 5 033 030 $ 5 376 474 $
 
Éléments n’affectant pas l’encaisse :
Services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères (Note 7) (453 000) (476 308)
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles 0 0
 
Variations de l’état de la situation financière :
(Dimunition) augmentation des débiteurs et avances (2 169) (2 000)
Augmentation (diminution) du passif (25 659) 18 750
(Diminution) augmentation des vacances et des congés compensatoires 1 181 2 589
(Diminution) augmentation des indemnités de départ (Note 6) (30 000) (40 000)
Encaisse utilisée par les activités de fonctionnement 4 523 383 4 879 505

L’information sectorielle (Note 8)
Les notes font partie intégrante de cet état financier.

 

1. Mandat et objectifs

Le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel a été établi en 1973 en vertu de la Partie II de la Loi sur les enquêtes. Cette base légale a été modifiée en novembre 1992 avec la promulgation de la Partie III de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition. Le mandat de l’Enquêteur correctionnel, tel que défini par cette Loi, est d’agir en tant qu’Ombudsman pour les délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale. Le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel est indépendant du Service correctionnel du Canada et peut ouvrir une enquête par suite d’une plainte émanant d’un délinquant ou présentée en son nom, que ce soit à la demande du Ministre ou de sa propre initiative. L’Enquêteur correctionnel est tenu en vertu de la loi de présenter un rapport annuel aux deux chambres du Parlement par l’entremise du ministre de la Sécurité publique.

De plus, l’article 19 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition exige que le Service correctionnel du Canada fasse enquête en cas de décès ou de blessure grave d’un délinquant et qu’il remette une copie de son rapport à l’Enquêteur correctionnel.

Les services internes appuient le rôle d’Ombudsman du Bureau aux délinquants, ainsi que ses obligations corporatives vis à vis les agences centrales du Government.

2. Hypothèses importantes

L’État financier prospectif est fondé sur les priorités du gouvernement et les plans de l’organisation décrits au Rapport sur les plans et priorités. L’État financier prospectif à été préparé conformément à l’architecture d’alignement des programmes de l’organisation approuvé par le Secrétariat du Conseil du trésor.

Les principales hypothèses utilisées sont :

  1. Les activités du Bureau restent, pour l’essentiel, pareilles à celles de l’an dernier.
  2. Les charges et les revenus, y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes au gouvernement, sont basés sur l’expérience acquise. L’évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre.
  3. Les provisions pour irrécouvrabilité sont estimés à la lumière de l’expérience acquise.
  4. L’information estimative de fin d’exercice pour 2011-12 représente la situation financière d’ouverture pour établir les prévisions de 2012-13.

Ces éstimations sont adoptés le 31 janvier 2012

3.Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir avec exactitude les résultats définitifs pour la fin de l’exercice 2011-12 et pour 2012-13, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et cet écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation de cet état financier prospectif, le Bureau a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l’égard d’événements futurs. Ces estimations et jugements pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Les estimations et les jugements sont évalués de façon continue et sont fondés sur l’expérience acquise et d’autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l’état financier prospectif et l’État financier historique sont notamment :

  1. Le moment et le montant des acquisitions et des aliénations d’immobilisations peuvent influer sur les gains/pertes et les charges d’amortissement.
  2. Des modifications supplémentaires au budget de fonctionnement, grâce à de nouvelles initiatives ou ajustements techniques mis en oeuvre plus tard au courant de l’exercice.

Une fois que le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités est présenté, le Bureau ne mettra pas à jour les prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux crédits ou aux prévisions financières dans les budgets supplémentaires. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

4. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L’État financier prospectif a été préparé conformément au Guide sur la préparation des États financiers prospectifs du Conseil du trésor et a ses conventions comptables énoncé ci-après, lesquelles s’appuient sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l’utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donne lieu à aucun écart important par rapport aux principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

(a) Crédits parlementaires – Le Bureau est financé par le Gouvernement du Canada au moyen de crédits parlementaires. Les opérations touchant les crédits parlementaires sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de la comptabilité de caisse. Alors que l’État financier prospectif est établi selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Par conséquent, les postes consignés dans l’État financier prospectif ne sont pas nécessairement les mêmes que ceux correspondant aux crédits parlementaires. La note 5 présente un rapprochement entre les deux méthodes de comptabilisation.

(b) Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement – Le Bureau fonctionne au moyen du Trésor, qui est administré par le Receveur général du Canada. La totalité de l’encaisse reçue par le Bureau est déposée au Trésor et tous les décaissements faits par le Bureau sont prélevés sur le Trésor. L’encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement est la différence entre toutes les rentrées de fonds et toutes les sorties de fonds, y compris les opérations entre les organisations au sein du gouvernement fédéral.

(c) Le montant due ou à recevoir du Trésor
Ce poste découle d’un écart temporaire à la fin de l’exercice entre le moment où une opération affecte les autorisations de l’organisation et le moment où elle est traitée par le Trésor. Le montant à recevoir du Trésor représente le montant net de l’encaisse que le Bureau est autorisé à prélever à même le Trésor sans crédit supplémentaire pour s’acquitter de ses passifs.

(d) Revenues
Les revenus provenant de droits réglementaires sont constatés dans les comptes en fonction des services fournis au cours de l’exercice.

Les fonds reçus de tiers de l’extérieur à des fins précises sont comptabilisés à leur réception à titre de revenus reportés. Ils sont constatés dans l’exercice au cours duquel les charges connexes sont engagés.

Les fonds qui ont été reçus sont comptabilisés comme revenus reportés dans la mesure où le Bureau a une obligation envers d’autres parties de fournir des biens, des services ou des actifs qui seront utilisés à une date future.

Les autres revenus sont comptabilisés dans l’exercice où les opérations ou les faits sous-jascents surviennent.

(e) Charges
Les charges sont constatées selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice:

Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d’emploi.

Les services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères pour les locaux, les cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif.

(f) Avantages sociaux futurs

Prestations de retraite : Les employés admissibles participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, un régime multiemployeurs administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les cotisations du Bureau au régime sont passées en charges dans l’exercice au cours duquel elles sont engagées et elles représentent l’obligation totale de l’organisation découlant du régime. En vertu des dispositions législatives en vigueur, le Bureau n’est pas tenu de verser des cotisations au titre de l’insuffisance actuarielle du régime.

Indemnités de départ : Les employés ont droit aux indemnités de départ prévues dans leurs conditions d’emploi. Le coût de ces indemnités s’accumule à mesure que les employés rendent les services y donnant droit. Le coût des avantages sociaux gagnés par les employés est calculé à l’aide de l’information tirée des résultats du passif déterminé sur une base actuarielle au titre des prestations de départ pour l’ensemble du gouvernement.

5.Crédits parlementaires

Le Bureau reçoit la plus grande partie de son financement sous forme de crédits parlementaires annuels. Les éléments comptabilisés dans l’État des résultats d’un exercice peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires qui ont été autorisés dans un exercice précédent, pendant l’exercice en cours ou qui le seront dans un exercice futur. En conséquence, les résultats de fonctionnement nets du Bureau diffèrent selon qu’ils sont présentés selon le financement octroyé par le gouvernement ou selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

(a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées :
(en dollars) 2012 2013
Coût de fonctionnement net 5 033 030 $ 5 376 474 $
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais n’ayant pas d’incidence sur les autorisations:
Ajouter (déduire):
Services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères (Note 7) (453 000) (476 308)
Recouvrement de charges d’exercices antérieurs 2 130 2 130
Rajustements de créditeurs à la fin de l’exercice 13 500 13 600
Augmentation des indemnités de départ des employés (30 000) (40 000)
Augmentation des indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires 1 181 (2 588)
Revenus non disponibles pour dépenser 50 100
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles 0 (5 000)
  (466 138) (428 066)
 
Autorisations disponibles prévues 4 566 892 $ 4 948 408 $
(b) Autorisations demandées
(en dollars) 2012 2013
Dépenses de fonctionnement - Crédit 40 4 014 465 $ 4 307 353 $
Contributions au régime d’avantages des employés 577 427 641 055
Autorisations disponibles prévues 4 591 892 $ 4 948 408 $

Les autorisations demandées estimatives pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013 comprennent les montants présentés au Rapport sur les plans et priorités de 2012-2013. Les autorisations estimées demandées pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 comprennent les montants présentés dans le Budget des dépenses et les Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses (A) et (B) de 2011-2012, et ceux qui doivent être présentés dans le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (C) et les montants estimatifs, à la fin de l’exercice, des affectations des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor.

6. Avantages sociaux

(a) Prestations de retraite
Les employés du Bureau participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, qui est parrainé et administré par le Gouvernement du Canada. Les prestations de retraite s’accumulent sur une période maximale de 35 ans au taux de 2 % par année de services validables multiplié par la moyenne des gains des cinq meilleures années consécutives. Les prestations sont intégrées aux prestations du Régime de pensions du Canada et du Régime de rentes du Québec et sont indexées à l’inflation.

La responsabilité du Bureau relative au régime de retraite se limite aux cotisations versées. Les excédents ou les déficits actuariels sont constatés dans les états financiers du Gouvernement du Canada, en sa qualité de répondant du régime.

(b) Indemnités de départ :
Le Bureau verse des indemnités de départ aux employés en fonction basé sur l’admissibilité, des années de service et du salaire final. Ces indemnités ne sont pas capitalisées d’avance. Les prestations seront prélevées sur les crédits futurs. Voici des informations sur les indemnités de départ estimatives en date du 31 mars:

(en dollars) 2012 2013
Obligation accumulé au titre des indemnités au début de l’exercice 549 482 $ 579 482 $
Charge ou ajustement pour l’exercice 100 000 75 000
Indemnités versées pendant l’exercice (70 000) (35 000)
Obligation au titre des prestations constituées, fin de l’exercice 579 482 $ 619 482 $

7. Opérations entre apparentés

En vertu du principe de propriété commune, le Bureau est apparenté à tous les ministères, organismes et sociétés d’État du Gouvernement du Canada. Le Bureau conclut des opérations avec ces entités dans le cours normal de ses activités et selon des modalités commerciales normales. Aussi, au cours de l’exercice, le Bureau a reçu des services courants gratuitement de ministères qui sont décrits ci-dessous:

(a) Services courants fournis gratuitement par des ministères
Au cours de l’exercice, le Bureau prévoit recevoir gratuitement de ministères des services de locaux et des cotisations de l’employeur au régime de soins de santé et au régime dentaire et les indemnités pour accident de travail.Ces services gratuits ont été constatés comme suit dans l’état des résultats prospectif du Bureau.

(en dollars) 2012 2013
Locaux 256 000 $ 260 000 $
Cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires 197 000 216 308
  453 000 $ 476 308 $

Le gouvernement a centralisé certaines de ses activités administratives de manière à optimiser l’efficience et l’efficacité de sorte qu’un seul ministère mène certaines activités au nom de tous sans frais. Les coûts de ces services, qui comprennent les services de paye et d’émission des chèques offerts par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada et les services de vérification offerts par le Bureau du vérificateur général ne sont pas inclus à titre de charge dans l’État financier prospectif du Bureau.

(b) Autres opérations entre apparentés

(en dollars) 2012 2013
Charges - Autres ministères et organismes fédéraux 388 071 $ 476 308 $

8. Information sectorielle

La présentation de l’information sectorielle est fondée sur l’architecture d’alignement des programmes de l’organisation. La présentation par secteur est fondée sur les mêmes conventions comptables décrites à la Note 2. Le tableau qui suit présente les charges engagées et les revenues générées par les principales activités de programme, par principale articles de dépenses et types de revenues. Voici les résultats anticipés de chaque segment pour la période:

  2012 2013
Dépenses Total Ombudsman
pour les
délinquants
Services internes Total
Salaires et avantages sociaux 3 973 320 $ 3 711 224 $ 632 190 $ 4 343 414 $
Services professionnels et spéciaux 386 656 316 022 53 508 369 530
Installations 281 817 238 253 46 421 284 674
Déplacements et réinstallation 234 951 192 030 32 514 224 544
Équipement 39 930 32 635 5 526 38 161
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 24 932 20 378 8 450 28 828
Communication 38 110 31 148 5 274 36 422
Location d’équipement 3 242 2 650 449 3 099
Information 33 837 27 655 4 683 32 338
Réparations 16 286 13 311 2 254 15 565
Total dépenses 5 033 080 4 585 306 791 267 5 376 574
 
Revenues 50 100   100
 
Coût de fonctionnement net 5 033 030 $ 4 585 206 $ 791 267 $ 5 376 474 $