2010-11 Future-oriented Financial Statement (unaudited)

Statement of Management Responsibility

Senior Management of the Office of the Correctional Investigator (OCI) is responsible for the appropriateness of the assumptions on which this future-oriented financial statement is prepared. This future-oriented financial statement is based on the best information available and assumptions adopted as at January 31, 2011 and reflects the plans described in the Report on Plans and Priorities.

This future-oriented financial statement has been prepared in accordance with the Treasury Board’s accounting policies and its Guide on the preparation of general purpose future-oriented financial statements.

This future-oriented financial statement has not been audited.

Howard Sapers
Correctional Investigator
Ottawa, Canada

Manuel Marques
Chief Financial Officer
Ottawa, Canada

Future-oriented Statement of Operations (unaudited)
For the Year Ending March 31, 2012
(in dollars)
2011 2012
Expenses
Ombudsman to federal offenders $3,522,691 $3,634,100
Internal services 910,422 938,630
Total Expenses 4,433,113 4,572,730
Revenues
Ombudsman to federal offenders 15 15
Internal services 0 0
Total revenues 15 15
 
Net Cost of Operations $4,433,098 $4,572,715

Segmented information (note 8)
The accompaning notes form an intergral part of this financial statement.

 

1. Authority and purpose

The Office of the Correctional Investigator was established in 1973 pursuant to Part II of the Inquiries Act. With the proclamation in November 1992 of Part III of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, this is now the enabling legislation. The mandate of the Correctional Investigator, as defined by this legislation, is to function as an Ombudsman for federal offenders. The Correctional Investigator is independent of the Correctional Service of Canada and may initiate an investigation on receipt of a complaint by or on behalf of an offender, at the request of the Minister or on his own initiative. The Correctional Investigator is required by legislation to report annually through the Minister of Public Safety to both Houses of Parliament.

In addition, Section 19 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act requires that the Correctional Service of Canada “where an inmate dies or suffers serious bodily injury” conduct an investigation and provide a copy of the report to the Correctional Investigator.

Internal Services supports the delivery of the Office’s Ombudsman role to offenders as well as its corporate obligations to the Central Agencies of Government.

2. Significant assumptions

The Future-oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared on the basis of the government priorities and the plans of the organization as described in the Report on Plans and Priorities. The Future-oriented Statement of Operations is prepared based on the Program Activity Architecture Structure approved by TBS.

The main assumptions are as follows:

  1. The organization’s activities will remain substantially the same as in the previous year.
  2. Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.
  3. Allowances for uncollectibility are based on the likely outcome of actual situation.
  4. Estimated year end information for 2010-11 is used as the opening position for the 2011-12 forecasts.

These assumptions are adopted as at January 31, 2011.

3. Variations and changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to accurately forecast final results for the remainder of 2010-11 and for 2011-12, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this Future-oriented Statement of Operations, the Office has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and jugements may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and judgement are continually evaluated and are based on historical experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the Future-oriented Statement of Operations and historical Statements of Operations include:

  1. The timing and amounts of acquisition and disposals of equipment may affect gains/losses and amortization expense.
  2. Further changes to the operating budget through additional new initiatives or technical adjustments later in the year.

Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, the Office will not be updating the forecasts for any changes to appropriations or forecast financial information made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

4. Summary of accounting policies

The Future-oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared in accordance with the Treasury Board accounting policies stated below and its Guide on the preparation of general purpose Future-oriented Financial Statements, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian generally accepted accounting principles.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

(a) Parliamentary appropriations: The Office is financed by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary appropriations. The cash accounting basis is used to recognize transactions affecting parliamentary appropriations. The Future-oriented Statement of Operations is based on accrual accounting. Consequently, items presented in the Future-oriented Statement of Operations is not necessarily the same as the one provided through appropriations from Parliament. Note 5 provides a reconciliation between the bases of reporting.

(b) Net Cash provided by Government: The Office operates within the Consolidated Revenue Fund (CRF), which is administred by the Receiver General of Canada. All cash received by the Office is deposited to the CRF and all cash disbursements made by the Office are paid from the CRF. The net cash provided by Government is the difference between all cash receipts and all cash disbursements including transactions between organizations of the Government.

(c) Amount due from/to CRF
Amounts due from/to the CRF are the result of timing differences at year-end between when a transaction affects authorities and when it is processed through the CRF. Amounts due from the CRF represent the net amount of cash that the Office is entitled to draw from the CRF without further appropriations to discharge its liabilities.

(d) Revenues
Revenues from regulatory fees are recognized in the acocunts based on the services provided in the year.
Funds received from external parties for specified purposes are recorded upon receipt as deferred revenue. These revenues are recognized in the period in which the related expenses are incurred.

Funds that have been received are recorded as deferred reveunue, provided the organization has an obligation to other parties for the provision of goods, services or the use of assets in the future.

Other revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event that gave rise to the revenue takes place.

(e) Expenses
Expenses are recorded on the accrual basis:

  • Vacation pay and compensatory leave are accrued as the benefits are earned by employees under their respective terms of employment.
  • Services provided without charge by other government departments for accommodation and the employer contributions to the health and dental insurance plans are recorded as operating expenses at their estimated cost.

(f) Employee future benefits

  • Pension benefits: Eligible employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, a multi-employer pension plan administered by the Government of Canada. The Office’s contributions to the Plan are charged to expenses in the year incurred and represent the Office’s total obligation to the Plan. Current legislation does not require the Office to make contributions for any actuarial deficiencies of the Plan.
  • Severance benefits: Employees are entitled to severance benefits under conditions of employment. These benefits are accrued as employees render the services necessary to earn them. The obligation relating to the benefits earned by employees is calculated using information derived from the results of the actuarially determined liability for employee severance benefits for the Government as a whole.

5. Parliamentary appropriations

The Office receives most of its funding through annual Parliamentary authorities. Items recognized in the Statement of Operations in one year may be funded through Parliamentary appropriations in prior, current or future years. Accordingly, the Office has different net results of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

(a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities:
(in dollars) Estimate
2011
Forecast
2012
Net cost of operations $4,433,097 $4,572,715
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting appropriations:
Add (Less)
   
Services provided without charge by other government departments (Note 7) (389,974) (389,974)
Refund of prior year expenditures 4,549 4,549
Adjustments of accounts payable at year end 8,997 8,997
Increase (Decrease) in Employee severance benefits (13,967) (13,967)
Increase (Decrease) in vacation pay and compensatory leave (11,706) (11,706)
Revenue not available for spending 15 15
Amortization of tangible capital assets 0 0
  (402,086) (402,086)
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting appropriations:
Add (Less)
   
Acquisition of tangible capital assets 0 30,000
Forecast authorities available $4,031,011 $4,200,629
(b) Authorities provided and used:
(in dollars) Estimate
2011
Forecast
2012
Program expenditures - Vote 45 $3,625,319 $3,750,451
Contributions to employee benefits plan 405,695 420,177
Forecast of authorities available $4,031,014 $4,200,628

Forecast authorities requested for the year ending March 31, 2012 are the planned spending amounts presented in the 2011-12 Report on Plans and Priorities. Estimated authorities requested for the year ending March 31, 2011 include amounts presented in the 2010-11 Main Estimates and supplementary Estimates (A) and (B), planned for presentation in Supplementary Estimates (C) and estimates of amounts to be allocated at year-end from Treasury Board central votes.

6. Employee benefits

(a) Pension benefits
The Office’s employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, which is sponsored and administered by the Government of Canada. Pension benefits accrue up to a maximum period of 35 years at a rate of 2 percent per year of pensionable service, times the average of the best five consecutive years of earnings. The benefits are integrated with Canada/Québec Pension Plans benefits and they are indexed to inflation.

The Office’s responsibility with regard to the Plan is limited to its contributions. Actuarial surpluses or deficiencies are recognized in the financial statements of the Government of Canada, as the Plan’s sponsor.

(b) Severance benefits
The Office provides severance benefits to its employees based on eligibility, years of service and final salary. These severance benefits are not pre-funded. Benefits will be paid from future authorities. Information about the severance benefits, measured as at March 31, is as follows:

(in dollars) Estimate
2011
Forecast
2012
Accrued benefit obligation, beginning of year $449,846 $463,813
Expense or adjustment for the year 120,000 135,000
Benefits paid during the year (106,033) (121,033)
Accrued benefit obligation, end of year $463,813 477,780

 

7. Related party transactions

The Office is related as a result of common ownership to all Government of Canada departments, agencies, and Crown corporations. The Office enters into transactions with these entities in the normal course of business and on normal trade terms. Also, during the year, the Office receives common services which are obtained without charge from Government departments as disclosed below:

(a) Common services provided without charge by government departments
During the year, the Office is forecasted to receive services without charge from departments for accommodation, the employer’s contribution to the health and dental insurance plans and workers’ compensation coverage. These services provided without charge have been recorded in the Office’s future-oriented statement of operations as follows:

(in dollars) Estimate
2011
Forecast
2012
Accommodation $235,322 $235,322
Employer contributions to the health and dental insurance plans 154,652 154,652
  $389,974 $389,974

The Government has centralized some of its administrative activities for efficiency and cost-effectiveness purposes and economic delivery of programs to the public. As a result, the Government uses central agencies and common services organizations so that one department performs services for all other departments and agencies without charge. The costs of these services, such as payroll and cheque issuance services provided by Public Works and Government Services Canada and audit services provided by the Office of the Auditor General are not included in the Office’s future-oriented statement of operations.

b) Other transactions with related parties
(in dollars) Estimate
2011
Forecast
2012
Expenses - Other Government departments and agencies $185,000 $185,000

8. Segmented Information

Presentation by segment is based on the organization’s program activity architecture. The presentation by segment is based on the same accounting policies as described in the Summary of significant accounting policies in note 2. The following table presents the expenses incurred and revenue generated for the main program activities, by major object of expenses and by major type of revenues. The anticipated segment results for the period are as follows:

(in dollars) 2011 2012
Expenses Total Ombudsman for
federal
offenders
Internal Services Total
Salaries and employee benefits 3,251,786 3,014,474 558,189 3,572,663
Professional and special services 505,924 191,410 222,982 414,392
Accommodation 260,965 216,027 38,781 254,808
Travel and relocation 256,724 193,331 2,028 195,358
Equipment 38,932 0 34,172 34,172
Utilities, material and supplies 38,500 0 33,794 33,794
Communication 36,142 1,727 29,728 31,456
Equipment rentals 26,495 16,040 4,728 20,768
Information 14,439 1,091 11,413 12,504
Amortization 0 0 0 0
Repairs 3,205 0 2,813 2,813
Total Expenses 4,433,112 3,634,100 938,630 4,572,730
Revenues
Other revenues 15 15 0 15
Net Cost of Operations
Net Cost of Operations $4,433,097 $3,634,085 $938,630 $4,572,715

État financier prospectif de 2010-2011 (non vérifié)

Énoncé de la responsabilité de la direction

La direction du Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel est responsable de l’intégrité et les conventions sur lesquels cet état financier prospectif a été préparé. Cet état financier prospectif est fondé sur les meilleures estimations et information disponible au 31 janvier 2011 et conforment aux plans décrits au Rapport sur les plans et priorités.

Cet état financier prospectif a été préparé conformément aux politiques du Conseil du trésor et son Guide sur la préparation des états financiers prospectifs.

Cet état financier prospectif n’a pas fait l’objet de vérification.

Howard Sapers
Enquêteur correctionnel
Ottawa, Canada

Manuel Marques
Dirigeant principal des finances
Ottawa, Canada

 

État des résultats prospectif (non vérifié)
Au 31 mars 2012
(en dollars)
2011 2012
Charges
Ombudsman pour les délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale 3 522 691 $ 3 634 100 $
Services internes 910 422 938 630
Total des charges 4 433 113 $ 4 572 730 $
Revenues
Ombudsman pour les délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale 15 15
Services internes 0 0
Total des revenues 15 15
 
Coût net des activités poursuivies 4 433 098 $ 4 572 715 $

L’information sectorielle (Note 8)
Les notes font partie intégrante de cet état financier.

 

1. Mandat et objectifs

Le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel a été établi en 1973 en vertu de la Partie II de la Loi sur les enquêtes. Cette base légale a été modifiée en novembre 1992 avec la promulgation de la Partie III de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition. Le mandat de l’Enquêteur correctionnel, tel que défini par cette Loi, est d’agir en tant qu’Ombudsman pour les délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale. Le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel est indépendant du Service correctionnel du Canada et peut ouvrir une enquête par suite d’une plainte émanant d’un délinquant ou présentée en son nom, que ce soit à la demande du Ministre ou de sa propre initiative. L’Enquêteur correctionnel est tenu en vertu de la loi de présenter un rapport annuel aux deux chambres du Parlement par l’entremise du ministre de la Sécurité publique.

De plus, l’article 19 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition exige que le Service correctionnel du Canada fasse enquête en cas de décès ou de blessure grave d’un délinquant et qu’il remette une copie de son rapport à l’Enquêteur correctionnel.

Les services internes appuient le rôle d’Ombudsman du Bureau aux délinquants, ainsi que ses obligations corporatives vis à vis les agences centrales du Government.

2. Hypothèses importantes

L’État des résutats prospectif est fondé sur les priorités du gouvernement et les plans de l’organisation décrits au Rapport sur les plans et priorités. L’État des résutats prospectif à été préparé conformément à l’architecture des activités de programme de l’organisation approuvé par le SCT.

Les principales hypothèses utilisées sont :

  1. Les activités du Bureau restent, pour l’essentiel, pareilles à celles de l’an dernier.
  2. Les charges et les revenus, y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes au gouvernement, sont basés sur l’expérience acquise. L’évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre.
  3. Les provisions pour irrécouvrabilité sont estimés à la lumière de l’expérience acquise.
  4. L’information estimative de fin d’exercice pour 2010-11 représente la situation financière d’ouverture pour établir les prévisions de 2011-12.

Ces éstimations sont adoptés le 31 janvier 2011

3.Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir avec exactitude les résultats définitifs pour la fin de l’exercice 2010-11 et pour 2011-12, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et cet écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation de cet état des résultats prospectif, le Bureau a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l’égard d’événements futurs. Ces estimations et jugements pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Les estimations et les jugements sont évalués de façon continue et sont fondés sur l’expérience acquise et d’autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l’État des résultats prospectif et l’État des résultats historique sont notamment :

  1. Le moment et le montant des acquisitions et des aliénations d’immobilisations peuvent influer sur les gains/pertes et les charges d’amortissement.
  2. Des modifications supplémentaires au budget de fonctionnement, grâce à de nouvelles initiatives ou ajustements techniques mis en oeuvre plus tard au courant de l’exercice.

Une fois que le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités est présenté, le Bureau ne mettra pas à jour les prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux crédits ou aux prévisions financières dans les budgets supplémentaires. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

4. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L’État des résultats prospectif a été préparé conformément au Guide sur la préparation des États financiers prospectifs du Conseil du trésor et a ses conventions comptables énoncé ci-après, lesquelles s’appuient sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l’utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donne lieu à aucun écart important par rapport aux principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

(a) Crédits parlementaires – Le Bureau est financé par le Gouvernement du Canada au moyen de crédits parlementaires. Les opérations touchant les crédits parlementaires sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de la comptabilité de caisse. Alors que l’État des résultats prospectif est établi selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Par conséquent, les postes consignés dans l’État des résultats prospectif ne sont pas nécessairement les mêmes que ceux correspondant aux crédits parlementaires. La note 5 présente un rapprochement entre les deux méthodes de comptabilisation.

(b) Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement – Le Bureau fonctionne au moyen du Trésor, qui est administré par le Receveur général du Canada. La totalité de l’encaisse reçue par le Bureau est déposée au Trésor et tous les décaissements faits par le Bureau sont prélevés sur le Trésor. L’encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement est la différence entre toutes les rentrées de fonds et toutes les sorties de fonds, y compris les opérations entre les organisations au sein du gouvernement fédéral.

(c) Le montant due ou à recevoir du Trésor
Ce poste découle d’un écart temporaire à la fin de l’exercice entre le moment où une opération affecte les autorisations de l’organisation et le moment où elle est traitée par le Trésor. Le montant à recevoir du Trésor représente le montant net de l’encaisse que le Bureau est autorisé à prélever à même le Trésor sans crédit supplémentaire pour s’acquitter de ses passifs.

(d) Revenues
Les revenus provenant de droits réglementaires sont constatés dans les comptes en fonction des services fournis au cours de l’exercice.

Les fonds reçus de tiers de l’extérieur à des fins précises sont comptabilisés à leur réception à titre de revenus reportés. Ils sont constatés dans l’exercice au cours duquel les charges connexes sont engagés.

Les fonds qui ont été reçus sont comptabilisés comme revenus reportés dans la mesure où le Bureau a une obligation envers d’autres parties de fournir des biens, des services ou des actifs qui seront utilisés à une date future.

Les autres revenus sont comptabilisés dans l’exercice où les opérations ou les faits sous-jascents surviennent.

(e) Charges
Les charges sont constatées selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice:

Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d’emploi.

Les services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères pour les locaux, les cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif.

(f) Avantages sociaux futurs

Prestations de retraite : Les employés admissibles participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, un régime multiemployeurs administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les cotisations du Bureau au régime sont passées en charges dans l’exercice au cours duquel elles sont engagées et elles représentent l’obligation totale de l’organisation découlant du régime. En vertu des dispositions législatives en vigueur, le Bureau n’est pas tenu de verser des cotisations au titre de l’insuffisance actuarielle du régime.

Indemnités de départ : Les employés ont droit aux indemnités de départ prévues dans leurs conditions d’emploi. Le coût de ces indemnités s’accumule à mesure que les employés rendent les services y donnant droit. Le coût des avantages sociaux gagnés par les employés est calculé à l’aide de l’information tirée des résultats du passif déterminé sur une base actuarielle au titre des prestations de départ pour l’ensemble du gouvernement.

5.Crédits parlementaires

Le Bureau reçoit la plus grande partie de son financement sous forme de crédits parlementaires annuels. Les éléments comptabilisés dans l’État des résultats d’un exercice peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires qui ont été autorisés dans un exercice précédent, pendant l’exercice en cours ou qui le seront dans un exercice futur. En conséquence, les résultats de fonctionnement nets du Bureau diffèrent selon qu’ils sont présentés selon le financement octroyé par le gouvernement ou selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

(a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées :
(en dollars) Estimations
2011
Prévisions
2012
Coût de fonctionnement net 4 433 097 $ 4 572 715 $
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais n’ayant pas d’incidence sur les autorisations:
Ajouter (déduire):
Services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères (Note 7) (389 974) (389 974)
Recouvrement de charges d’exercices antérieurs 4 549 4 549
Rajustements de créditeurs à la fin de l’exercice 8 997 8 997
Augmentation des indemnités de départ des employés (13 967) (13 967)
Augmentation des indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires (11 706) (11 706)
Revenus non disponibles pour dépenser 15 15
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles 0 0
  (402 086) (402 086)
 
Rajustments pour les postes n’ayant pas d’incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais ayant une incidence sur les autorisations:
Ajouter (déduire):
Acquisition d’immobilisations corporelles 0 30 000
Autorisations disponibles prévues 4 031 011 $ 4 200 629 $
(b) Autorisations demandées
(en dollars) Estimations
2011
Prévisions
2012
Dépenses de fonctionnement - Crédit 45 3 625 319 $ 3 750 451 $
Contributions au régime d’avantages des employés 405 695 420 177
Autorisations disponibles prévues 4 031 014 $ 4 200 628 $

Les autorisations demandées prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 représentent les montants des dépenses prévues inscrits dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités de 2011-2012. Les autorisations demandées estimatives pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 comprennent les montants présentés dans le Budget des dépenses et les Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses (A) et (B) de 2010-2011, et ceux qui doivent être présentés dans le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (C) et les montants estimatifs, à la fin de l’exercice, des affectations des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor.

6. Avantages sociaux

(a) Prestations de retraite
Les employés du Bureau participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, qui est parrainé et administré par le Gouvernement du Canada. Les prestations de retraite s’accumulent sur une période maximale de 35 ans au taux de 2 % par année de services validables multiplié par la moyenne des gains des cinq meilleures années consécutives. Les prestations sont intégrées aux prestations du Régime de pensions du Canada et du Régime de rentes du Québec et sont indexées à l’inflation.

La responsabilité du Bureau relative au régime de retraite se limite aux cotisations versées. Les excédents ou les déficits actuariels sont constatés dans les états financiers du Gouvernement du Canada, en sa qualité de répondant du régime.

(b) Indemnités de départ :
Le Bureau verse des indemnités de départ aux employés en fonction basé sur l’admissibilité, des années de service et du salaire final. Ces indemnités ne sont pas capitalisées d’avance. Les prestations seront prélevées sur les crédits futurs. Voici des informations sur les indemnités de départ estimatives en date du 31 mars:

(en dollars) Résultats estimatifs
2011
Prévisions
2012
Obligation accumulé au titre des indemnités au début de l’exercice 449 846 $ 463 813 $
Charge ou ajustement pour l’exercice 120 000 135 000
Indemnités versées pendant l’exercice (106 033) (121 033)
Obligation au titre des prestations constituées, fin de l’exercice 463 813 $ 477 780 $

7. Opérations entre apparentés

En vertu du principe de propriété commune, le Bureau est apparenté à tous les ministères, organismes et sociétés d’État du Gouvernement du Canada. Le Bureau conclut des opérations avec ces entités dans le cours normal de ses activités et selon des modalités commerciales normales. Aussi, au cours de l’exercice, le Bureau a reçu des services courants gratuitement de ministères qui sont décrits ci-dessous:

(a) Services courants fournis gratuitement par des ministères
Au cours de l’exercice, le Bureau prévoit recevoir gratuitement de ministères des services de locaux et des cotisations de l’employeur au régime de soins de santé et au régime dentaire et les indemnités pour accident de travail.Ces services gratuits ont été constatés comme suit dans l’état des résultats prospectif du Bureau.

(en dollars) Résultats estimatifs
2011
Prévisions
2012
Locaux 235 322 $ 235 322 $
Cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires 154 652 154 652
  389 974 $ 389 974 $

Le gouvernement a centralisé certaines de ses activités administratives de manière à optimiser l’efficience et l’efficacité de sorte qu’un seul ministère mène certaines activités au nom de tous sans frais. Les coûts de ces services, qui comprennent les services de paye et d’émission des chèques offerts par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada et les services de vérification offerts par le Bureau du vérificateur général ne sont pas inclus à titre de charge dans l’État des résultats prospectf du Bureau.

(b) Autres opérations entre apparentés

(en dollars) Résultats estimatifs
2011
Prévisions
2012
Charges - Autres ministères et organismes fédéraux 185 000 $ 185 000 $

8. Information sectorielle

La présentation de l’information sectorielle est fondée sur l’architecture des activités de programme de l’organisation. La présentation par secteur est fondée sur les mêmes conventions comptables décrites à la Note 2. Le tableau qui suit présente les charges engagées et les revenues générées par les principales activités de programme, par principale articles de dépenses et types de revenues. Voici les résultats anticipés de chaque segment pour la période:

  2011 2012
Dépenses Total Ombudsman
pour les
délinquants
Services internes Total
Salaires et avantages sociaux 3 251 786 $ 3 014 474 $ 558 189 $ 3 572 663 $
Services professionnels et spéciaux 505 924 191 410 222 982 414 392
Installations 260 965 216 027 38 781 254 808
Déplacements et réinstallation 256 724 193 331 2 028 195 358
Équipement 38 932 0 34 172 34 172
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 38 500 0 33 794 33 794
Communication 36 142 1 727 29 728 31 456
Location d’équipement 26 495 16 040 4 728 20 768
Information 14 439 1 091 11 413 12 504
Amortissement 0 0 0 0
Réparations 3 205 0 2 813 2 813
Total dépenses 4 433 112 3 634 100 938 630 4 572 730
Revenus
Autres revenues 15 15 0 15
Coût de fonctionnement net
Coût de fonctionnement net 4 433 097 $ 3 634 085 $ 938 630 $ 4 572 715 $

Les notes font partie intégrante des états financiers.