ARCHIVED - FINANCIAL STATEMENTS 2008-2009

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Statement of Management Responsibility (unaudited)

Responsibility for the integrity and objectivity of the accompanying financial statements for the period ended March 31, 2009, and all information contained in these statements rests with Office of the Correctional Investigator (OCI) management. These financial statements have been prepared by management in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies which are consistent with Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector.

Management is responsible for the integrity and objectivity of the information in these financial statements. Some of the information in the financial statements is based on management's best estimates and judgment and gives due consideration to materiality. To fulfil its accounting and reporting responsibilities, management maintains a set of accounts that provides a centralized record of the organization's financial transactions. Financial information submitted to the Public Accounts of Canada and included in the Office's Departmental Performance Report is consistent with these financial statements.

Management maintains a system of financial management and internal control designed to provide reasonable assurance that financial information is reliable, that assets are safeguarded and that transactions are in accordance with the Financial Administration Act, are executed in accordance with prescribed regulations, within Parliamentary authorities, and are properly recorded to maintain accountability of Government funds. Management also seeks to ensure the objectivity and integrity of data in its financial statements by careful selection, training and development of qualified staff, by organizational arrangements that provide appropriate divisions of responsibility, and by communication programs aimed at ensuring that regulations, policies, standards and managerial authorities are understood throughout the Office.

The financial statements of the Office have not been audited.

Original signed by:
Howard Sapers
Correctional Investigator

Manuel Marques
Chief Financial Officer

Statement of Financial Position (unaudited)
As at March 31
(in dollars)
2009 2008
Assets    
Financial Assets    

Accounts receivable and advances (Note 4)

2,235 2,441
Total Assets 2,235 2,441
Liabilities and Equity of Canada    
Liabilities    
Accounts payable and accrued liabilities 294,455 129,364
Vacation pay and compensatory leave 90,980 90,980
Employee severance benefits (Note 5) 423,641 460,169
Total Liabilities 809,076 680,513

Equity of Canada

(806,842) (678,072)
Total Liabilities and Equity of Canada 2,235 2,441

The accompanying notes form an integral part of these financial statements.

 

Statement of Equity of Canada (unaudited)
For the period ended March 31
(in dollars)
2009 2008
Equity of Canada, beginning of year (678,072) (697,108)

Net cost of operations

(3,853,780) (3,425,097)

Current year appropriations used  (Note 3)

3,531,619 3,122,200

Revenue not available for spending (Note 3)

(5) (10)

Refund of prior year expenditures (Note 3)

(1,265) (77,519)

Change in net position in the Consolidated Revenue Fund (Note 3)

(184,891) (32,871)

Services provided without charge by other government departments (Note 6)

379,553 432,333
Equity of Canada, end of year (806,842) (678,072)

The accompanying notes form an integral part of these financial statements.

 

Statement of Operations (unaudited)
For the period ended March 31
(in dollars)
2009 2008
Expenses    
Salaries and employee benefits 2,792,332 2,652,915
Professional and special services 417,821 179,915
Accommodation 283,246 306,603
Travel and relocation 205,524 176,532
Equipment 58,911 27,813
Communication 42,532 49,012
Utilities, material and supplies 22,600 20,421
Information 20,720 6,049
Repairs 6,364 3,174
Equipment rentals 3,735 2,673
Total Expenses 3,853,785 3,425,107
Revenues 5 10
Net Cost of Operations 3,853,780 3,425,097

The accompanying notes form an integral part of these financial statements.

 

Statement of Cash Flow (unaudited)
For the period ended March 31
(in dollars)
2009 2008
Operating activities    
Net Cost of Operations 3,853,780 3,425,097
Non-cash items:    
Services provided without charge by other government departments (379,553) (432,333)
Variations in Statement of Financial Position:    
Decrease in accounts receivable and advances (206) (31,161)
(Increase) Decrease in account payables and accrued liabilities (165,091) 6,494
(Increase) Decrease in vacation pay and compensatory leave 0 57,400
(Increase) Decrease in employee severence benefits 36,528 (13,697)
Total Cash used by Operating Activities 3,345,458 3,011,800
Financing activities 
Net cash provided by Government of Canada
(Note 3(c))
(3,345,458) (3,011,800)

The accompanying notes form an integral part of these financial statements.

 

1. Authority and purpose

The Office of the Correctional Investigator was established in 1973 pursuant to Part II of the Inquiries Act. With the proclamation in November 1992 of Part III of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, this is now the enabling legislation. The mandate of the Correctional Investigator, as defined by this legislation, is to function as an Ombudsman for federal offenders. The Correctional Investigator is independent of the Correctional Service of Canada and may initiate an investigation on receipt of a complaint by or on behalf of an offender, at the request of the Minister or on his own initiative. The Correctional Investigator is required by legislation to report annually through the Minister of Public Safety to both Houses of Parliament.

In addition, Section 19 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act requires that the Correctional Service of Canada "where an inmate dies or suffers serious bodily injury" conduct an investigation and provide a copy of the report to the Correctional Investigator.

2. Significant accounting policies

The financial statements have been prepared in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies which are consistent with Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

(a) Parliamentary appropriations

The Office is financed by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary appropriations. Appropriations provided to the Office do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles since appropriations are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Consequently, items recognized in the statement of operations and the statement of financial position are not necessarily the same as those provided through appropriations from Parliament. Note 3 provides a high-level reconciliation between the bases of reporting.

(b) Net Cash Provided by Government

The Office operates within the Consolidated Revenue Fund (CRF), which is administered by the Receiver General for Canada. All cash received by the Office is deposited to the CRF and all cash disbursements made by the Office are paid from the CRF. The net cash provided by Government is the difference between all cash receipts and all cash disbursements including transactions between departments of the federal government.

(c) Change in net position in the Consolidated Revenue Fund

The change in net position in the Consolidated Revenue Fund is the difference between the net cash provided by Government and appropriations used in a year, excluding the amount of non respendable revenue recorded by the Office. It results from timing differences between when a transaction affects appropriations and when it is processed through the CRF.

(d) Revenues

Revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event occurred that gave rise to the revenues. Revenues include access to information program (ATIP) fees, employees' parking fees etc.

(e) Expenses

Expenses are recorded on the accrual basis:

  • Vacation pay and compensatory leave are expensed as the benefits accrue to employees under their respective terms of employment.
  • Services provided without charge by other government departments for accommodation and the employer's contribution to the health and dental insurance plans are recorded as operating expenses at their estimated cost.

(f) Employee future benefits

Pension benefits: Eligible employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, a multiemployer plan administered by the Government of Canada. The Office's contributions to the Plan are charged to expenses in the year incurred and represent the total obligation to the Plan. Current legislation does not require the Office to make contributions for any actuarial deficiencies of the Plan.

Severance benefits: Employees are entitled to severance benefits the conditions of employment. These benefits are accrued as employees render the services necessary to earn them. The obligation relating to the benefits earned by employees is calculated using information derived from the results of the actuarially determined liability for employee severance benefits for the Government as a whole.

(g) Receivables

Accounts receivables are stated at amounts expected to be ultimately realized; a provision is made for receivables where recovery is considered uncertain.

(h) Measurement uncertainty

The preparation of these financial statements in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies which are consistent with Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector, requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses reported in the financial statements. At the time of preparation of these statements, management believes the estimates and assumptions to be reasonable. The most significant item where an estimate is used is the liability for employee severance benefits. Actual results could significantly differ from those estimated. Management's estimates are reviewed periodically and, as adjustments become necessary, they are recorded in the financial statements in the year they become known.

3. Parliamentary Appropriations

The Office receives most of its funding through annual Parliamentary appropriations. Items recognized in the statement of operations and the statement of financial position in one year may be funded through Parliamentary appropriations in prior, current or future years. Accordingly, the Office has different net results of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

(a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to current year appropriations used:
(in dollars) 2009 2008
Net cost of operations 3,853,780 3,425,097
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting appropriations:    
Add (Less):    
Refunds of previous year expenditures 1,265 77,519
Adjustments of accounts payable at year end 19,594 8,204
Employee severance benefits 36,527 (13,697)
Vacation pay and compensatory leave 0 57,400
Revenue not available for spending 5 10
Services provided without charge by other government departments (379,553) (432,333)
  (322,161) (302,897)
Current year appropriations used 3,531,619 3,122,200
 
(b) Appropriations provided and used:
Program expenditures - Vote 45 3,755,984 3,067,391
Less:
Lapsed appropriations
(697,783) (313,555)
  3,058,201 2,753,836
Add statutory amounts:
Contributions to employee benefits plan
473,418 368,364
Current year appropriations used 3,531,619 3,122,200
 
(c) Reconciliation of net cash provided by Government to current year appropriations used: 
Net cash provided by Government 3,345,458 3,011,800
Revenue not available for spending 5 10
Refunds of previous year expenditures 1,265 77,519
  3,346,728 3,089,329
Change in net position in the Consolidated Revenue Fund:    
Adjustments of previous years expenditures 19,594 8,204
(Increase) decrease in accounts receivable 206 31,161
Increase (decrease) in accounts payable and accrued liabilities 165,091 (6,494)
  184,891 32,871
Current year appropriations used 3,531,619 3,122,200

 

4. Accounts Receivable and Advances
(in dollars) 2009 2008
Receivables from other Federal Government departments and agencies 1,635 1,341
Employee advances 600 1,100
Total 2,235 2,441

 

5. Employee Benefits

(a) Pension benefits

The Office's employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, which is sponsored and administered by the Government of Canada. Pension benefits accrue up to a maximum period of 35 years at a rate of 2 percent per year of pensionable service, times the average of the best five consecutive years of earnings. The benefits are integrated with Canada/Québec Pension Plans benefits and they are indexed to inflation.

Both the employees and the Office contribute to the cost of the Plan. The 2008-09 expense amounts to $341,808 ($268,537 in 2007-08), which represents approximately 2.0 times (2.1 in 2007-08) the contributions by employees.

The department's responsibility with regard to the Plan is limited to its contributions. Actuarial surpluses or deficiencies are recognized in the financial statements of the Government of Canada, as the Plan's sponsor.

(b) Severance benefits

The Office provides severance benefits to its employees based on eligibility, years of service and final salary. Benefits will be paid from future appropriations. Information about the severance benefits, measured as at March 31, is as follows:

(in dollars) 2009 2008
Accrued benefit obligation, beginning of year 460,169 446,472
Accrued expense for the year 132,769 13,697
Benefits paid during the year (169,297) 0
Accrued benefit obligation, end of year 423,641 460,169

6. Related party transactions

The Office is related as a result of common ownership to all Government of Canada departments, agencies, and Crown corporations. The Office enters into transactions with these entities in the normal course of business and on normal trade terms. Also, during the year, the Office received services which were obtained without charge from other Government departments as presented in part (a).

(a) Services provided without charge:

During the year the Office received service without charge from other departments. These services have been recognized in the Office's Statement of Operations as follows:

(in dollars) 2009 2008
Accommodation 253,657 280,017
Employer's contribution to the health and dental insurance plans 125,896 152,316
  379,553 432,333

The Government has structured some of its administrative activities for efficiency and cost-effectiveness purposes so that one department performs these on behalf of all without charge. The costs of these services, which include payroll and cheque issuance services provided by Public Works and Government Services Canada, are not included as an expense in the Office's Statement of Operations.

(b) Payables outstanding at year-end with related parties:

(in dollars) 2009 2008
Accounts payable to other government departments and agencies 53,813 30,939

ARCHIVÉE - ÉTATS FINANCIERS

Contenu archivé

L'information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Énoncé de la responsabilité de la direction (non vérifié)

La responsabilité de l'intégrité et de l'objectivité des états financiers ci-joints pour l'exercice financier terminé le 31 mars 2009 et de toute l'information figurant dans le présent rapport incombe à la direction du Bureau de l'Enqueteur Correctionnel (BEC). La direction a préparé les états financiers conformément aux politiques comptables du Conseil du Trésor, lesquelles sont fondées sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada pour le secteur public.

La direction est responsable de l'intégrité et de l'objectivité de l'information contenue dans ces états financiers. Une partie de cette information est fondée sur les meilleurs jugements et estimations de la direction et elle tient compte, comme il se doit, de l'importance relative. Afin de satisfaire à ses obligations redditionnelles, la direction tient à jour un ensemble de comptes qui garantit l'enregistrement centralisé des opérations financières du Bureau. L'information financière sur le Bureau contenue dans le Rapport sur le rendement du Bureau et soumise aux Comptes publics du Canada concorde avec le présent état financier.

La direction tient à jour un système de gestion financière et de contrôle interne destiné à garantir, avec une certitude raisonnable, que l'information financière est fiable, que les actifs sont protégés, que les opérations sont exécutées conformément à la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, dans le respect de la réglementation en vigueur et dans les limites des autorisations parlementaires, et que ces opérations sont enregistrées comme il convient pour pouvoir rendre compte de l'usage des fonds publics. La direction tente également d'assurer l'objectivité et l'intégrité des données de son état financier en choisissant avec soin un personnel qualifié, en lui offrant la formation et le perfectionnement requis, en négociant des arrangements qui assurent une répartition adéquate des responsabilités, et en adoptant des programmes de communication visant à garantir que les règlements, politiques, normes et pouvoirs directoriaux sont compris partout dans le Bureau.

Les états financiers du BEC n'ont pas été vérifiés.

La version originale a été signée par

Howard Sapers
Enquêteur correctionnel

Manuel Marques
Dirigeant principal des finances

 

état de la situation financière (non vérifié)
Au 31 mars
(en dollars)
2009 2008
Actif    
Actif financier    

Comptes débiteurs et avances (Note 4)

2 235 2 441
Total de l'actif 2 235 2 441
Passif et avoir du Canada    
Passif    
Créditeurs et frais courus 294 455 129 364
Vacances et congés compensatoires 90 980 90 980
Prestations de départ des employés (Note 5) 423 641 460 169
Total du passif 809 076 680 513

Avoir du Canada

(806 842) (678 072)
Total de passif et de l'avoir du Canada 2 235 2 441

Les notes font partie intégrante des états financiers.

 

état de l'avoir du Canada (non vérifié)
Pour l'exercice achevé le 31 mars
(en dollars)
2009 2008
Avoir du Canada, au début de l'exercice (678 072) (697 108)

Coût de fonctionnement net

(3 853 780) (3 425 097)

Crédits de l'exercice utilisés (Note 3)

3 531 619 3 122 200

Revenus non disponibles pour dépenser (Note 3)

(5) (10)

Remboursement de dépenses des exercices précédents (Note 3)

(1 265) (77 519)

Variation de la situation nette du Trésor (Note 3)

(184 891) (32 871)

Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères (Note 6)

379 553 432 333
Avoir du Canada, à la fin de l'exercice (806 842) (678 072)

Les notes font partie intégrante des états financiers.

 

état des résultats (non vérifié)
Pour l'exercice achevé le 31 mars
(en dollars)
2009 2008
Dépenses    
Salaires et avantages sociaux 2 792 332 2 652 915
Services professionnels et spéciaux 417 821 179 915
Installations 283 246 306 603
Déplacements et réinstallations 205 524 176 532
équipement 58 911 27 813
Communication 42 532 49 012
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 22 600 20 421
Information 20 720 6 049
Réparations 6 364 3 174
Location d'équipement 3 735 2 673
Total dépenses 3 853 785 3 425 107
Autres revenus 5 10
Coût de fonctionnement net 3 853 780 3 425 097

Les notes font partie intégrante des états financiers.

 

état des flux de trésorerie (non vérifié)
Pour l'exercice achevé le 31 mars
(en dollars)
2009 2008
Activités de fonctionnement    
Coût de fonctionnement net 3 853 780 3 425 097
éléments n'affectant pas l'encaisse :    
Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères (Note 6) (379 553) (432 333)
Variations de l'état de la situation financière :    
Diminution des rébiteurs et des avances (206) (31 161)
(Augmentation) diminution du passif (165 091) 6 494
(Augmentation) diminution des vacances et des congés compensatoires 0 57 400
(Augmentation) diminution des indemnités de départ 36 528 (13 697)
Encaisse utilisée par les activités de fonctionnement 3 345 458 3 011 800
Activités de financement 
Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement du Canada (Note 3(c)) (3 345 458) (3 011 800)

Les notes font partie intégrante des états financiers.

 

1. Mandat et objectifs

Le Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel a été établi en 1973 en vertu de la Partie II de la Loi sur les enquêtes. Cette base légale a été modifiée en novembre 1992 avec la promulgation de la Partie III de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition. Le mandat de l'enquêteur correctionnel, tel que défini par cette Loi, est d'agir en tant qu'Ombudsman pour les délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale. Le Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel est indépendant du Service correctionnel du Canada et peut ouvrir une enquête par suite d'une plainte émanant d'un délinquant ou détenu ou présentée en son nom, que ce soit à la demande du Ministre ou de sa propre initiative. L'enquêteur correctionnel est tenu en vertu de la loi de présenter un rapport annuel aux deux chambres du Parlement par l'entremise du ministre de la Sécurité publique.

De plus, l'article 19 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition exige que le Service correctionnel du Canada fasse enquête en cas de décès ou de blessure grave d'un délinquant et qu'il remette une copie de son rapport à l'enquêteur correctionnel.

2. Principales conventions comptables

Les états financiers ont été préparés conformément aux conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor, qui sont conformes aux principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

(a) Crédits parlementaires

Le Bureau est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen de crédits parlementaires. Les crédits consentis au Bureau ne correspondent pas à la présentation des rapports financiers en conformité avec les principes comptables généralement reconnus étant donné que les crédits sont fondés, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Par conséquent, les postes comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats et dans l'état de la situation financière ne sont pas nécessairement les mêmes que ceux qui sont prévus par les crédits parlementaires. La note 3 présente un rapprochement général entre les deux méthodes de rapports financiers.

(b) Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement

Le Bureau fonctionne au moyen du Trésor, qui est administré par le receveur général du Canada. La totalité de l'encaisse reçue par le Bureau est déposée au Trésor, et tous les décaissements faits par le Bureau sont prélevés sur le Trésor. L'encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement est la différence entre toutes les rentrées de fonds et toutes les sorties de fonds, y compris les opérations entre les organisations au sein du gouvernement fédéral.

(c) Variation de la situation nette du Trésor

La variation de la situation nette du Trésor correspond à la différence entre l'encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement et les crédits utilisés au cours d'un exercice, à l'exclusion du montant des revenus non disponibles comptabilisés par le Bureau. Elle découle d'écarts temporaires entre le moment où une opération touche un crédit et le moment où elle est traitée par le Trésor.

(d) Revenus

Les revenus sont comptabilisés dans l'exercice où les opérations ou les faits sous-jacents surviennent. Les revenus incluent les frais liés au programme d'accès à l'information (AIPRP), les frais de stationnement payés par les employés, etc.

(e) Dépenses

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice :

  • Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d'emploi respectives.
  • Les services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères pour les locaux, les cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires et les services juridiques sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif.

(f) Avantages sociaux futurs

Prestations de retraite : Les employés admissibles participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, un régime multi employeurs administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les cotisations du Bureau au régime sont passées en charges dans l'exercice au cours duquel elles sont engagées et elles représentent l'obligation totale du Bureau découlant du régime. En vertu des dispositions législatives en vigueur, le Bureau n'est pas tenu de verser des cotisations au titre de l'insuffisance actuarielle du régime.

Indemnités de départ : Les employés ont droit à des indemnités de départ, prévues dans les conditions d'emploi. Le coût de ces indemnités s'accumule à mesure que les employés effectuent les services nécessaires pour les gagner. Le coût des avantages sociaux gagnés par les employés est calculé à l'aide de l'information provenant des résultats du passif déterminé sur une base actuarielle pour les prestations de départ pour l'ensemble du gouvernement.

(g) Débiteurs

Les comptes débiteurs sont comptabilisés en fonction des montants que l'on prévoit réaliser. Des provisions sont établies pour les comptes débiteurs dont le recouvrement est incertain.

(h) Incertitude relative à la mesure

La préparation de ces états financiers conformément aux conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, qui sont conformes aux principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public, exige de la direction qu'elle fasse des estimations et pose des hypothèses qui influent sur les montants déclarés des actifs, des passifs, des revenus et des charges présentés dans les états financiers. Au moment de la préparation des présents états financiers, la direction considère que les estimations et les hypothèses sont raisonnables. Le principal élément pour lequel des estimations sont faites est le passif pour les indemnités de départ. Les résultats réels pourraient différer des estimations de manière significative. Les estimations de la direction sont examinées périodiquement et, à mesure que les rajustements deviennent nécessaires, ils sont constatés dans les états financiers de l'exercice où ils sont connus.

3. Crédits parlementaires

Le Bureau reçoit la plus grande partie de son financement au moyen de crédits parlementaires annuels. Les éléments comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats et l'état de la situation financière d'un exercice peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires qui ont été autorisés dans des exercices précédents, pendant l'exercice en cours ou qui le seront dans des exercices futurs. En conséquence, les résultats de fonctionnement nets du Bureau diffèrent selon qu'ils sont présentés selon le financement octroyé par le gouvernement ou selon la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

(a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des crédits parlementaires de l'exercice en cours :
(en dollars) 2009 2008
Coût de fonctionnement net 3 853 780 3 425 097
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur les crédits :    
Ajouter (déduire) :    
Remboursements de dépenses des exercices précédents 1 265 77 519
Rajustements des créditeurs à la fin de l'exercice 19 594 8 204
Indemnités de départ des employés 36 527 (13 697)
Indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires 0 57 400
Revenus non disponibles pour dépenser 5 10
Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères (379 553) (432 333)
  (322 161) (302 897)
Crédits de l'exercice en cours utilisés 3 531 619 3 122 200
 
(b) Crédits fournis et utilisés :
Dépenses de programmes - Crédit 45 3 755 984 3 067 391
Moins:
Crédits annulés
(697 783) (313 555)
  3 058 201 2 753 836
Plus sommes statutaires :
Contributions au régime d'avantages des employés
473 418 368 364
Crédits de l'exercice en cours utilisés 3 531 619 3 122 200
 
(c) Rapprochement de l'encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement et des crédits de l'exercice en cours utilisés : 
Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement 3 345 458 3 011 800
Revenu non disponible pour dépenser 5 10
Remboursement de dépenses des exercices précédents 1 265 77 519
  3 346 728 3 089 329
Variation de la situation nette du Trésor    
Rajustement de créditeurs à la fin de l'exercice 19 594 8 204
(Augmentation) diminution des débiteurs 206 31 161
Augmentation (diminution) des créditeurs 165 091 (6 494)
  184 891 32 871
Crédits de l'exercice en cours utilisés 3 531 619 3 122 200

 

4. Débiteurs et avances

Le tableau ci-dessous fournit des détails relatifs aux débiteurs et avances :
(en dollars) 2009 2008
Débiteurs des autres ministères et organismes fédéraux 1 635 1 341
Avances aux employés 600 1 100
Total 2 235 2 441

 

5. Avantages sociaux

(a) Prestations de retraite

Les employés du Bureau participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, qui est parrainé et administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les prestations de retraite s'accumulent sur une période maximale de 35 ans au taux de 2 p. 100 par année de service validable multiplié par la moyenne des gains des cinq meilleures années consécutives. Les prestations sont intégrées aux prestations du Régime de pensions du Canada et du Régime de rentes du Québec et sont indexées à l'inflation.

Tant les employés que le Bureau versent des cotisations couvrant le coût du régime. En 2008-2009 les charges s'élèvent à 341 808 $ (268 537 $ en 2007-2008). Les charges présentées ci-dessous correspondent à environ 2,0 fois (2,1 en 2007-08) les cotisations des employés.

La responsabilité du Bureau relative au régime de retraite se limite aux cotisations versées.

Les excédents ou les déficits actuariels sont constatés dans les états financiers du gouvernement du Canada, en sa qualité de répondant du régime.

(b) Indemnités de départ

Le Bureau verse des indemnités de départ aux employés en fonction de l'admissibilité, des années de service et du salaire final. Ces indemnités ne sont pas capitalisées d'avance. Les prestations seront prélevées sur les crédits futurs. Voici quelles étaient les indemnités de départ au 31 mars :

(en dollars) 2009 2008
Obligation accumulée au titre des indemnités au début de l'exercice 460 169 446 472
Charges accumulées pour l'exercice 132 769 13 697
Indemnités versées pendant l'exercice (169 297) 0
Obligation accumulée au titre des indemnités à la fin de l'exercice 423 641 460 169

6. Opérations entre apparentés

En vertu du principe de propriété commune, le Bureau est apparenté à tous les ministères, organismes et sociétés d'État du gouvernement du Canada. Le Bureau conclut des opérations avec ces entités dans le cours normal de ses activités et selon des modalités commerciales normales. De plus, au cours de l'exercice, le Bureau reçoit gratuitement des services d'autres ministères, comme il est indiqué à la partie (a).

(a) Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères :

Au cours de l'exercice, le Bureau reçoit gratuitement des services d'autres ministères. Ces services gratuits ont été constatés comme suit dans l'état des résultats du Bureau :

(en dollars) 2009 2008
Installations 253 657 280 017
Cotisations de l'employeur au régime de soins de santé et au régime de soins dentaires 125 896 152 316
  379 553 432 333

Le gouvernement a structuré certaines de ses activités administratives de manière à optimiser l'efficience et l'efficacité de sorte qu'un seul ministère mène sans frais certaines activités au nom de tous. Le coût de ces services, qui comprennent les services de paye et d'émission des chèques offerts par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, ne sont pas inclus à titre de charge dans l'état des résultats du Bureau.

(b) Comptes créditeurs à la fin de l'exercice entre apparentés :

(en dollars) 2009 2008
Créditeurs - Autres ministères et organismes 53 813 30 939