ARCHIVED - OFFICE OF THE CORRECTIONAL INVESTIGATOR
DEPARTMENTAL PERFORMANCE REPORT

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For the
period ending
March 31, 2001

Lawrence MacAulay, P.C., M.P.
Solicitor General of Canada

 


TABLE OF CONTENTS

Section I: Message

1.1 Correctional Investigator's Message

Section II: Agency Overview

2.1 Mandate
2.2 Mission Statement
2.3 Agency
2.4 Organizational Chart

Section III: Agency Performance

3.1 Societal Context
3.2 Performance Results Exceptions and Chart of Strategic Outcomes
3.3 Performance Accomplishments

Annex A : Financial Performance Overview

Financial Table 1
Financial Table 2
Financial Table 3

Annex B : Other Information

i) Contacts for further Information
ii) Agency Website
iii) Agency E-Mail Address
iv) Legislation and Associated Regulations Administered
v) Statutory Annual Reports and Other Agency Reports


Section I: Message

1.1 Correctional Investigator's Message

I am mandated as an Ombudsman for federal corrections. The Office carries out this function within an environment that has traditionally been closed to public scrutiny with a high level of mistrust between offenders and correctional staff.

I am firmly committed to the Ombudsman concept and believe that the provisions of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act (CCRA) provide for a process through which the vast majority of individual and systemic concerns can be reasonably addressed. It is important for all parties to appreciate that the Correctional Investigator is neither an agent of the Correctional Service of Canada nor the advocate of every complainant or interest group that lodges a complaint. I am mandated to investigate complaints from an independent and neutral position and in cases where there is evidence of unfairness, make appropriate recommendations concerning corrective action.

This past year has been an exceptionnally productive one for the Office. While we previously recorded modest gains in reversing a pattern of declining output, the magnitude of our most recent progress vis-à-vis our stragegic outcomes is truly noteworthy. Empowered by an increase in funding, we have made great strides in infusing all of our operations with a renewed focus on achieving results for Canadians.

Accordingly, the Office's investigative staff have been more present than ever before within Canadian penitentiaries and have dealt with an unprecedented number of issues from or on behalf of offenders. Their findings have been followed up with a record number of recommendations for corrective action to the Correctional Service of Canada. In so doing, the Office has contributed to ensuring that our correctional system is not only managed in a fair and humane fashion but also in a manner consistent with the expectations and values of Canadians as provided for in the CCRA.

In the months ahead, the Office will be engaged in a strategic planning exercise. We will then strive not only to find ways of further enhancing our performance vis-à-vis our strategic outcomes, but also to measure and report on the latter in an even more accessible and meaningful fashion.

Canadians increasingly recognize that the communities in which they live are ultimately safer and better protected when offender concerns are addressed fairly, humanely and responsibly. In its role of Ombudsman, the Office fully intends to contribute in assuring Canadians that this is indeed what happens in our federal correctional system.


R.L. Stewart

 

Section II: Agency Overview

2.1 Mandate

The Office of the Correctional Investigator was established in 1973 pursuant to Part II of the Inquiries Act. With the proclamation in November 1992 of Part III of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, this is now the enabling legislation. The mandate of the Correctional Investigator, as defined by this legislation, is to function as an Ombudsman for federal offenders. The Correctional Investigator is independent of the Correctional Service of Canada and may initiate an investigation on receipt of a complaint by or on behalf of an offender, at the request of the Minister or on his own initiative. The Correctional Investigator is required by legislation to report annually through the Solicitor General to both Houses of Parliament.

In addition, Section 19 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act requires that the Correctional Service of Canada "where an inmate dies or suffers serious bodily injury" conduct an investigation and provide a copy of the report to the Correctional Investigator.

2.2 Mission Statement

The Office of the Correctional Investigator is committed to maintaining an accessible independent avenue of redress for offender complaints and to provide timely recommendations to the Commissioner of the Correctional Service of Canada and the Solicitor General which address the areas of concern raised on complaint.

2.3 Agency

The Office of the Correctional Investigator has one Business Line which, as detailed in Section 167 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, is to conduct investigations into the problems of offenders related to decisions, recommendations acts or omissions of the Commissioner of Corrections or any person under the control and management of, or performing service for or on behalf of the Commissioner of Corrections that affects offenders either individually or as a group.

The Office of the Correctional Investigator is headed by the Correctional Investigator who reports to Parliament through the Solicitor General. The Agency's resources provide for 19 full-time equivalents, 11 of which make up the investigative staff. The total resources are $2,142,000 for the fiscal year 2000-2001.

2.4 Organization Chart

Organization Chart

 

Section III: Agency Performance

3.1 Societal Context

Objective

To act as an Ombudsman on behalf of offenders by thoroughly and objectively reviewing a wide spectrum of administrative actions and presenting findings and recommendations to an equally broad spectrum of decision makers, inclusive of Parliament.

Strategic Priorities

  • Improve management practices and operations strategies;
  • Increase awareness of the Office of the Correctional Investigator's mandate;
  • Establish a more effective process, in cooperation with the Correctional Service of Canada, for resolving both individual and systemic areas of concern.

Key Co-delivery Partners

In October 1999, the Office signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Correctional Service. The intent of this agreement is to assist both agencies in addressing areas of offender concern in an objective, thorough and timely fashion. Accordingly, the quality and timeliness of actions taken by the Correctional Service in response to the Office's findings and recommendations will remain of paramount importance.

In addition, the Office met throughout the year with various national and international associations, actively involved in the fields of corrections and criminal justice, either on an individual basis or at conferences, to review areas of mutual concern. These linkages highlight the value placed by the Office on a collaborative approach to the betterment of corrections consistent with the expectations of Canadians.

3.2 Performance Results Expectations and Chart of Strategic Outcomes

To provide Canadians with:
 
to be demonstrated by:
an independent and impartial review agency to investigate problems of federal offenders related to decisions, recommendations, acts or omissions of the Correctional Service of Canada.
  • the number of offenders using the services of the Office
  • the Office's accessibility to the offender population
  • the offender population's confidence in and understanding of the Office
  • the opinions of government and non-government agencies involved in federal corrections
  • the results of the actions taken by the Correctional Service in response to the Office's findings and recommendations


Strategic Outcomes, Planned Results, Related Activities and Resources

Strategic Outcomes
Planned Results
Related Activities
Resources ($thousands)
To provide Canadians with:

an independent and impartial review agency to investigate problems of federal offenders related to decisions, recommendations, acts or omissions of the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC).
  • An effective, thorough, impartial and independent review process of all complaints made by or on behalf of federal offenders.
  • An Office which is accessible to the offender population and to all other parties who wish to file a complaint on their behalf.
  • An effective, thorough, impartial and independent review process of all CSC Investigations convened pursuant to section 19 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act (inmate death or serious bodily injury) and of interventions by Institutional Emergency Response Teams (IERTs).
  • Demonstrated leadership in identifying and addressing
    systemic problems and emerging issues in Corrections.
  • A multi-faceted, dynamic and responsive communications strategy.
  • Confidence and understanding of the Canadian public, including federal offenders, vis-à-vis the Office's role, mandate and services.
  • Positive results of the actions taken by the Correctional Service of Canada in response to the Office's findings and recommendations.
  • Deal effectively, thoroughly, impartially and independently with all complaints made by or on behalf of federal offenders.
  • Visit all federal institutions on a regular basis and interview offenders who have a complaint.
  • Maintain a toll-free telephone line for offenders experiencing problems of an urgent nature and to provide easier access to the Office for Canadians from coast to coast.
  • Review all CSC Investigations as per section 19 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act and all interventions of Institutional Emergency Response Teams (IERTs) in an effective, thorough, impartial and independent fashion.
  • Undertake any other investigative activity it deems necessary to carry out its primary mandate.
  • Continue to inform federal offenders and other Canadians of its mandate, role and services through all available media, inclusive of its own website.
  • Maintain an open, honest and professional working relationship with the Correctional Service of Canada, in keeping with our Memorandum of Understanding.
2,100

3.3 Performance Accomplishments

Resources Utilized Towards Accomplishments

Office of the Correctional Investigator

Planned Spending
 
1,763,000
Total Authorities
 
2,142,000
2000-2001 Actuals
 
2,070,231
Additional financial information can be found in Annex A - Financial Performance Overview

The primary function of the Correctional Investigator is to independently investigate and attempt to bring resolution to individual offender complaints. The Office as well has a responsibility to review and make recommendations on the Service's policies and procedures associated with the areas of individual complaint to ensure that systemic areas of concern are identified and appropriately addressed (i.e. transfers, case management, etc.). In so doing the Office aims to assure the Canadian public that the federal correctional system is managed efficiently, equitably and fairly.

All complaints received by the Office are reviewed and initial inquiries made to the extent necessary to obtain a clear understanding of the issue in question. After this initial review, in those cases where it is determined that the area of complaint is outside our mandate, the complainant is advised of the appropriate avenue of redress and assisted when necessary in accessing that avenue. For those cases that are within our mandate, the complainant is provided with a detailing of the Service's policies and procedures associated with the area of complaint. Where deemed necessary, an interview is arranged with the offender.

In addition to responding to individual complaints, the Office meets regularly with inmate committees and other offender organizations and makes announced visits bi-annually at each institution during which the investigator will meet with any inmate, or group of inmates, upon request.

TABLE 1

From 1 April 2000 to 31 March 2001, the Office received an unprecedented total of 8,405 contacts with or on behalf of offenders, an increase of some 2,978 from the previous fiscal year and some 3,976 from fiscal year 1998-1999. The magnitude of these successive increases reflects the office's greater accessibility to the offender population. It also underscores the increasing confidence of offenders in the Office, as a viable recourse for problem resolution, and their greater understanding of our mandate, role and responsibilities.

Table 1:  Number of  complaints received from or on behalf of offenders

TABLE 2

Also, in the course of the present reporting year, the Office's investigative staff spent 375 days at federal penitentiaries, and conducted 3,185 interviews , some 304 more than in the previous fiscal year and 972 more than in fiscal year 1998-1999.

Table 2:  Interviews conducted with offenders

In order to comply with the recommendations of the Arbour Commission, the Office reviewed 546 Institutional Emergency Response Team (IERT) videotapes and other documentation related to Use of Force incidents, compared to 451 in the previous year and 243 in 1998-1999. We also reviewed 120 Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) investigation reports pursuant to Section 19 of the Correctional and Conditional Release Act (CCRA).

Further to all of its investigative and review efforts, the Office has made an unprecedented number of recommendations to the Correctional Service of Canada, focused on corrective measures to address areas of operational concern.

As the above figures also illustrate, this has been an exceptionally challenging year for the Office. The level of our activities, which are significantly greater than those reported last year, clearly demonstrates the impact of the Office's implementation of the recommendations made by the Auditor General in December 1997.

The Office's activities are consistent with its legislative mandate. While exercising due regard for economy, efficiency and effectiveness, the Office has increased its contribution to the safe, fair, humane and equitable treatment of offenders under federal jurisdiction.

In providing a viable and credible outlet for the tensions and pressures that invevitably develop within penitentiaries, the Office contributes to the reduction of costly disturbances and other acts of violence. The Office also contributes to the safety of all communities by helping to ensure that federal offenders who are released have not only been dealt with fairly and humanely but have also been provided with appropriate assistance in their bid to become law abiding citizens.


Annex A

Financial Performance Overview


Financial Table 1

Summary of voted Appropriations

Financial Requirements by Authority (thousands of dollars)
Vote
 
2000-01
 
 
Planned Spending
Total Authorities
Actual
 
 

Office of the Correctional Investigator

(30)
 
Operating expenditures
1568
1947
1875
(5)
 
Contribution to employee benefits plan
195
195
195


 
 
Total Agency
1763
2142
2070

 

Financial Table 2

Comparison of Total Planned Spending to Actual Spending

Agency Planned Versus Actual Spending (thousands of dollars)
 
 
2000-2001

Business Line
 
Planned
Total Authorities
Actual

FTEs
 
19
19
19
Operating
 
1763
2142
2070
Capital
 
-
-
-
Voted Grants and Contributions
 
-
-
-
Subtotal: Gross Voted Expenditures
 
1763
2142
2070
Less: Respendable Revenues
 
 
 
 
Total Net Expenditures
 
1763
2142
2070
Other Revenues and Expenditures
 
 
 
 
Non-respendable Revenues
 
-
-
-
Cost of services provided by other departments
 
122
122
122
Net Cost of the Program
 
1885
2264
2192

 

Financial Table 3

Historical Comparison of Total Planned Spending to Actual Spending

Historical Comparison of Agency Planned versus Actual Spending (thousands of dollars)
 
 
1999-2000
2000-2001
 
 
Actual 1998-99
Actual 1999-00
Planned Spending
Total Authorities
Actual
Office of the Correctional Investigator
 
1530
2007
1763
2142
2070
Total
 
1530
2007
1763
2142
2070

 

Annex B

Other Information


i) Contacts for Further Information

Name
Title
Address
Tel. No.
Fax No.
 
R.L. Stewart
Correctional Investigator
275 Slater Street
Room 402
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 5H9
(613) 990-2689
(613) 990-9091
 
Ed McIsaac
Executive Director
275 Slater Street
Room 402
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 5H9
(613) 990-2691
(613) 990-9091

ii) Agency Website:

www@oci-bec.gc.ca

iii) Agency E-Mail Address:

org@oci-bec.gc.ca

iv) Legislation and Associated Regulations Administered

Corrections and Conditional Release Act, Part III. (R.S.C., 1992, Ch. 20).

v) Statutory Annual Reports and Other Agency Reports

Annual Report of the Correctional Investigator.

ARCHIVÉE - BUREAU DE L'ENQUÊTEUR CORRECTIONNEL
RAPPORT MINISTÉRIEL SUR LE RENDEMENT

Contenu archivé

L'information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour la période
se terminant le
31 mars 2001

Lawrence MacAulay, C.P., député
Solliciteur général du Canada

 


TABLE DES MATIÈRES

Partie I : Message

1.1 Message de l'Enquêteur correctionnel

Partie II : Aperçu de l'Agence

2.1 Mandat
2.2 Enoncé de mission
2.3 Cadre de fonctionnement
2.4 Organigramme

Partie III : Rendement de l'Agence

3.1 Contexte socio-économique
3.2 Attente en matière de rendement et Tableau des principaux engagements en matière de résultats
3.3 Réalisations en matière de rendement

Annexe A : Aperçu du rendement financier

Tableau financier 1
Tableau financier 2
Tableau financier 3

Annexe B : Autres Renseignements

i) Personnes ressources pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires
ii) Le site internet du Bureau
iii) L'adresse électronique du Bureau
iv) Lois apppliquées et règlements connexes
v) Rapports prévus par la loi et autres rapports ministériels


Partie I: Message

1.1 Message de l'Enquêteur correctionnel

J'ai un mandat d'ombudsman dans le cadre du régime correctionnel fédéral. Le Bureau exécute cette fonction dans un environnement qui depuis toujours a été fermé aux regards du public et où l'on trouve considérablement de méfiance entre les délinquants et le personnel correctionnel.

Je suis tout à fait convaincu de la valeur du concept d'ombudsman et je crois que les dispositions de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition présente un processus qui nous permet de traiter la vaste majorité des préoccupations individuelles et systémiques. Toutes les parties doivent comprendre que l'enquêteur correctionnel n'est ni un agent du Service Correctionnel du Canada ni l'avocat de chaque plaignant ou de chaque groupe d'intérêt qui dépose une plainte. J'ai le mandat d'enquêter sur les plaintes de façon indépendante et neutre et, dans les cas où il y a des preuves d'injustice, de formuler des recommandations appropriées sur les mesures correctives à prendre.

La dernière année a été exceptionnellement productive pour le Bureau. Bien que nous avions déjà connu un certain succès à renverser une tendance déclinante au niveau du rendement, l'importance de nos progrès récents vis-à-vis nos principaux résultats stratégiques se doit d'être soulignée. Forts d'une augmentation budgétaire, nous avons redéfini notre stratégie opérationnelle, afin que cette dernière soit de plus en plus axée sur l'atteinte de résultats pour les Canadiens et Canadiennes.

En l'occurrence, les enquêteurs du Bureau ont été présents plus que jamais au sein des pénitenciers canadiens et ont traité un nombre sans précédent de plaintes de la part de ou formulées au nom des délinquants. Leurs constats ont donné lieu à un nombre record de recommandations en vue d'action corrective par le Service Correctionnel du Canada. Le Bureau a contribué ainsi à assurer que notre système correctionnel est géré non seulement de façon juste et humaine mais aussi en accord avec les attentes et les valeurs des canadiens, tel que prévu par La loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition.

Au cours des prochains mois, le Bureau sera impliqué dans un exercise de planification stratégique. Nous nous efforcerons alors non seulement à trouver des moyens d'améliorer notre rendement au niveau de nos principaux résultats stratégiques, mais aussi de mesurer et de rapporter sur ce dernier d'une façon plus significative et plus accessible.

Les Canadiens et Canadiennes reconnaissent de plus en plus que les communautés dans lesquelles ils vivent sont ultimement plus sécuritaires et mieux protégées, lorsque les problèmes des délinquants sont traités de façon juste, humaine et responsable. Le Bureau en tant qu'ombudsman, a pleinement l'intention de contribuer à assurer les Canadiennes et Canadiens que cela est bel et bien le cas au sein de notre système correctionnel fédéral.


R.L. Stewart
Enquêteur correstionnel

 

Partie II: Aperçu de l'Agence

2.1 Mandat

LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel fut établi en 1973 en vertu de laPartie II de la Loi sur les enquêtes. Cette base légale a été modifiée en novembre 1992 avec la promulgation de la Partie III de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition. Le mandat de l'Enquêteur correctionnel, tel que défini par cette Loi, est d'agir en tant qu'ombudsman pour les délinquants sous juridiction fédérale. LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel est indépendant du Service correctionnel du Canada et peut ouvrir une enquête par suite d'une plainte émanant de ou présentée au nom d'un délinquant ou d'un détenu, à la demande du Ministre ou de sa propre initiative. L'Enquêteur correctionnel doit présenter un rapport annuel par l'entremise du Solliciteur général devant chaque chambre du Parlement.

De plus, l'article 19 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition exige que le Service correctionnel du Canada effectue une enquête "en cas de décès ou de blessure grave d'un délinquant" et fait parvenir une copie du rapport à l'Enquêteur correctionnel.

2.2 Énoncé de mission

LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel doit maintenir une voie de recours accessible et indépendante pour les plaintes des contrevenants et formuler des recommandations en temps opportun au Commissaire du Service correctionnel du Canada et au Solliciteur général sur les questions qui ont fait l'objet de plaintes.

2.3 Cadre de fonctionnement

LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel a seulement un secteur d'activité qui, comme détaillé à l'article 167 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, est d'enquêter sur les problèmes des délinquants liés aux décisions, recommandations, actes ou omissions qui proviennent du Commissaire du Service correctionnel du Canada ou d'une personne sous son autorité ou exerçant des fonctions en son nom qui affectent les délinquants individuellement ou en groupe.

LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel est dirigé par l'Enquêteur correctionnel qui se rapporte au Parlement par l'entremise du Solliciteur général. Les ressources de l'agence consistent en 19 "équivalents temps plein", 11 desquels forment le personnel enquêteur. Les ressources totales sont 2,142,000$ pour l'année fiscale 2000-2001.

2.4 Organigramme

Organigramme

 

Partie III: Rendement de l'Agence

3.1 Contexte socio-économique

Objectif

D'agir en tant qu'ombudsman dans l'intérêt des contrevenants en examinant à fond et de façon objective un large éventail d'activités administratives et en présentant ses conclusions et ses recommandations à un grand nombre de décideurs, y compris le Parlement.

Priorités stratégiques

  • Améliorer nos pratiques de gestion et nos stratégies opérationnelles;
  • Accroitre la connaissance du mandat du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel;
  • Établir, en coopération avec le Service correctionnel du Canada, un processus plus efficace pour résoudre les préoccupations individuelles et systémiques des délinquants.

Partenaires principaux en matière de prestation des services

En octobre 1999, le Bureau a signé un Protocole d'entente avec le Service correctionnel du Canada. Le but de cet accord est d'aider les deux agences à traiter les plaintes des délinquants de façon objective, complète et sans délai indû. En l'occurrence, la qualité et le caractère opportun des décisions prises par le Service correctionel, en réponse aux constats et recommandations du Bureau, continueront de revêtir une très grande importance.

De plus, le Bureau a rencontré tout au long de l'année diverses associations nationales ou internationales, qui sont impliquées dans le domaine correctionnel ou de la justice criminelle soit sur une base individuelle ou lors de conférences, pour discuter de nos préoccupations mutuelles. Ces liens mettent en relief la valeur que le Bureau accorde à une approche coopérative pour améliorer le système correctionnel en accord avec les attentes des canadiens.

3.2 Attentes en matière de rendement et Tableau des principaus engagements en matière de résultats

Fournir aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes:
 
qui se manifeste par:
un organisme de révision indépendant et impartial qui mène des enquêtes sur les problèmes des délinquants liés aux décisions, recommandations, actes ou omissions qui proviennent du Service correctionnel du Canada.
  • le nombre de délinquants utilisant les services du Bureau
  • l'accessibilité du Bureau à la population délinquante
  • la confiance et la compréhension de la population délinquante envers le Bureau
  • les opinions des organismes gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux impliqués dans le système correctionnel fédéral
  • les résultats des mesures prises par le Service correctionnel du Canada en réponse aux conclusions et aux recommandations du Bureau


Principaux résultats stratégiques, résultats escomptés, activités et ressources connexes

Principaux résultats stratégiques
Résultats escomptés
Activités connexes
Ressources (en milliers de dollars)
Fournir aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes:

Un organisme de révision indépendant et impartial qui mène des enquêtes sur les problèmes des délinquants liés aux décisions, recommandations, actes ou omissions qui proviennent du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC).
  • Un processus de révisions de toutes les plaintes formulées par ou au nom des délinquants fédéraux qui est efficace, complet, impartial et indépendant.
  • Un bureau qui est accessible aux délinquants et à tous les autres partis voulant formuler une plainte en leur nom.
  • Un processus de révision de toutes les enquêtes du SCC, ayant été convoquées suite à l'article 19 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition (lorsqu'un détenu meurt ou subit des blessures graves), qui est efficace, complet, impartial et indépendant.
  • Un leadership évident aux niveaux de l'identification et de la résolution des problèmes systémiques et des questions actuelles dans le domaine correctionnel.
  • Une stratégie de communications dynamique, polymorphe et sensible aux besoins de la clientèle visée.
  • La confiance et la compréhension du public canadien, incluant des délinquants fédéraux vis-à-vis le rôle, le mandat et les services du Bureau.
  • Les résultats positifs des actions prises par le Service correctionnel du Canada en réponse aux constats et recommandations du Bureau.
  • Traiter de manière efficace, complète, impartiale et indépendante toutes les plaintes reçues des ou au nom des délinquants fédéraux.
  • Visiter régulièrement toutes les institutions fédérales et y rencontré tous les détenus désirant formuler une plainte.
  • Maintenir un service téléphonique gratuit pour les délinquants aux prises avec des problèmes urgents et pour faciliter l'accès au Bureau pour tous les Canadiens.
  • Revoir de façon efficace, complète, impartiale et indépendante les Enquêtes du SCC en vertue de l'article 19 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition et toutes les interventions des équipes institutionnelles.
  • Entreprendre toute autre activité d'enquête jugée nécessaire pour remplir son principal mandat.
  • Continuer d'informer les délinquants fédéraux et tous les autres canadiens de son mandat, son rôle et ses services par tous les média disponible, incluant son propre site internet.
  • Maintenir une relation ouverte, honnête, et professionnelle avec le Service correctionnel du Canada et ce, conformément avec notre protocole d'entente.
2 100

3.3 Réalisations en matière de rendement

Ressources utilisées vis-à-vis les engagements en matière de rendement

Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel

Dépenses prévues
 
1,763,000
Autorisations totales
 
2,142,000
Dépenses réelles en 2000-2001
 
2,070,231
D'autres informations financières se trouvent à l'annexe A - Aperçu du rendement financier

La fonction principale de l'Enquêteur correctionnel est de faire enquête de façon indépendante et tenter de résoudre les plaintes de chaque contrevenant. Le Bureau doit également examiner et formuler des recommandations sur les politiques et les procédures du Service dans la mesure ou elles se rapportent aux sujets de plainte des individus afin de s'assurer qu'on découvre et qu'on traite de façon convenable les sujets systémiques de préoccupation (i.e. transferts, gestion de cas, etc.). En faisant ceci, le Bureau vise à assurer au public canadien que le système correctionnel fédéral est géré de façon efficace, équitable et juste.

On examine toutes les plaintes déposées au Bureau et on procède à une enquête préliminaire afin de bien comprendre ce dont il s'agit. Après cette étude préliminaire, dans les cas où il est déterminé que la plainte touche un domaine qui est en dehors de notre mandat, on prévient le plaignant de la voie de recours appropriée et, au besoin, on l'aide à y avoir accès. Pour les cas qui relèvent de notre mandat, on offre au plaignant les détails des politiques et des procédures du Service ayant trait au domaine de la plainte. Si c'est nécessaire, on fixe un moment afin d'interviewer le contrevenant.

En plus de donner suite à des plaintes individuelles, le Bureau rencontre régulièrement les comités de détenus et d'autres organismes de contrevenants et deux fois par année fait une visite planifiée à chaque institution. Au cours de la visite semestrielle, l'enquêteur rencontrera tout détenu ou groupe de détenus sur demande.

TABLEAU 1

Entre le 1er avril 2000 et le 31 mars 2001, le Bureau a enregistré le nombre sans précédent de 8,405 contacts avec ou au nom des contrevenants, une augmentation de 2,978 par rapport à l'année fiscale précédente et 3,976 de plus que pendant l'année fiscale 1998-1999. L'importance de ces augmentations successives reflète la plus grande accessibilité du Bureau à la population délinquante. Cela souligne également que les délinquants continuent d'avoir confiance dans le Bureau, en tant qu'un recours valable pour la résolution de problèmes, et leur plus grande compréhension de notre mandat, rôle et responsabilités.

Nombres de contacts avec ou nom des contravenants

TABLEAU 2

Toujours au cours de l'année faisant l'objet du rapport, les enquêteurs du Bureau ont passé 375 jours dans les pénitenciers fédéraux. Ils y ont effectué 3,185 entrevues avec les détenus, soit 304 de plus que l'année fiscale précédente et 972 de plus que pendant l'année fiscale 1998-1999.

Nombres d'entrevues effectuées avec les détenus

Conformément aux recommendations de la Commission Arbour, le Bureau a revu 546 bandes vidéos relativement à des interventions par les équipes pénitentiaires d'intervention urgente (EPIU) et autres documents relatifs à l'usage de la force. Notons que ce nombre représente une augmentation de 105 par rapport à l'année fiscale précédente (451) et de 303 par rapport à l'année fiscale 1998-1999 (243). Nous avons également revu 120 enquêtes efffectuées par le Service correctionnel en vertu de l'article 19 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition.

Suite à ces enquêtes et revues, le Bureau a formulé un nombre sans précédent de recommendations au Service correctionnel portant sur des mesures correctives vis-à-vis des problèmes opérationnels.

Comme en fait foi les statistiques ci-haut, la présente année s'est avérée pleine de défis pour notre Bureau. Le niveau de nos activités, qui est considérablement plus élevé que celui de l'année précédente, démontre clairement l'impact de la mise en oeuvre par le Bureau des recommendations formulées par le Vérificateur général en décembre 1997.

Les activités du Bureau sont en accord avec son mandat législatif. Tout en demeurant soucieux de l'économie, de l'efficience et de l'efficacité, le Bureau a augmenté sa contribution au traitement sécuritaire, juste, humain et équitable des délinquants sous jurisdiction fédérale.

En fournissant un exutoire viable et crédible pour les tensions et pressions qui se développent inévitablement en milieu pénitentiaire, le bureau contribue à la réduction du nombre d'émeutes très coûteuses et des autres actes de violence. Le Bureau contribue aussi à la sécurité de toutes les communautés en aidant à assurer que les délinquants fédéraux qui y sont libérés ont non seulement été traités de façon juste et humaine, mais ont également été fournis l'aide appropriée dans leurs démarches pour devenir des citoyens respectueux de la loi.


Annexe A

Aperçu du rendement financier


Tableau financier 1

Sommaire des crédits approuvés

Besoins financiers par autorisation (en milliers de dollars)
Crédit
 
2000-01
 
 
Dépenses Prévues
Autorisations totales
Dépenses réelles
 
 

Bureau de l'Enquêteur correctionnel

(30)
 
Dépenses de fonctionnement
1568
1947
1875
(5)
 
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés.
195
195
195


 
 
Total pour l'Agence
1763
2142
2070

 

Tableau financier 2

Comparaison des dépenses totales prévues et des dépenses réelles

Dépenses prévues de l'agence par opposition aux dépenses réelles (en milliers de dollars)
 
 
2000-2001

Secteur d'activité
 
Recettes prévues
Total des autorisations
Dépenses réelles

ETP
 
19
19
19
Fonctionnement
 
1763
2142
2070
Capital
 
-
-
-
Subventions et contributions
 
-
-
-
Total provisoires des dépenses brutes votées
 
1763
2142
2070
Subventions et contributions législatives
 
-
-
-
Total des dépenses brutes
 
1763
2142
2070
Moins: Autres recettes et dépenses
 
 
 
 
Recettes non disponibles
 
-
-
-
Coût des services offerts par d'autres ministères
 
122
122
122
Coût net du programme
 
1885
2264
2192

 

Tableau financier 3

Comparaison historique des dépenses prévues et des dépenses réelles

Dépenses prévues contre dépenses réelles par secteur d'activité
(en milliers de dollars)
 
 
1999-2000
2000-2001
 
 
Données réelles 1998-99
Données réelles 1999-00
Dépenses prévues
Total des autorisa-
tions
Données réelles
Bureau de l'Enquêteur correctionnel
 
1530
2007
1763
2142
2070
Total
 
1530
2007
1763
2142
2070

 

Annexe B

Autres renseignements


i) Personnes ressources pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires

Nom
Titre
Adresse
No de tél.
No de téléc.
 
R.L. Stewart
Enquêteur correctionnel
275 rue Slater
Pièce 402
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1P 5H9
(613) 990-2689
(613) 990-9091
 
Ed McIsaac
Directeur exécutif
275 rue Slater
Pièce 402
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1P 5H9
(613) 990-2691
(613) 990-9091

ii) Le site internet de du Bureau:

www@oci-bec.gc.ca

iii) L'adresse électronique du Bureau:

org@oci-bec.gc.ca

iv) Lois appliquées et règlements connexes

Partie III - Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous conditions (L.R.C., 1992, ch.20).

v) Rapports prévus par la loi et autres rapports ministériels

Rapport annuel de l'Enquêteur correctionnel.