ARCHIVED - OFFICE OF THE CORRECTIONAL INVESTIGATOR
DEPARTMENTAL PERFORMANCE REPORT

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For the
period ending
March 31, 2000

Lawrence MacAulay, P.C., M.P.
Solicitor General of Canada

 


TABLE OF CONTENTS

Section I: Message

1.1 Correctional Investigator's Message

Section II: Agency Performance

2.1 Societal Context
2.2 Performance Results Expectations and Chart of Key Results Commitments
2.3 Performance Accomplishments

Section III: Financial Performance

3.1 Financial Performance Overview

Section IV: Agency Overview

4.1 Mandate
4.2 Mission Statement
4.3 Agency
4.4 Organization Chart

Section V: Other Information

5.1 Contacts for Further Information and Agency Website
5.2 Legislation and Associated Regulations Administered
5.3 Statutory Annual Reports and Other Agency Reports.


Section I: Message

1.1 Correctional Investigator's Message

I am mandated as an Ombudsman for federal corrections. The Office carries out this function within an environment that has traditionally been closed to public scrutiny with a high level of mistrust between the keepers and the kept.

I am firmly committed to the Ombudsman concept and believe that the provisions of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act provide for a process through which the vast majority of individual and systemic concerns can be reasonably addressed. It is important for all parties to appreciate that the Correctional Investigator is neither an agent of the Correctional Service of Canada nor the advocate of every complainant or interest group that lodges a complaint. I am mandated to investigate complaints from an independent and neutral position and in cases where there is evidence of unfairness, make appropriate recommendations concerning corrective action.

This past year has been eventful for all parties involved in Federal Corrections. The legislative review of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act has been completed and many important changes proposed. The Office has pursued its agenda of operational improvement in order to further optimize the value and quality of its services to Canadians.

I look forward to the challenges of the coming years and anticipate a continued open and cooperative working relationship with our partners in the corrections field so as to ensure that offender concerns are addressed within an environment that promotes openness, accountability and fairness in decision making. Canadian society is indeed better served and protected when everyone involved in Corrections strives steadfastly towards the fair, humane and equitable treatment of offenders.

 

R.L. Stewart
Correctional Investigator


 

Section II: Agency Performance

2.1 Societal Context

Objective

To act as an Ombudsman on behalf of offenders by thoroughly and objectively reviewing a wide spectrum of administrative actions and presenting findings and recommendations to an equally broad spectrum of decision makers, inclusive of Parliament.

Strategic Priorities

  • Improve management practices and operations strategies;
  • Increase awareness of the Office of the Correctional Investigator's mandate;
  • Establish a more effective process, in cooperation with the Correctional Service of Canada, for resolving both individual and systemic areas of concern.

Key Co-delivery Partners

In October 1999, the Office signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Correctional Service. The intent of this agreement is to assist both agencies in addressing areas of offender concern in an objective, thorough and timely fashion. Accordingly, the quality and timeliness of actions taken by the Correctional Service in response to the Office's findings and recommendations will remain of paramount importance.

In addition, this year the Office met with the National Associations Active In Criminal Justice (NAACJ) to review areas of mutual concern. These linkages highlight the value placed by various criminal justice agencies on the Office's contribution to the betterment of corrections.

2.2 Performance Results Expectations and Chart of Key Results Commitments

To provide Canadians with:
 
to be demonstrated by:
an independent and impartial review agency to investigate problems of federal offenders related to decisions, recommendations, acts or omissions of the Correctional Service of Canada.
  • the number of offenders using the services of the Office
  • the Office's accessibility to the offender population
  • the offender population's confidence in and understanding of the Office
  • the opinions of government and non-government agencies involved in federal corrections
  • the results of the actions taken by the Correctional Service in response to the Office's findings and recommendations

Key Results Commitments, Planned Results, Related Activities and Resources

Key Results Commitments
Planned Results
Related Activities
Resources ($thousands)
To provide Canadians with:

an independent and impartial review agency to investigate problems of federal offenders related to decisions, recommendations, acts or omissions of the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC).
  • An effective, thorough, impartial and independent review process of all complaints made by or on behalf of federal offenders.
  • An Office which is accessible to the offender population and to all other parties who wish to file a complaint on their behalf.
  • An effective, thorough, impartial and independent review process of all CSC Investigations convened pursuant to section 19 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act (inmate death or serious bodily injury) and of interventions by Institutional Emergency Response Teams (IERTs).
  • Demonstrated leadership in identifying and addressing
    systemic problems and emerging issues in Corrections.
  • A multi-faceted, dynamic and responsive communications strategy.
  • Confidence and understanding of the Canadian public, including federal offenders, vis-à-vis the Office's role, mandate and services.
  • Positive results of the actions taken by the Correctional Service of Canada in response to the Office's findings and recommendations.
  • Deal effectively, thoroughly, impartially and independently with all complaints made by or on behalf of federal offenders.
  • Visit all federal institutions on a regular basis and interview offenders who have a complaint.
  • Maintain a toll-free telephone line for offenders experiencing problems of an urgent nature and to provide easier access to the Office for Canadians from coast to coast.
  • Review all CSC Investigations as per section 19 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act and all interventions of Institutional Emergency Response Teams (IERTs) in an effective, thorough, impartial and independent fashion.
  • Undertake any other investigative activity it deems necessary to carry out its primary mandate.
  • Continue to inform federal offenders and other Canadians of its mandate, role and services through all available media, inclusive of its own website.
  • Maintain an open, honest and professional working relationship with the Correctional Service of Canada, in keeping with our Memorandum of Understanding.
  • 2,100

2.3 Performance Accomplishments

Resources Utilized Towards Accomplishments

Office of the Correctional Investigator

Planned Spending
 
1,768,000
Total Authorities
 
2,183,403
1999-2000 Actuals
 
2,007,493

The primary function of the Correctional Investigator is to independently investigate and attempt to bring resolution to individual offender complaints. The Office as well has a responsibility to review and make recommendations on the Service's policies and procedures associated with the areas of individual complaint to ensure that systemic areas of concern are identified and appropriately addressed (i.e. transfers, case management, etc.). In so doing the Office aims to assure the Canadian public that the federal correctional system is managed efficiently, equitably and fairly.

All complaints received by the Office are reviewed and initial inquiries made to the extent necessary to obtain a clear understanding of the issue in question. After this initial review, in those cases where it is determined that the area of complaint is outside our mandate, the complainant is advised of the appropriate avenue of redress and assisted when necessary in accessing that avenue. For those cases that are within our mandate, the complainant is provided with a detailing of the Service's policies and procedures associated with the area of complaint. Where deemed necessary, an interview is arranged with the offender.

In addition to responding to individual complaints, the Office meets regularly with inmate committees and other offender organizations and makes announced visits bi-annually at each institution during which the investigator will meet with any inmate, or group of inmates, upon request.

TABLE 1

From 1 April 1999 to 31 March 2000, the Office received a total of 5,427 contacts with or on behalf of offenders, an increase of some 998 from the previous fiscal year. This improvement relfects the Office's greater accessibility to the offender population It also underscores the continued confidence of offenders in the Office, as a viable recourse for problem resolution, and their greater understanding of our mandate, role and responsibilities.

Table 1:  Number of complaints received from or on behalf of offenders

TABLE 2

Also, in the course of the present reporting year, the Office's investigative staff spent 364 days at federal penitentiaries, an increase of some 84 from the previous year and conducted 2,881 interviews with inmates, some 668 interviews more than in the previous year.

Table 2:  Interviews conducted with offenders

As illustrated by the above tables, Fiscal Year 1999-2000 saw a marked improvement in all of the Office's primary mandate performance indicators after many years of gradual decline. This better state of affairs can first be explained by the budgetary increase afforded the Office, its first since 1992, which allowed the hiring, on a contractual basis, of three (3) more employees. Other contributory factors were the productivity gains achieved through the implementation of the Auditor General's recommendations, notably in the area of casework information processing and management.

In order to comply with the recommendations of the Arbour Commission, the Office reviewed 451 Institutional Emergency Response Team (IERT) videotapes and other documentation related to Use of Force incidents, compared to 243 in the previous year. We also reviewed 143 Correctional Service of Canada investigation reports pursuant to Section 19 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act (CCRA). Further to these reviews, the Office formulated a significant number of recommendations to the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC), many of which led to noteworthy improvements by CSC to institutional management, correctional programs, policies and procedures.

 

Section III: Financial Performance

3.1 Financial Performance Overview

This fiscal year saw this Office's budget increase for the first time since 1992. These additional funds provided some relief from the significant resources pressures the Office had been experiencing as a result of legislative and other changes to its mandate and the implementation of recommendations made by the Auditor General.

Three new staff were hired and the Office's primary mandate performance indicators improved after years of gradual decline.

The following tables are those which apply to the agency:

Financial Table 1

Summary of voted Appropriations

Financial Requirements by Authority (thousands of dollars)
Vote
 
1999-00
 
 
Planned Spending
Total Authorities
Actual
 
 

Office of the Correctional Investigator

(30)
 
Operating expenditures
1568
1952
1776
(5)
 
Contribution to employee benefits plan
200
231
231


 
 
Total Agency
1768
2183
2007

Financial Table 2

Comparison of Total Planned Spending to Actual Spending

Agency Planned Versus Actual Spending (thousands of dollars)
 
 
1999-00

Business Line
 
Planned
Total Authorities
Actual

FTEs
 
17
17
17
Operating
 
1768
2183
2007
Capital
 
-
-
-
Voted Grants and Contributions
 
-
-
-
Subtotal: Gross Voted Expenditures
 
1768
2183
2007
Less: Respendable Revenues
 
 
 
 
Total Net Expenditures
 
1768
2183
2007
Other Revenues and Expenditures
 
 
 
 
Non-respendable Revenues
 
-
-
-
Cost of services provided by other departments
 
122
122
122
Net Cost of the Program
 
1890
2305
2129

Financial Table 3

Historical Comparison of Total Planned Spending to Actual Spending

Historical Comparison of
Agency Planned versus Actual Spending (thousands of dollars)
 
 
1998-99
 
 
Actual 1997-98
Actual 1998-99
Planned Spending
Total Authorities
Actual
Office of the Correctional Investigator
 
1398
1530
1768
2183
2007
Total
 
1398
1530
1768
2183
2007

 

Section IV: Agency Overview

4.1 Mandate

The Office of the Correctional Investigator was established in 1973 pursuant to Part II of the Inquiries Act. With the proclamation in November 1992 of Part III of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, this is now the enabling legislation. The mandate of the Correctional Investigator, as defined by this legislation, is to function as an Ombudsman for federal offenders. The Correctional Investigator is independent of the Correctional Service of Canada and may initiate an investigation on receipt of a complaint by or on behalf of an offender, at the request of the Minister or on his own initiative. The Correctional Investigator is required by legislation to report annually through the Solicitor General to both Houses of Parliament.

In addition, Section 19 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act requires that the Correctional Service of Canada "where an inmate dies or suffers serious bodily injury" conduct an investigation and provide a copy of the report to the Correctional Investigator.

4.2 Mission Statement

The Office of the Correctional Investigator is committed to maintaining an accessible independent avenue of redress for offender complaints and to provide timely recommendations to the Commissioner of the Correctional Service of Canada and the Solicitor General which address the areas of concern raised on complaint.

4.3 Agency

The Office of the Correctional Investigator has one Business Line which, as detailed in Section 167 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, is to conduct investigations into the problems of offenders related to decisions, recommendations acts or omissions of the Commissioner of Corrections or any person under the control and management of, or performing service for or on behalf of the Commissioner of Corrections that affects offenders either individually or as a group.

The Office of the Correctional Investigator is headed by the Correctional Investigator who reports to Parliament through the Solicitor General. The Agency's resources provide for 17 full-time equivalents, 10 of which make up the investigative staff. The total resources are $2,183,000 for the fiscal year 1999-2000.

4.4 Organization Chart

Organization Chart

 

Section V: Other Information

5.1 Contacts for Further Information and Agency Website

Name
Title
Address
Tel. No.
Fax No.
 
R.L. Stewart
Correctional Investigator
275 Slater Street
Room 402
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 5H9
(613) 990-2689
(613) 990-9091
 
Ed McIsaac
Executive Director
275 Slater Street
Room 402
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 5H9
(613) 990-2691
(613) 990-9091

Agency website: www.oci-bec.gc.ca

5.2 Legislation and Associated Regulations Administered

Corrections and Conditional Release Act, Part III. (R.S.C., 1992, Ch. 20).

5.3 Statutory Annual Reports and Other Agency Reports.

Annual Report of the Correctional Investigator.

ARCHIVÉE - BUREAU DE L'ENQUÊTEUR CORRECTIONNEL
RAPPORT MINISTÉRIEL SUR LE RENDEMENT

Contenu archivé

L'information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour la période
se terminant le
31 mars 2000

Lawrence MacAulay, C.P., député
Solliciteur général du Canada

 


TABLE DES MATIÈRES

Partie I: Message

1.1 Message de l'Enquêteur correctionnel

Partie II: Rendement de l'Agence

2.1 Contexte socio-économique
2.2 Attentes en matière de rendement et Tableau des principaus engagements en matière de résultats
2.3 Réalisations en matière de rendement

Partie III: Rendement Financier

3.1 Aperçu du rendement financier

Partie IV: Apperçu de l'Agence

4.1 Mandat
4.2 Énoncé de mission
4.3 Cadre de fonctionnement
4.4 Organigramme

Partie V: Autres renseignements

5.1 Personnes ressources pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires et site web du Bureau
5.2 Lois appliquées et règlements connexes
5.3 Rapports prévus par la loi et autres rapports ministériels


Partie I: Message

1.1 Message de l'Enquêteur correctionnel

J'ai un mandat d'ombudsman dans le cadre du régime correctionnel fédéral. Le Bureau exécute cette fonction dans un environnement qui depuis toujours a été fermé aux regards du public et où l'on trouve considérablement de méfiance entre les gardiens et ceux qu'ils surveillent.

Je suis tout à fait convaincu de la valeur du concept d'Ombusman et je crois que les dispositions de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition présente un processus qui nous permet de traiter la vaste majorité des préoccupations individuelles et systémiques. Toutes les parties doivent comprendre que l'enquêteur correctionnel n'est ni un agent du Service correctionnel du Canada ni l'avocat de chaque plaignant ou de chaque groupe d'intérêt qui dépose une plainte. J'ai le mandat d'enquêter sur les plaintes de façon indépendante et neutre et, dans les cas où il y a des preuves d'injustice, de formuler des recommandations appropriées sur les mesures correctives à prendre.

La dernière année a été féconde en événements pour toutes les parties en cause dans le régime correctionnel fédéral. La révision législative de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition est terminée et plusiers modifications importantes ont été proposées. Le Bureau a poursuivi son calendrier d'améliorations opérationnelles et ce, afin d'optimaliser la valeur et la qualité de ses services aux canadiens.

J'envisage avec confiance les défis des années à venir et je crois que nous aurons toujours, avec nos partenaires dans le domaine correctionnel, une relation de travail ouverte et marquée au coin de la coopération afin qu'on puisse traiter les problèmes des contravenants dans une atmosphère d'ouverture, de responsabilité et d'équité dans la prise de décision. La société canadienne est effectivement mieux servie et mieux protégée lorsque tous les partis impliqués dans le domaine correctionnel s'efforcent avec constance pour le traitement juste, humain et équitable des contravenants.

 

R.L. Stewart
Enquêteur correstionnel

 

Partie II: Rendement de l'Agence

2.1 Contexte socio-économique

Objectif

D'agir en tant qu'ombudsman dans l'intérêt des contrevenants en examinant à fond et de façon objective un large éventail d'activités administratives et en présentant ses conclusions et ses recommandations à un grand nombre de décideurs, y compris le Parlement.

Priorités stratégiques

  • Améliorer nos pratiques de gestion et nos stratégies opérationnelles;
  • Accroitre la connaissance du mandat du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel;
  • Établir, en coopération avec le Service correctionnel du Canada, un processus plus efficace pour résoudre les préoccupations individuelles et systémiques des délinquants.

Partenaires principaux en matière de prestation des services

En octobre 1999, le Bureau a signé un Protocole d'entente avec le Service correctionnel du Canada. Le but de cet accord est d'aider les deux agences à traiter les plaintes des délinquants de façon objective, complète et sans délai indû. En l'occurrence, la qualité et le caractère opportun des décisions prises par le Service correctionel, en réponse aux constats et recommandations du Bureau, continueront de revêtir une très grande importance.

De plus, le Bureau a rencontré cette année les Associations nationales intéressés à la justice criminelle pour discuter de nos préoccupations mutuelles. Ces liens mettent en relief la valeur qu'attachent diverses agences du système de justice criminelle à la contribution du Bureau dans l'évolution du domaine correctionnel.

2.2 Attentes en matière de rendement et Tableau des principaus engagements en matière de résultats

Fournir aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes:
 
qui se manifeste par:
un organisme de révision indépendant et impartial qui mène des enquêtes sur les problèmes des délinquants liés aux décisions, recommandations, actes ou omissions qui proviennent du Service correctionnel du Canada.
  • le nombre de délinquants utilisant les services du Bureau
  • l'accessibilité du Bureau à la population délinquante
  • la confiance et la compréhension de la population délinquante envers le Bureau
  • les opinions des organismes gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux impliqués dans le système correctionnel fédéral
  • les résultats des mesures prises par le Service correctionnel du Canada en réponse aux conclusions et aux recommandations du Bureau

Principaux engagements en matières de résultats, résultats escomptés, activités et ressources connexes

Principaux engagements en matière de résultats
Résultats escomptés
Activités connexes
Ressources (en milliers de dollars)
Fournir aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes:

Un organisme de révision indépendant et impartial qui mène des enquêtes sur les problèmes des délinquants liés aux décisions, recommandations, actes ou omissions qui proviennent du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC).
  • Un processus de révisions de toutes les plaintes formulées par ou au nom des délinquants fédéraux qui est efficace, complet, impartial et indépendant.
  • Un bureau qui est accessible aux délinquants et à tous les autres partis voulant formuler une plainte en leur nom.
  • Un processus de révision de toutes les enquêtes du SCC, ayant été convoquées suite à l'article 19 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition (lorsqu'un détenu meurt ou subit des blessures graves), qui est efficace, complet, impartial et indépendant.
  • Un leadership évident aux niveaux de l'identification et de la résolution des problèmes systémiques et des questions actuelles dans le domaine correctionnel.
  • Une stratégie de communications dynamique, polymorphe et sensible aux besoins de la clientèle visée.
  • La confiance et la compréhension du public canadien, incluant des délinquants fédéraux vis-à-vis le rôle, le mandat et les services du Bureau.
  • Les résultats positifs des actions prises par le Service correctionnel du Canada en réponse aux constats et recommandations du Bureau.
  • Traiter de manière efficace, complète, impartiale et indépendante toutes les plaintes reçues des ou au nom des délinquants fédéraux.
  • Visiter régulièrement toutes les institutions fédérales et y rencontré tous les détenus désirant formuler une plainte.
  • Maintenir un service téléphonique gratuit pour les délinquants aux prises avec des problèmes urgents et pour faciliter l'accès au Bureau pour tous les Canadiens.
  • Revoir de façon efficace, complète, impartiale et indépendante les Enquêtes du SCC en vertue de l'article 19 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition et toutes les interventions des équipes institutionnelles.
  • Entreprendre toute autre activité d'enquête jugée nécessaire pour remplir son principal mandat.
  • Continuer d'informer les délinquants fédéraux et tous les autres canadiens de son mandat, son rôle et ses services par tous les média disponible, incluant son propre site internet.
  • Maintenir une relation ouverte, honnête, et professionnelle avec le Service correctionnel du Canada et ce, conformément avec notre protocole d'entente.
  • 2 100

2.3 Réalisations en matière de rendement

Ressources utilisées vis-à-vis les engagements en matière de rendement

Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel

Dépenses prévues
 
1,768,000
Autorisations totales
 
2,183,403
Dépenses réelles en 1999-2000
 
2,007,493

La fonction principale de l'Enquêteur correctionnel est de faire enquête de façon indépendante et tenter de résoudre les plaintes de chaque contrevenant. Le Bureau doit également examiner et formuler des recommandations sur les politiques et les procédures du Service dans la mesure ou elles se rapportent aux sujets de plainte des individus afin de s'assurer qu'on découvre et qu'on traite de façon convenable les sujets systémiques de préoccupation (i.e. transferts, gestion de cas, etc.). En faisant ceci, le Bureau vise à assurer au public canadien que le système correctionnel fédéral est géré de façon efficace, équitable et juste.

On examine toutes les plaintes déposées au Bureau et on procède à une enquête préliminaire afin de bien comprendre ce dont il s'agit. Après cette étude préliminaire, dans les cas où il est déterminé que la plainte touche un domaine qui est en dehors de notre mandat, on prévient le plaignant de la voie de recours appropriée et, au besoin, on l'aide à y avoir accès. Pour les cas qui relèvent de notre mandat, on offre au plaignant les détails des politiques et des procédures du Service ayant trait au domaine de la plainte. Si c'est nécessaire, on fixe un moment afin d'interviewer le contrevenant.

En plus de donner suite à des plaintes individuelles, le Bureau rencontre régulièrement les comités de détenus et d'autres organismes de contrevenants et deux fois par année fait une visite planifiée à chaque institution. Au cours de la visite semestrielle, l'enquêteur rencontrera tout détenu ou groupe de détenus sur demande.

TABLEAU 1

Entre le 1er avril 1999 et le 31 mars 2000, le Bureau a enregistré 5 427 contacts avec ou au nom des contravenants, une augmentation de 998 par rapport l'année précédente. Cette amélioration reflète la plus grande accessibilité du Bureau à la population délinquante. Cela souligne également que les délinquants continuent d'avoir confiance dans le Bureau, en tant qu'un recours viable pour la résolution de problèmes, et de plus, leur plus grande compréhension de notre mandat, rôle et resonsabilités.

Nombres de contacts avec ou au nom des contravenants

TABLEAU 2

Toujours au cours de l'année faisant l'objet du rapport, les enquêteurs ont passé 364 jours dans les pénitenciers fédéraux, soit 84 de plus que l'année précédente. Ils y ont effectué
2 881 entrevues avec des détenus, soit 668 entrevues de plus que l'année précédente.

Nombres d'entrevues effectuées avec les détenus

Tel qu'en fait foi les tableaux ci-haut, l'année fiscale 1999-2000 a été témoin d'améliorations significatives des indicateurs de rendements au niveau du mandat primaire du Bureau et ce, après des années de déclin graduel. Cette meilleure situation s'explique premièrement par l'augmentation budgétaire qui fut consentie au Bureau, la première depuis 1992, qui a permis l'embauche sur une base contractuelle de trois (3) nouveaux employés. Les gains en productivité découlant de la mise en oeuvre des recommandations du Vérificateur général, notamment aux chapitres du traitement de l'information relative aux cas, ont aussi contribué à l'essor du rendement global du Bureau.

Conformément aux recommandations de la Commission Arbour, le Bureau a revu 451 bandes vidéos relativement à des interventions par les Équipes pénitentiaires d'intervention d'urgente (EPIU) et autres documents relatifs à l'usage de la force comparativement à l'année précédente ou le Bureau n'avait revu que 243 dossiers de ce genre. Nous avons également revu 143 enquêtes effectuées par le Service correctionnel en vertu de l'article 19 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition. Suite à ces revues, le Bureau a formulé de nombreuses recommandations au Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC), dont plusieurs ont résulté en d'importantes modifications par le SCC aux chapitres de la gestion institutionnelle et des politiques, procédures et programmes correctionnels.

 

Partie III: Rendement Financier

3.1 Aperçu du rendement financier

Cette année fiscale a vu le budget du Bureau augmenter pour la première fois depuis 1992. Les fonds additionnels ont amenuisé les pressions ressenties par le Bureau au niveau des ressources en raison des changements législatifs et autres à son mandat, et de la mise en oeuvre des recommandations du Vérificateur général.

Trois nouveaux employés furent embauchés et les indicateurs de rendement au niveau du mandat primaire du Bureau se sont améliorés après des années de déclin graduel.

Les tableaux suivants sont ceux qui s'appliquent à l'agence:

Tableau financier 1

Sommaire des crédits approuvés

Besoins financiers par autorisation (en milliers de dollars)
Crédit
 
1999-00
 
 
Dépenses Prévues
Autorisations totales
Dépenses réelles
 
 

Bureau de l'Enquêteur correctionnel

(30)
 
Dépenses de fonctionnement
1568
1952
1776
(5)
 
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés.
200
231
231


 
 
Total pour l'Agence
1768
2183
2007

Tableau financier 2

Comparaison des dépenses totales prévues et des dépenses réelles

Dépenses prévues de l'agence par opposition aux dépenses réelles
(en milliers de dollars)
 
 
1999-00

Secteur d'activité
 
Recettes prévues
Total des autorisations
Dépenses réelles

ETP
 
17
17
17
Fonctionnement
 
1768
2183
2007
Capital
 
-
-
-
Subventions et contributions
 
-
-
-
Total provisoires des dépenses brutes votées
 
1768
2183
2007
Subventions et contributions législatives
 
-
-
-
Total des dépenses brutes
 
1768
2183
2007
Moins: Autres recettes et dépenses
 
 
 
 
Recettes non disponibles
 
-
-
-
Coût des services offerts par d'autres ministères
 
122
122
122
Coût net du programme
 
1890
2305
2129

Tableau financier 3

Comparaison historique des dépenses prévues et des dépenses réelles

Dépenses prévues contre dépenses réelles par secteur d'activité (en milliers de dollars)
 
 
1999-00
 
 
Données réelles 1997-98
Données réelles 1998-99
Dépenses prévues
Total des autorisa-
tions
Données réelles
Bureau de l'Enquêteur correctionnel
 
1398
1530
1768
2183
2007
Total
 
1398
1530
1768
2183
2007

 

Partie IV: Aperçu de l'Agence

4.1 Mandat

LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel fut établi en 1973 en vertu de laPartie II de la Loi sur les enquêtes. Cette base légale a été modifiée en novembre 1992 avec la promulgation de la Partie III de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition. Le mandat de l'Enquêteur correctionnel, tel que défini par cette Loi, est d'agir en tant qu'ombudsman pour les délinquants sous juridiction fédérale. LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel est indépendant du Service correctionnel du Canada et peut ouvrir une enquête par suite d'une plainte émanant de ou présentée au nom d'un délinquant ou d'un détenu, à la demande du Ministre ou de sa propre initiative. L'Enquêteur correctionnel doit présenter un rapport annuel par l'entremise du Solliciteur général devant chaque chambre du Parlement.

De plus, l'article 19 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition exige que le Service correctionnel du Canada effectue une enquête "en cas de décès ou de blessure grave d'un délinquant" et fait parvenir une copie du rapport à l'Enquêteur correctionnel.

4.2 Énoncé de mission

LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel doit maintenir une voie de recours accessible et indépendante pour les plaintes des contrevenants et formuler des recommandations en temps opportun au Commissaire du Service correctionnel du Canada et au Solliciteur général sur les questions qui ont fait l'objet de plaintes.

4.3 Cadre de fonctionnement

LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel a seulement un secteur d'activité qui, comme détaillé à l'article 167 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, est d'enquêter sur les problèmes des délinquants liés aux décisions, recommandations, actes ou omissions qui proviennent du Commissaire du Service correctionnel du Canada ou d'une personne sous son autorité ou exerçant des fonctions en son nom qui affectent les délinquants individuellement ou en groupe.

LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel est dirigé par l'Enquêteur correctionnel qui se rapporte au Parlement par l'entremise du Solliciteur général. Les ressources de l'agence consistent en 17 "équivalents temps plein", 10 desquels forment le personnel enquêteur. Les ressources totales sont 2 183 000$ pour l'année fiscale 1999-2000.

4.4 Organigramme

Organigramme

Partie V: Autres renseignements

5.1 Personnes ressources pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires et site web du Bureau

Nom
Titre
Adresse
No de tél.
No de téléc.
 
R.L. Stewart
Enquêteur correctionnel
275 rue Slater
Pièce 402
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1P 5H9
(613) 990-2689
(613) 990-9091
 
Ed McIsaac
Directeur exécutif
275 rue Slater
Pièce 402
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1P 5H9
(613) 990-2691
(613) 990-9091

Le site internet du Bureau: www.oci-bec.gc.ca

5.2 Lois appliquées et règlements connexes

Partie III - Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous conditions (L.R.C., 1992, ch.20).

5.3 Rapports prévus par la loi et autres rapports ministériels

Rapport annuel de l'Enquêteur correctionnel.