ARCHIVED - OFFICE OF THE CORRECTIONAL INVESTIGATOR
DEPARTMENTAL PERFORMANCE REPORT

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For the
period ending
March 31, 1999

Lawrence MacAulay, P.C., M.P.
Solicitor General of Canada

 


TABLE OF CONTENTS

Section I: Message

1.1 Correctional Investigator's Message

Section II: Overview of the Agency

2.1 Mandate
2.2 Mission Statement
2.3 Operating Environment
2.4 Objective
2.5 Strategic Priorities
2.6 Agency Organization
2.7 Organization Chart

Section III: Agency Performance

3.1 Performance Expectations

Chart of Key Results and Committments

3.2 Performance Accomplishments

Section IV: Consolidated Reporting

4.1 Year 2000 Readiness

Section V: Financial Performance

5.1 Financial Performance Overview

Section VI: Other Information



Section I: Message

1.1 Correctional Investigator's Message

I am mandated as an Ombudsman for federal corrections. The Office carries out this function within an environment that has traditionally been closed to public scrutiny with a high level of mistrust between the keepers and the kept.

I am firmly committed to the Ombudsman concept and believe that the provisions of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act provide for a process through which the vast majority of individual and systemic concerns can be reasonably addressed. It is important for all parties to appreciate that the Correctional Investigator is neither an agent of the Correctional Service of Canada nor the advocate of every complainant or interest group that lodges a complaint. I am mandated to investigate complaints from an independent and neutral position and in cases where there is evidence of unfairness, make appropriate recommendations concerning corrective action.

This past year has been eventful for all parties involved in Federal Corrections. In addition to our participation in the legislative review of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, we initiated a review of our operations in response to the Auditor General's December 1997 report. The Office has taken a number of steps to address the report's findings and recommendations and I am confident that our operations are consistent with our mandate.

I look forward to the challenges of the coming years and anticipate a continued open and cooperative working relationship with our partners in the corrections field so as to ensure that offender concerns are addressed within an environment that promotes openness, accountability and fairness in decision making.

 

R.L. Stewart
Correctional Investigator


Section II: Overview of the Agency

2.1 Mandate

The Office of the Correctional Investigator was established in 1973 pursuant to Part II of the Inquiries Act. With the proclamation in November 1992 of Part III of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, this is now the enabling legislation. The mandate of the Correctional Investigator, as defined by this legislation, is to function as an Ombudsman for federal offenders. The Correctional Investigator is independent of the Correctional Service of Canada and may initiate an investigation on receipt of a complaint by or on behalf of an offender, at the request of the Minister or on his own initiative. The Correctional Investigator is required by legislation to report annually through the Solicitor General to both Houses of Parliament.

In addition, Section 19 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act requires that the Correctional Service of Canada "where an inmate dies or suffers serious bodily injury" conduct an investigation and provide a copy of the report to the Correctional Investigator.

The Office of the Correctional Investigator is headed by the Correctional Investigator who reports to Parliament through the Solicitor General. The Agency's resources provide for 17 full-time equivalents, 10 of which make up the investigative staff. The total resources are $1,540,000 for the fiscal year 1998-1999.

2.2 Mission Statement

The Office of the Correctional Investigator is committed to maintaining an accessible independent avenue of redress for offender complaints and to provide timely recommendations to the Commissioner of the Correctional Service of Canada and the Solicitor General which address the areas of concern raised on complaint.

2.3 Operating Environment

It is difficult for the Office of the Correctional Investigator to accurately project the workload as it is determined mainly by the number of complaints received by the Office and the complexity of the reviews associated with these complaints, requests from the Solicitor General and the number of Investigations completed by the Correctional Service of Canada pursuant to Section 19 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act.

Among other factors which have and will likely continue to impact on the Office's operations is the growth of the federal offender population and the significant increase in the number of penal institutions, notably with regard to Federally Sentenced Women's

facilities. Finally, the quality and timeliness of actions taken by the Correctional Service in response to the Office's findings and recommendations will remain of paramount importance.

2.4 Objective

To act as an Ombudsman on behalf of offenders by thoroughly and objectively reviewing a wide spectrum of administrative actions and presenting findings and recommendations to an equally broad spectrum of decision makers, inclusive of Parliament.

2.5 Strategic Priorities

  • Improve management practices and operations strategies;
  • Increase awareness of the Office of the Correctional Investigator's mandate;
  • Establish a more effective process, in cooperation with the Correctional Service of Canada, for resolving both individual and systemic areas of concern.

2.6 Agency Organization

Business Line - Office of the Correctional Investigator

The Office of the Correctional Investigator has one Business Line which, as detailed in Section 167 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, is to conduct investigations into the problems of offenders related to decisions, recommendations acts or omissions of the Commissioner of Corrections or any person under the control and management of, or performing service for or on behalf of the Commissioner of Corrections that affects offenders either individually or as a group.

2.7 Organization Chart

 

Organization Chart

 

Section III: Agency Performance

3.1 Performance Expectations

Chart of Key Results and Committments
To provide Canadians with:
 
an independent and impartial review agency to investigate problems of federal offenders related to decisions, recommendations, acts or omissions of the Correctional Service of Canada.
to be demonstrated by:
  • the number of offenders using the services of the Office
  • the Office's accessibility to the offender population
  • the offender population's confidence in and understanding of the Office
  • the opinions of government and non-government agencies involved in federal corrections
  • the results of the actions taken by the Correctional Service in response to the Office's findings and recommendations
achievement reported in:
  • DPR Section 3.2, pages 8-10

In response to a report by the Auditor General of Canada in December 1997, the Office addressed the following performance recommendations, in keeping with its strategic priorities:

  • Improved management practices and operations strategies;
  • Increased public awareness of the Office of the Correctional Investigator's mandate;
  • Establishment of a more effective process, in cooperation with the Correctional Service of Canada, for resolving both individual and systemic areas of concern.

3.2 Performance Accomplishments

Resources Utilized Towards Accomplishments
Office of the Correctional Investigator

Planned Spending
$1 484 000
Total Authorities
$1 540 000
1998-99 Actuals
$1 530 000

The main function of the Office is the investigation of complaints lodged against the Correctional Service of Canada by persons under its jurisdiction. The primary function of the Correctional Investigator is to investigate and bring resolution to individual offender complaints. The Office as well has a responsibility to review and make recommendations on the Service's policies and procedures associated with the areas of individual complaint to ensure that systemic areas of concern are identified and appropriately addressed (i.e. transfers, case management, etc.). In so doing the Office aims to assure the Canadian public that the federal correctional system is managed efficiently, equitably and fairly.

All complaints received by the Office are reviewed and initial inquiries made to the extent necessary to obtain a clear understanding of the issue in question. After this initial review, in those cases where it is determined that the area of complaint is outside our mandate, the complainant is advised of the appropriate avenue of redress and assisted when necessary in accessing that avenue. For those cases that are within our mandate, the complainant is provided with a detailing of the Service's policies and procedures associated with the area of complaint. Where deemed necessary, an interview is arranged with the offender.

In addition to responding to individual complaints, the Office meets regularly with inmate committees and other offender organizations and makes announced visits bi-annually at each institution during which the investigator will meet with any inmate, or group of inmates, upon request.

TABLE 1

From 1 April 1998 to 31 March 1999, the Office received a total of 4,529 complaints from or on behalf of offenders, a reduction of some 900 from the previous fiscal year.

Table 1-Number of complaints received from or on behalf of offenders

TABLE 2

Also, in the course of the present reporting year, the Office's investigative staff spent 280 days at federal penitentiaries and conducted 2,213 interviews with inmates, some 700 interviews less than in the previous year.

Table 2-Interviews conducted with offenders

These decreases reflect the Office's growing obligation to divert its already limited resources to non-investigative endeavors. In order to comply with the recommendations of the Arbour Commission, the Office reviewed 243 Institutional Emergency Response Team (IERT) videotapes and supporting documentation, compared to 120 during the previous year. We also reviewed 131 Correctional Service Investigation reports pursuant to section 19 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act (CCRA). Further to these reviews, the Office formulated a significant number of recommendations to the Correctional Service of Canada.

In addition, the Office has been actively involved in the legislative review of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, inclusive of the public consultation process.

During the past year, the Office has as well invested considerable resources in responding to the Auditor General's recommendations implementing the Auditor General's recommendations. The Office has finalized a Policy and Procedures Manual which more clearly details our investigative process and links that process to our legislative responsibilities. A staff training program and adjustment to our data collection process have as well been initiated consistent with the policy and procedural changes. In addition, an information package has been developed which details both the Office's mandate and method of operation. This information will be forwarded to all federal penitentiaries and parole offices as well as community facilities which house federal offenders and will soon be available on our Website.

All of the above has been achieved with a budget that has not measurably increased since the promulgation of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act in 1992 (although Treasury Board has now provided some additional funds for the next fiscal year). This success is largely due to the creativity and determination of a very committed staff.

 

Section IV: Consolidated Reporting

4.1 Year 2000 Readiness

Year 2000 Readiness of our Agency's management information network has been thoroughly assessed and no significant problem area has been identified. From an internal perspective, we have determined that no Government Wide Mission Critical system is involved. However, we have, in compliance with central agency requirements and for our own purposes, prepared a detailed contingency plan.

 

Section V: Financial Performance

5.1 Financial Performance Overview

The resources afforded this Office have not increased measurably since the promulgation of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act in 1992, although the latter broadened the Office's mandate and other factors, detailed below, have subsequently added to an already very demanding working environment.

The Office is required by Section 19 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act to annually review approximately 150 security investigations conducted by the Correctional Service of Canada. As a result of the Arbour Commission (1996), it must also review every year a growing number of videotapes and the supporting documentation with regard to intervention by Institutional Emergency Response Teams (IERTs). Over the last six years, the Office has also had to contend with a significant increase in the number of federal offenders and of federal institutions, notably with regard to Federally Sentenced Women facilities (from 100 federally sentenced women in one institution in one region to 300 federally sentenced women in 11 institutions in 4 regions).

Additional pressures on its resource base flowed from recent recommendations by the Auditor General of Canada. The Office has had to again shift some of its focus away from is primary mandate to rewrite its policies and procedures, redesign its database, train its staff and elaborate a new communications strategy.

In an attempt to cope with these budgetary constraints, the Office has consolidated and revamped its travel practices to facilitate the use of cheaper airfares and decrease the frequency of our visits to some regions. The Office has also reduced from 5 to 1 the number of phone lines resulting in a significant reduction of its telephone costs.

In the final analysis, the Office's resources were stretched to their limit and beyond. The performance of the past fiscal year has only been possible because of extraordinary efforts by the investigative staff. Additional resources for the next fiscal year were recently approved by Treasury Board and should provide some measure of relief from these exacting conditions.

The following financial tables are those which apply to the agency.

Financial Table 1 Summary of Voted Appropriations

Financial Table 2 Comparison of Total Planned Spending to Actual Spending

Financial Table 3 Historical Comparison of Total Planned Spending to Actual Spending

 

Financial Table 1

Summary of voted Appropriations

Authorities for 1998-99

Financial Requirements by Authority (thousands of dollars)


Vote
 
1998-99
1998-99
1998-99
 
 
Planned Spending
Total Authorities
Actual
 
 

Office of the Correctional Investigator

1
 
Operating expenditures
1 484
1 540
1 530


 
 
Total Agency
1 484
1 540
1 530

Financial Table 2

Comparison of Total Planned Spending to Actual Spending

Agency Planned Versus Actual Spending (thousands of dollars)
 
 
1998-99

Business Line
 
Planned
Total Authorities
Actual

FTEs
 
17
17
16
Operating
 
1 484
1 540
1 530
Capital
 
 
 
 
Voted Grants and Contributions
 
 
 
 
Subtotal: Gross Voted Expenditures
 
1 484
1 540
1 530
Less: Respendable Revenues
 
 
 
 
Total Net Expenditures
 
1 484
1 540
1 530
Other Revenues and Expenditures
 
 
 
 
Non-respendable Revenues
 
 
 
 
Cost of services provided by other departments
 
200
200
200
Net Cost of the Program
 
1 684
1 740
1 730

Financial Table 3

Historical Comparison of Total Planned Spending to Actual Spending
Historical Comparison of
Agency Planned versus Actual Spending (thousands of dollars)
 
 
Actual 1996-97
Actual 1997-98
Planned Spending 1998-1999
Total Authorities 1998-1999
Actual 1998-1999
Office of the Correctional Investigator
 
1 264
1 398
1 484
1 540
1 530
Total
 
1 264
1 398
1 484
1 540
1 530

Section VI: Other Information

Contacts for further information and Agency web site *:

Name
Title
Address
Tel. No.
Fax No.
 
R.L. Stewart
Correctional Investigator
275 Slater Street
Room 402
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 5H9
(613) 990-2689
(613) 990-9091
 
Ed McIsaac
Executive Director
275 Slater Street
Room 402
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 5H9
(613) 990-2691
(613) 990-9091

* The Office of the Correctional Investigator does not have a web site at the present time.

Legislation and Associated Regulations Administered

Corrections and Conditional Release Act, Part III. (R.S.C., 1992, Ch. 20).

Statutory Annual Reports and Other Agency Reports.

Annual Report of the Correctional Investigator.

ARCHIVÉE - BUREAU DE L'ENQUÊTEUR CORRECTIONNEL
RAPPORT MINISTÉRIEL SUR LE RENDEMENT

Contenu archivé

L'information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour la période
se terminant le
31 mars 1999

Lawrence MacAulay, C.P., député
Solliciteur général du Canada

 


TABLE DES MATIÈRES

Partie I: Message

1.1 Message de l'Enquêteur correctionnel

Partie II: Aperçu de l'Agence

2.1 Mandat
2.2 Énoncé de mission
2.3 Cadre de fonctionnement
2.4 Objectif
2.5 Priorités stratégiques
2.6 Organisation de l'Agence
2.7 Organigramme

Partie III: Rendement de l'Agence

3.1 Attentes en matières de rendement
3.2 Réalisations en matières de rendement

Partie IV: Groupement de rapports

4.1 État de préparation à l'an 2000

Partie V: Rendement financier

5.1 Aperçu du rendement financier

Partie VI: Autres renseignements



Partie I: Message

1.1 Message de l'Enquêteur correctionnel

J'ai un mandat d'ombudsman dans le cadre du régime correctionnel fédéral. Le Bureau exécute cette fonction dans un environnement qui depuis toujours a été fermé aux regards du public et où l'on trouve considérablement de méfiance entre les gardiens et ceux qu'ils surveillent.

Je suis tout à fait convaincu de la valeur du concept d'Ombusman et je crois que les dispositions de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition présente un processus qui nous permet de traiter la vaste majorité des préoccupations individuelles et systémiques. Toutes les parties doivent comprendre que l'enquêteur correctionnel n'est ni un agent du Service correctionnel du Canada ni l'avocat de chaque plaignant ou de chaque groupe d'intérêt qui dépose une plainte. J'ai le mandat d'enquêter sur les plaintes de façon indépendante et neutre et, dans les cas où il y a des preuves d'injustice, de formuler des recommandations appropriées sur les mesures correctives à prendre.

La dernière année a été féconde en événements pour toutes les parties en cause dans le régime correctionnel fédéral. Le Bureau a participé à la révision législative de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition. De plus, le Bureau a initié une revue de ses opérations suite à un rapport du Vérificateur général en décembre 1997. Nous avons effectivement adopté plusieurs mesures relativement aux constats et recommandations compris dans ce dernier. J'ai donc l'assurance que nos opérations sont conformes à notre mandat.

J'envisage avec confiance les défis des années à venir et je crois que nous aurons toujours avec nos partenaires dans le domaine correctionnel une relation de travail ouverte et marquée au coin de la coopération afin qu'on puisse traiter les problèmes des contrevenants dans une atmosphère d'ouverture, de responsabilité et d'équité dans la prise de décision.

 

R.L. Stewart
Enquêteur correstionnel

 

Partie II: Aperçu de l'Agence

2.1 Mandat

LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel fut établi en 1973 en vertu de la Partie II de la Loi sur les enquêtes. Cette base légale a été modifiée en novembre 1992 avec la promulgation de la Partie III de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition. Le mandat de l'Enquêteur correctionnel, tel que défini par cette Loi, est d'agir en tant qu'ombudsman pour les délinquants sous juridiction fédérale. LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel est indépendant du Service correctionnel du Canada et peut ouvrir une enquête par suite d'une plainte émanant de ou présentée au nom d'un délinquant ou d'un détenu, à la demande du Ministre ou de sa propre initiative. L'Enquêteur correctionnel doit présenter un rapport annuel par l'entremise du Solliciteur général devant chaque chambre du Parlement.

De plus, l'article 19 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition exige que le Service correctionnel du Canada effectue une enquête "en cas de décès ou de blessure grave d'un délinquant" et fait parvenir une copie du rapport à l'Enquêteur correctionnel.

LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel est dirigé par l'Enquêteur correctionnel qui se rapporte au Parlement par l'entremise du Solliciteur général. Les ressources de l'agence consistent en 17 "équivalents temps plein", 10 desquels forment le personnel enquêteur. Les ressources totales sont 1 540 000$ pour l'année fiscale 1998-1999.

2.2 Énoncé de mission

LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel doit maintenir une voie de recours accessible et indépendante pour les plaintes des contrevenants et formuler des recommandations en temps opportun au Commissaire du Service correctionnel du Canada et au Solliciteur général sur les questions qui ont fait l'objet de plaintes.

2.3 Cadre de fonctionnement

Il s'avère difficile pour leBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel de prédire avec précision la charge de travail puisque cette dernière est essentiellement déterminée par le nombre de plaintes reçues par le Bureau, les demandes du Solliciteur général et le nombre d'enquêtes effectuées par le Service correctionnel sur le décès ou les blessures graves subies par les délinquants conformément à l'article 19 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition.

Parmi les autres facteurs qui ont eut et continueront vraisemblablement d'avoir un impact sur les opérations du Bureau, soulignons l'accroissement de la population de détenus sous responsabilité fédérale et du nombre d'établissements carcéraux, particulièrement pour les femmes. Enfin, la qualité et le caractère opportun des décisions prises par le Service correctionnel, en réponse aux constats et recommandations du Bureau, continueront de revêtir une très grande importance.

2.4 Objectif

D'agir en tant qu'ombudsman dans l'intérêt des contrevenants en examinant à fond et de façon objective un large éventail d'activités administratives et en présentant ses conclusions et ses recommandations à un grand nombre de décideurs, y compris le Parlement.

2.5 Priorités stratégiques

  • Améliorer nos pratiques de gestion et nos stratégies opérationnelles;
  • Accroitre la connaissance du mandat du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel;
  • Établir, en coopération avec le Service correctionnel du Canada, un processus plus efficace pour résoudre les préoccupations individuelles et systémiques des délinquants.

2.6 Organisation de l'Agence

Secteur d'activité -Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel

LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel a seulement un secteur d'activité qui, comme détaillé à l'article 167 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, est d'enquêter sur les problèmes des délinquants liés aux décisions, recommandations, actes ou omissions qui proviennent du Commissaire du Service correctionnel du Canada ou d'une personne sous son autorité ou exerçant des fonctions en son nom qui affectent les délinquants individuellement ou en groupe.

2.7 Organigramme

Organigramme

 

Partie III: Rendement de l'Agence

3.1 Attentes en matières de rendement

Tableau des principaux engagements en matière de résultats
Fournir aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes:
 
un organisme de révision indépendant et impartial qui mène des enquêtes sur les problèmes des délinquants liés aux décisions, recommandations, actes ou omissions qui proviennent du Service correctionnel du Canada.
qui se manifeste par:
  • le nombe de délinquants utilisant les services du Bureau
  • l'accessibilité du Bureau à la population délinquante
  • la confiance et la compréhension de la population délinquante envers le Bureau
  • les opinions des organismes gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux impliqués dans le système correctionnel fédéral
  • les résultats des mesures prises par le Service correctionnel du Canada en réponse aux conclusions et aux recommandations du Bureau
réalisation signalée dans:
  • RMR, paragraphe 3.2 pages 8-10

En réponse à un rapport émis en décembre 1997 par le Vérificateur général du Canada, le Bureau s'est attardé, en concordance avec ses priorités stratégiques, aux recommendations suivantes en matière de rendement:

  • amélioration de nos pratiques de gestion et stratégies opérationnelles;
  • accroissement de la connaissance du mandat du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel;
  • l'établissement, en coopération avec le Service correctionnel, d'un processus plus efficace pour résoudre les préoccupations individuelles et systémiques des délinquants.

3.2 Réalisations en matières de rendement

Ressources utilisées vis-à-vis les engagements en matière de rendement
Bureau de l'Enquêteur correctionnel

Dépenses prévues
1 484 000$
Autorisations totales
1 540 000$
Dépenses réelles en 1998-99
1 530 000$

La principale fonction du Bureau est d'effectuer des enquêtes suite à des plaintes formulées contre le Service correctionnel du Canada par des personnes sous sa juridiciton. La fonction principale de l'Enquêteur correctionnel est de faire enquête et de régler les plaintes de chaque contrevenant. Le Bureau doit également examiner et formuler des recommandations sur les politiques et les procédures du Service dans la mesure ou elles se rapportent aux sujets de plainte des individus afin de s'assurer qu'on découvre et qu'on traite de façon convenable les sujets systémiques de préoccupation (i.e. transferts, gestion de cas, etc.). En faisant ceci, le Bureau vise à assurer au public canadien que le système correctionnel fédéral est géré de façon efficace, équitable et juste.

On examine toutes les plaintes déposées au Bureau et on procède à une enquête préliminaire afin de bien comprendre ce dont il s'agit. Après cette étude préliminaire, dans les cas où il est déterminé que la plainte touche un domaine qui est en dehors de notre mandat, on prévient le plaignant de la voie de recours appropriée et, au besoin, on l'aide à y avoir accès. Pour les cas qui relèvent de notre mandat, on offre au plaignant les détails des politiques et des procédures du Service ayant trait au domaine de la plainte. Si c'est nécessaire, on fixe un moment afin d'interviewer le contrevenant.

En plus de donner suite à des plaintes individuelles, le Bureau rencontre régulièrement les comités de détenus et d'autres organismes de contrevenants et deux fois par année fait une visite planifiée à chaque institution. Au cours de la visite semestrielle, l'enquêteur rencontrera tout détenu ou groupe de détenus sur demande.

TABLEAU 2

Entre le 1er avril 1998 et le 31 mars 1999, le Bureau a reçu 4,529 plaintes des ou au nom des détenus, soit environ 900 de moins que pendant l'année fiscale précédente.

Tableau 2 - Nombres de plaintes reçues de ou au nom des détenus

TABLEAU 3

Toujours au cours de l'année faisant l'objet du rapport, les enquêteurs ont passé 280 jours dans les pénitenciers fédéraux. Ils y ont effectué 2,213 entrevues avec des détenus, soit environ 700 entrevues de moins que l'année précédente.

Tableau 3 - Nombres d'entrevues effectuées avec les détenus

Ces baisses reflètent l'obligation croissante qu'a le Bureau de détourner ses ressources déjà limitées vers des fonctions autres que les enquêtes.

Au cours de la période visée par le présent rapport, le Bureau a revu 243 bandes vidéo et la documentation connexe relativement à des interventions par les Équipes pénitentiaires d'intervention d'urgence (EPIU) et ce, afin de se conformer aux recommandations de la Commission Arbour. Soulignons ici qu'il s'agit d'une augmentation fort importante de la tâche, comparativement à l'année précédente au cours de laquelle le Bureau n'avait revu que 120 bandes vidéo de ce genre. De plus, le Bureau a revu 131 enquêtes effectuées par le Service correctionnel en vertu de l'article 19 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition. Suite à ces révisions, le Bureau a formulé de nombreuses recommendations au Service correctioonnel du Canada. Enfin, le Bureau a également participé activement à la revue législative de la loi susmentionnée et ce, incluant la phase de la consultation auprès du public.

Au cours de la dernière année, le Bureau a investi des ressources considérables pour mettre en oeuvre les recommandations du Vérificateur général. Le Bureau a finalisé un Manuel de politiques et procédures qui explique d'une façon claire et détaillée notre processus d'enquête et qui fait le lien entre ce processus et nos responsabilités en vertu de la Loi. Un programme de formation du personnel et les ajustements à nos méthode de collecte de données ont été entrepris et ce, en conformité avec les changements survenus aux niveaux de nos procédures et de nos politiques. De plus, du matériel publicitaire a été créer pour expliquer de façon détaillé notre mandat et notre fonctionnement. Cette information sera partagée avec tous les pénitenciers fédéraux et bureaux de libérations conditionnelles ainsi qu'à toutes les agences communautaires qui hébergent des délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale et sera bientôt disponible sur notre site internet.

Toutes les réalisations ci-haut mentionnées furent accomplies malgré un budget qui est demeuré sensiblement le même depuis la promulgation de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition en 1992 (bien que le Conseil du Trésor nous a maintenant accordé des fonds supplémentaires pour la prochaine année fiscale). Cette réussite est en grande partie le résultat de la créativité et de la détermination d'un personnel très engagé.

 

Partie IV: Groupement de rapports

4.1 État de préparation à l'an 2000

La Conformité à l'an 2000 de notre réseau d'information de gestion a fait l'objet d'une étude exhaustive et aucun problème particulier ne fut identifié. De plus, nous avons déterminé à l'interne que notre réseau ne comprend aucun système critique à la nussion à l'échelle du gouvernment. Néanmoins, nous avons, afin de satisfaire les exigences des agences centrales et pour nos propres besoins, préparer un plan d'urgence détaillé.

 

Partie V: Rendement financier

5.1 Aperçu du rendement financier

Les ressources allouées au Bureau n'ont pas sensiblement augmenté depuis la promulgation de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition en 1992. Soulignons toutefois que cette dernière eut pour effet immédiat d'élargir le mandat du Bureau et que d'autres facteurs, d'ailleurs ci-bas expliqués, rendirent ensuite son cadre de fonctionnement encore plus exigeant.

Le Bureau doit en vertu de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition revoir annuellement environ 150 enquêtes sécuritaires effectuées par le Service correctionnel du Canada. Suite à la Commission Arbour (1996), le Bureau doit aussi revoir 120 bandes vidéos et la documentation connexe relativement à des interventions par les Équipes pénitentiaires d'intervention d'urgences (EPIU). Au cours des six dernières années, le Bureau a aussi eut à composer avec une augmentation significative du nombre de détenus fédéraux et de pénitenciers particulièrement en ce qui a trait aux institutions pour contravenantes sous jurisdiction fédérale (de 100 détenues dans une institution dans une région à 300 détenues dans 11 institutions dans 4 régions).

Des pressions additionnelles sur les ressources du Bureau découlèrent des recommandations récentes du Vérificateur général du Canada. Le Bureau a dû encore une fois délaisser quelque peu son mandat primaire pour réécrire ses politiques et procédures, conçevoir une nouvelle base de données et élaborer une nouvelle stratégie de communications.

Afin de composer le mieux possible avec ces contraintes budgétaires, le Bureau a consolidé et réorganisé ses pratiques de voyage pour faciliter l'utilisation de tarifs aériens plus économiques et réduire la fréquence de ses déplacements vers certaines régions. Le Bureau a aussi réalisé d'importantes économies en réduisant de 5 à 1 le nombre de ses lignes téléphoniques nationales.

En dernière analyse, les ressources du Bureau ont été étirées à la limite et même au delà. Le rendement de la dernière année fiscale a seulement été possible grâce à d'efforts extraordinaires par le personnel enquêteurs. Des ressources additionnelles pour la prochaine année fiscale furent récemment approuvées par le Conseil du Trésor et devrait offrir un certain soulagement vis-à-vis ces difficultés opérationnelles.

Les tableaux financiers suivants sont ceux qui s'appliquent à l'agence.

Tableau financier 1 Sommaire des crédits approuvés

Tableau financier 2 Comparaison des dépenses totales prévues et des dépenses réelles

Tableau financier 3 Comparaison historique des dépenses prévues et des dépenses réelles

 

Tableau financier 1

Sommaire des crédits approuvés

Autorisations pour 1998-1999

Besoins financiers par autorisation (en milliers de dollars)


Crédit
 
1998-99
1998-99
1998-99
 
 
Dépenses Prévues
Autorisations totales
Dépenses réelles
 
 

Bureau de l'Enquêteur correctionnel

1
 
Dépenses de fonctionnement
1 484
1 540
1 530


 
 
Total pour l'Agence
1 484
1 540
1 530

Tableau financier 2

Comparaison des dépenses totales prévues et des dépenses réelles

Dépenses prévues de l'agence par opposition aux dépenses réelles
(en milliers de dollars)
 
 
1998-99

Secteur d'activité
 
Recettes prévues
Total des autorisations
Dépenses réelles

ETP
 
17
17
16
Fonctionnement
 
1 484
1 540
1 530
Capital
 
-
-
-
Subventions et contributions
 
-
-
-
Total provisoires des dépenses brutes votées
 
1 484
1 540
1 530
Subventions et contributions législatives
 
-
-
-
Total des dépenses brutes
 
1 484
1 540
1 530
Moins: Autres recettes et dépenses
 
 
 
 
Recettes non disponibles
 
-
-
-
Coût des services offerts par d'autres ministères
 
200
200
200
Coût net du programme
 
1 684
1 740
1 730

Tableau financier 3

Comparaison historique des dépenses prévues et des dépenses réelles

Dépenses prévues contre dépenses réelles par secteur d'activité
(en milliers de dollars)
 
 
Total des
 
 
Données réelles 1996-97
Données réelles 1997-98
Dépenses prévues 1998-99
Total des autorisa-
tions 1998-99
Données réelles 1998-99
Bureau de l'Enquêteur correctionnel
 
1 264
1 398
1 484
1 540
1 530
Total
 
1 264
1 398
1 484
1 540
1 530

Partie VI: Autres renseignements

Personnes ressources pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires et site web de l'Agence *:

Nom
Titre
Adresse
No de tél.
No de téléc.
 
R.L. Stewart
Enquêteur correctionnel
275 rue Slater
Pièce 402
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1P 5H9
(613) 990-2689
(613) 990-9091
 
Ed McIsaac
Directeur exécutif
275 rue Slater
Pièce 402
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1P 5H9
(613) 990-2691
(613) 990-9091

* À l'heure actuelle, leBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel n'a pas de site internet.

Lois appliquées et règlements connexes.

Partie III - Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous conditions (L.R.C., 1992, ch.20).

Rapports prévus par la loi et autres rapports ministériels.

Rapport annuel de l'Enquêteur correctionnel.