ARCHIVED - Backgrounder: Aboriginal Inmates

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Numbers Reveal a Critical Situation

  • Established in 1991, the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP) concluded that "the justice system has failed Aboriginal people," the key indicator of which was their steadily increasing and disproportionate representation in Canadian correctional facilities.
  • While Aboriginal peoples comprise 2.7 percent of the adult Canadian population, approximately 18.5 percent of offenders now serving federal sentences are of First Nations, Métis and Inuit ancestry (Correctional Service Canada, 2006.) Approximately 68 percent of federal Aboriginal offenders are First Nations, 28 percent are Métis and 4 percent Inuit.
  • This overrepresentation is particularly acute in the West, but it exists across Canada. In the Prairies, where Aboriginal peoples comprise a larger proportion of the general population, they account for a staggering 60 percent of offenders.
  • Aboriginal women are even more overrepresented than Aboriginal men in the criminal justice system, representing 30 percent of women in federal prisons.
  • While the federally incarcerated population in Canada declined by 12.5 percent from 1996 to 2004, the number of First Nations people in federal institutions increased by 21.7 percent. The number of incarcerated First Nations women also increased - by 74.2 percent over the same period.
  • Aboriginal youth are also overrepresented among criminalized young people. Research shows that Aboriginal young people are criminalized and jailed at earlier ages and for longer periods of time than non-Aboriginal young people.
  • In 2000, 41.3 percent of all federally incarcerated Aboriginal offenders were 25 years of age or younger. First Nations youth are the fastest growing demographic group in Canada, and it is expected that this will have a significant impact on the criminal justice system.
  • Should the current trend continue unchecked, the Aboriginal population in Canada's correctional institutions could reach the 25 percent mark in less than 10 years.

Factors Impacting the Overrepresentation of Aboriginal People in Prisons

  • The higher rate of incarceration for Aboriginal peoples has been linked to systemic discrimination and attitudes based on racial or cultural prejudice, as well as economic and social deprivation, substance abuse and a cycle of violence across generations.
  • As a group, Aboriginal offenders tend to be younger, are more likely to be incarcerated for a violent offence, have much higher needs (relating to employment and education, for example) and have had more extensive involvement with the criminal justice system as youths.
  • An extremely high percentage of Aboriginal offenders report early drug and/or alcohol use (80 percent), physical abuse (45 percent), parental absence or neglect (41 percent) and poverty (35 percent) in their family backgrounds. Twenty-eight percent of Aboriginal offenders had been raised as wards of the community, and 15 percent had been sent to residential schools. Aboriginal offenders also suffer from a higher incidence of health problems.

The Outcome Gaps for Aboriginal Inmates

  • The Correctional Service relies on risk assessment tools that have been repeatedly found to overclassify Aboriginal offenders unjustifiably. Aboriginal offenders are initially placed in higher levels of security and are placed in minimum-security institutions at only half the rate of non-Aboriginal offenders.1
  • Like their male counterparts, Aboriginal women are overrepresented in the maximum-security prison population, making up 46 percent of federally sentenced women in the maximum-security population, 35 percent in the medium-security population and 23 percent in the minimum-security population in 2003.
  • Placement in maximum security and segregation reduces access to programming intended to prepare inmates for eventual release and to increase their chances for successful reintegration into their communities.
  • Aboriginal offenders are admitted to segregation more often than non-Aboriginal offenders.
  • The proportion of full parole applications resulting in reviews by the National Parole Board is lower for Aboriginal offenders, due in part to high full parole waiver rates.
  • The grant rates at full parole for Aboriginal offenders fall below the rates for non-Aboriginal offenders. Aboriginal offenders are released and supervised on statutory release at a significantly higher rate.
  • Longer periods of incarceration and more statutory releases for Aboriginal offenders have contributed to less time in the community for programming/intervention than for non-Aboriginal offenders. There has been an increase in the number and percentage of Aboriginal offenders suspended/temporarily detained over the past few years.
  • The proportion of Aboriginal offenders under community supervision (31 percent) is significantly smaller than the proportion of non-Aboriginal offenders (41 percent) serving their sentences on conditional release in the community.
  • Parole is more likely to be revoked for Aboriginal offenders than non-Aboriginal offenders. The rate of revocation for breach of parole conditions (i.e., no new criminal offence) is higher for Aboriginal offenders.
  • Aboriginal offenders are re-admitted to federal custody (two-year post-warrant expiry date) more frequently than non-Aboriginal offenders, with a higher percentage of re-admissions for a Schedule I (violent) offence.
  • Aboriginal offenders continue to be overrepresented as a proportion of offenders referred for detention and detained compared to the other offender groups. In 2004-2005, Aboriginal offenders accounted for 30.4 percent of all offenders referred for detention and 30.7 percent of offenders detained, although they represent 18.5 percent of the federally incarcerated population serving determinate sentences.
  • Correctional Service's own statistics regarding correctional outcomes for offenders confirm that, despite years of task force reports, internal reviews, national strategies, partnership agreements and action plans, there has been no significant progress in improving the overall situation of Aboriginal offenders during the last 20 years.

Recommendations for Action

  • There are significant challenges in bridging the gap between traditional correctional approaches, and Aboriginal methods of justice and reconciliation. The ongoing support and involvement of elders, Aboriginal liaison officers, community representatives and Aboriginal organizations is viewed as key to closing the outcome gaps for First Nations, Métis and Inuit offenders.
  • Advocates for Aboriginal inmates have long stressed that Aboriginal people and Aboriginal organizations must be directly involved in developing and providing appropriate programs, and actively involved in the evaluation of current assessment tools used by CSC.
  • In his 2005-2006 Annual Report, the Correctional Investigator recommended that, in the next year, the Correctional Service:

- implement a security classification process that ends the overclassification of Aboriginal offenders;

- increase timely access to programs and services that will significantly reduce time spent in medium- and maximum-security institutions;

- significantly increase the number of Aboriginal offenders housed at minimum-security institutions;

- significantly increase the use of unescorted temporary absences and work releases;

- significantly increase the number of Aboriginal offenders appearing before the National Parole Board at their earliest eligibility dates;

- build capacity for and increase the use of section 84 and section 81 agreements with Aboriginal communities2; and,

- significantly improve (above the required employment equity level) the overall rate of its Aboriginal workforce at all levels in institutions where a majority of offenders are of Aboriginal ancestry.


1 Arbour Report (1996); Auditor General of Canada (2003); Canadian Human Rights Commission (2003); Cheryl Webster and Tony Doob (2004); Corrections Research Branch of the Department of Public Safety (2004).

2 Sections 81 and 84 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act provide for the direct involvement of Aboriginal communities in supporting timely conditional release.

ARCHIVÉE - Fiche d'information : Détenus autochtones

Contenu archivé

L'information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Les chiffres révèlent une situation grave

  • Établie en 1991, la Commission royale sur les peuples autochtones (CRPA) a conclu que « le système de justice a été un fiasco avec les Autochtones », et le principal indicateur étant leur représentation non proportionnelle sans cesse croissante dans les établissements correctionnels.
  • Bien que les Autochtones constituent 2,7 % de la population canadienne adulte, environ 18,5 % des délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale sont membres des Premières nations, des Métis et des Inuits (Service correctionnel du Canada, 2006). Environ 68 % des délinquants autochtones sous responsabilité fédérale sont membres des Premières nations, 28 %, des Métis, et 4 %, des Inuits.
  • Cette surreprésentation est particulièrement prononcée dans l'Ouest; elle est toutefois réelle dans tout le Canada. Dans la région des Prairies où ils constituent une grande partie de la population générale, les Autochtones représentent un énorme pourcentage, soit 60 %, de la population carcérale.
  • Les délinquantes autochtones sont encore plus nombreuses que les délinquants autochtones dans le système de justice pénale; elles représentent 32 % des délinquantes sous responsabilité fédérale.
  • Bien que la population carcérale au Canada ait chuté de 12,5 % entre 1996 et 2004, le nombre de délinquants membres des Premières nations a augmenté de 21,7 % dans les établissements fédéraux. Le nombre des délinquantes appartenant aux Premières nations a également augmenté de 74,2 % au cours de la même période.
  • Les jeunes autochtones sont également surreprésentés dans la population carcérale de jeunes délinquants. Les recherches montrent que les jeunes autochtones sont incriminés et emprisonnés à un plus jeune âge et ont une période d'incarcération plus longue que les jeunes non autochtones.
  • En 2000, 41,3 % des délinquants autochtones sous responsabilité fédérale avaient 25 ans ou moins. Les jeunes des Premières nations sont le groupe démographique le plus en croissance au Canada, et cette croissance est censée avoir des répercussions importantes sur le système de justice pénale.
  • Si rien n'est fait pour contrer la tendance, les Autochtones pourraient atteindre 25 % de la population carcérale générale d'ici dix ans, ce qui aurait des répercussions extrêmement graves sur les collectivités autochtones et le service correctionnel fédéral.

Facteurs influant sur la surreprésentation des Autochtones dans les établissements

  • Le taux d'incarcération élevé chez les Autochtones a été lié à la discrimination systémique, aux attitudes fondées sur les préjugés raciaux et culturels, à la privation économique et sociale, à la toxicomanie et à un cycle de violence qui se transmet d'une génération à l'autre.
  • Les familles éclatées et l'aliénation culturelle sont des caractéristiques communes aux délinquants autochtones. Au cours de ses audiences tenues dans toutes les régions du Canada, la CRPA a appris que 95 % des délinquants autochtones au Pénitencier de Prince Albert en Saskatchewan avaient été adoptés ou placés en famille d'accueil à un certain moment de leurs vies.
  • Un pourcentage extrêmement élevé de délinquants autochtones indiquent avoir consommé de la drogue et de l'alcool à un jeune âge (80 %), avoir subi des mauvais traitements (45 %), avoir des parents négligents ou absents (41 %) et avoir connu la pauvreté (35 %); 28 % ont été des pupilles de la collectivité, et 15 % ont été envoyés dans des pensionnats. Les problèmes de santé sont également plus fréquents chez les délinquants autochtones.

Écarts relatifs aux résultats chez les délinquants autochtones

  • Le Service correctionnel utilise des outils d'évaluation des risques qui, a-t-on signalé à plusieurs reprises, surclassent les délinquants autochtones. Ceux-ci sont classés à des niveaux de sécurité plus élevés, et dans des établissements à sécurité minimale la moitié moins souvent que les délinquants non autochtones.1
  • Comme leurs homologues masculins, les femmes autochtones sont surreprésentées dans la population carcérale des établissements à sécurité maximale. Par exemple, en date du 26 septembre 2006, les femmes autochtones comptaient pour 44 pour cent du total de femmes purgeant une peine de ressort fédéral dans un établissement à sécurité maximale et 44 pour cent de la population des établissements à sécurité moyenne, alors qu'elles comptaient pour seulement 18 pour cent de la population des établissements à sécurité minimale en 2003.
  • Le placement dans des établissements à sécurité maximale et l'isolement préventif réduisent l'accès aux programmes visant à préparer les délinquants à une éventuelle mise en liberté et à accroître leurs chances de réussir la réinsertion dans leurs collectivités.
  • Les délinquants autochtones sont placés en isolement préventif plus souvent que les délinquants non autochtones.
  • Le volume des demandes de libération conditionnelle totale qui font l'objet d'un examen par la Commission nationale des libérations conditionnelles est inférieur pour les délinquants autochtones, ce qui est dû en partie au taux élevé de renonciation à la libération conditionnelle totale qu'affichent ces derniers.
  • Le taux de la libération conditionnelle totale accordée pour les délinquants autochtones est inférieur à celui des délinquants non autochtones. Les délinquants autochtones font l'objet d'une libération d'office et d'une surveillance dans le cadre de ce type de mise en liberté à un taux considérablement plus élevé.
  • Les périodes d'incarcération plus longues et les libérations d'office plus nombreuses pour les délinquants autochtones écourtent le temps accordé aux programmes/interventions communautaires comparativement aux délinquants non autochtones. Le nombre de délinquants autochtones dont la liberté conditionnelle a été suspendue et qui ont fait l'objet d'une détention temporaire a augmenté au cours des dernières années.
  • Le taux de délinquants autochtones qui font l'objet d'une surveillance dans la collectivité (31 %) est considérablement inférieur au taux de délinquants non autochtones (41 %) qui purgent leurs peines dans la collectivité dans le cadre d'une libération conditionnelle.
  • Les délinquants autochtones sont plus susceptibles de voir leur libération conditionnelle révoquée que les non autochtones. Le taux de révocation pour inobservation des conditions de libération conditionnelle (c.-à-d. pas de nouvelle infraction criminelle) est plus élevé chez les délinquants autochtones.
  • Les délinquants autochtones sont réadmis dans les établissements fédéraux (dans les deux ans suivant la date d'expiration du mandat) plus souvent que les délinquants non autochtones, avec un pourcentage plus élevé de réadmissions pour des infractions avec violence mentionnées à l'annexe 1.
  • Les délinquants autochtones qui font l'objet d'un renvoi en vue d'un examen de maintien en incarcération et qui sont maintenus en incarcération continuent d'être plus nombreux comparativement à d'autres groupes. En 2004-2005, les délinquants autochtones comptaient pour 30,4 % du nombre total des délinquants ayant fait l'objet d'un renvoi en vue d'un examen de maintien en incarcération, et pour 30,7 % des délinquants maintenus en incarcération, bien qu'ils représentaient 18,5 % des délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale purgeant des peines de durée déterminée.
  • Les statistiques du Service correctionnel du Canada sur les résultats correctionnels confirment que, malgré des années de rapports par des groupes de travail, d'examens internes, de stratégies nationales, d'ententes de partenariat et de plans d'action, on n'a pas réussi à améliorer la situation générale des délinquants autochtones au cours des vingt dernières années.

Recommandations

De grandes difficultés empêchent de faire le pont entre les approches correctionnelles traditionnelles et les méthodes autochtones relatives à la justice et à la réconciliation. L'appui et l'intervention continus des aînés, des agents de liaison autochtones, des représentants communautaires et des organisations autochtones sont des éléments principaux qui contribuent à combler les écarts relatifs aux résultats relevés chez les Premières nations, les Métis et les Inuits.

  • Les groupes représentant des détenus insistent depuis longtemps pour que les peuples et les organisations autochtones participent directement à l'élaboration et à l'établissement de programmes adéquats et à l'analyse des outils d'évaluation utilisés actuellement par le SCC.
  • Dans son rapport annuel 2005-2006, l'enquêteur correctionnel a recommandé qu'au cours de l'année à venir, le Service correctionnel :

- mette en ouvre un processus de classement selon le niveau de sécurité, qui mettra fin au surclassement des délinquants autochtones;

- accélère l'accès aux programmes et services qui réduiront considérablement la période d'incarcération des délinquants dans les établissements à sécurité moyenne et maximale;

- augmente considérablement le nombre des délinquants autochtones dans les établissements à sécurité minimale;

- augmente considérablement le nombre de permissions de sortir sans escorte et de placements à l'extérieur;

- augmente considérablement le nombre de délinquants autochtones qui se présentent devant la Commission nationale des libérations conditionnelles à la première date possible;

- ait recours davantage aux accords conclus avec les collectivités autochtones en vertu des articles 81 et 84 de la LSCMLC, et établisse la capacité requise2;

- améliore considérablement (outre l'équité en matière d'emploi requise) le pourcentage de la main d'ouvre autochtone à tous les niveaux dans les établissements où la majorité des délinquants sont d'origine autochtone.

- 30 -


1 Rapport Arbour (1996); Vérificateur Général (2003); Commission canadienne des droits de la personne (2003); Cheryl Webster et Tony Dood (2004); Division de la recherche correctionnelle au ministère de la Sécurité publique (2004).

2 Les articles 81 et 84 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition prévoient la participation directe des collectivités autochtones aux services correctionnels, en vue d'une libération conditionnelle rapide.