ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES

The Correctional Investigator is mandated by Part III of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act as an Ombudsman for federal offenders. The primary function of the Office is to investigate and bring resolution to individual offender complaints. The Office as well, has a responsibility to review and make recommendations on the Correctional Service's policies and procedures associated with the areas of individual complaints to ensure that systemic areas of concern are identified and appropriately addressed.

The notion of righting a wrong is central to the Ombudsman concept. This involves measurably more than simply responding to specific legal, policy or technical elements associated with the area of concern under review or being investigated. It requires the provision of independent, informed and objective opinions on the fairness of the action taken so as to counter balance the relative strength of public institutions against that of individuals. When dealing with the findings and recommendations of an ombudsman's office, public institutions are expected to be fair, open and accountable.

The "function" of the Correctional Investigator, as defined by the Legislation, is purposefully broad:

"to conduct investigations into the problems of offenders related to decisions, recommendations, acts or omissions of the Commissioner (of Corrections) or any person under the control and management of, or performing services for, or on behalf of, the Commissioner, that affect offenders either individually or as a group".

Inquiries can be initiated on the basis of a complaint or at the initiative of the Correctional Investigator with full discretion resting with the Office in deciding whether to conduct an investigation and how that investigation will be carried out.

In the course of an investigation, the Office is afforded significant authority to require the production of information up to, and including, a formal hearing involving examination under oath. This authority is tempered, and the integrity of our function protected, by the strict obligation that we limit the disclosure of information acquired in the course of our duties to that which is necessary to the progress of the investigation and to the establishing of grounds for our conclusions and recommendations. Our disclosure of information, to all parties, is further governed by legal and security considerations and the provisions of the Privacy Act and Access to Information Act.

The provisions above, which limit our disclosure of information, are complemented by other provisions within Part III of the Act which prevent our being summoned in legal proceedings and which underline that our process exists without affecting, or being affected by, appeals or remedies before the Courts or under any other Act. The purpose of these measures is to protect the independence and impartiality of the Office and ensure the integrity of its Ombudsman function.

The Office's observations and findings, subsequent to an investigation, are not limited to a determination that a decision, recommendation, act or omission was contrary to existing law or established policy. In keeping with the purposefully broad nature of our Ombudsman function, the Correctional Investigator can determine that a decision, recommendation, act or omission was: "unreasonable, unjust, oppressive and improperly discriminatory; or based wholly or partly on a mistake of law or fact" or that a discretionary power has been exercised, "for an improper purpose, on irrelevant grounds, on the taking into account of irrelevant considerations, or without reasons having been given".

The Act at Section 178 requires that where in the opinion of the Correctional Investigator a problem exists, the Commissioner of Corrections shall be informed of that opinion and the reasons therefore. The practice of the Office has been to attempt to resolve problems through consultation at the institutional and regional levels in advance of referring matters to the attention of the Commissioner. While we continue to ensure that appropriate levels of management within the Service are approached with respect to complaints and investigations, this provision clearly indicates that the unresolved "problems" of offenders must be referred to the Commissioner in a timely fashion.

The legislation as well provides that the Correctional Investigator, when informing the Commissioner of the existence of a problem, may make any recommendation relevant to the resolution of the problem that the Correctional Investigator considers appropriate. Although these recommendations are not binding, consistent with the Ombudsman function, the authority of the Office lies in it's ability to thoroughly and objectively investigate a wide spectrum of administrative actions and present its findings and recommendations to an equally broad spectrum of decision makers, inclusive of Parliament, which can cause reasonable corrective action to be taken if earlier attempts at resolutions have failed.

A significant step in this resolution process is the provision at Section 180 of the Act which requires the Correctional Investigator to give notice and report to the Minister if, within a reasonable time, no action is taken by the Commissioner that seems to the Correctional Investigator to be adequate and appropriate. Sections 192 and 193 of the legislation continue this process by requiring the Minister to table in both Houses of Parliament, within a prescribed time period, the Annual Report and any Special Report Issues by the Correctional Investigator.

The vast majority of the concerns raised on complaints by inmates are addressed by this Office at the institutional level through discussion and negotiation. In those cases where a resolution is not reached at the institution, the matter is referred to regional or national headquarters, depending upon the area of concern, with a specific recommendation for further review and corrective action. If at this level the Service, in the opinion of the Correctional Investigator fails to address the matter in a reasonable and timely fashion, it will be referred to the Minister and eventually may be detailed within an Annual or Special Report.

In any given year, the Office receives and responds to 5,000-6,000 offender complaints. In addition to responding to individual complaints, the Office meets regularly with inmate committees and other offender organizations and makes regularly scheduled announced visits at each institution during which the investigator will meet with any inmate, or group of inmates, upon request. We had, over the course of this reporting year, in excess of three hundred meetings with various offender organizations, including inmate committees, lifer groups, black inmate associations, native brotherhoods and sisterhoods.

The areas of complaint continue to focus on those long-standing issues which have been detailed in past Annual Reports. A specific breakdown of the areas of complaint, dispositions, institutional visits and interviews are provided in the statistics section of the Report.

RÔLES ET RESPONSABILITÉS

L'enquêteur correctionnel est chargé, en vertu de la Partie III de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, d'agir comme ombudsman pour les délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale. Sa fonction première consiste à faire enquête et à s'assurer qu'on donne suite aux plaintes des délinquants. Il a également l'obligation d'examiner les politiques et les pratiques du SCC donnant lieu aux plaintes afin de cerner les carences systémiques et d'y porter remède; il doit également faire des recommandations en ce sens.

L'ombudsman est essentiellement un redresseur de torts. Cela signifie qu'il lui faut aller au-delà des aspects juridiques, pratiques ou de politique du secteur de préoccupation à examiné ou à l'étude. Il doit, en connaissance de cause, exprimer une opinion objective et indépendante sur le caractère équitable des mesures prises, en vue de contrebalancer, au profit des particuliers, la force relative des institutions publiques. Lorsqu'ils traitent avec les conclusions et les recommandations du bureau de l'ombudsman, les institutions publiques sont attendus pour être juste, ouvert et responsable.

La loi définit à dessein dans les termes les plus larges la « fonction » de l'enquêteur correctionnel :

L'enquêteur correctionnel mène des enquêtes sur les problèmes des délinquants liés aux décisions, recommandations, actes ou omissions qui proviennent du commissaire (du Service correctionnel) ou d'une personne sous son autorité ou exerçant des fonctions en son nom qui affectent les délinquants individuellement ou en groupe.

Une enquête peut être instituée en réponse à une plainte ou à l'initiative de l'enquêteur correctionnel, et ce dernier est seul habilité à décider si une enquête doit être menée et de quelle manière.

Dans le cours d'une enquête, l'enquêteur dispose d'une autorité considérable pour exiger la production d'informations, et il peut même tenir une audience officielle avec interrogatoire sous serment. L'intégrité de la fonction de l'enquêteur est protégée, et son autorité tempérée, par la stricte obligation qu'il a de limiter la divulgation des informations recueillies dans l'exercice de ses fonctions à ce qui est nécessaire pour faire avancer l'enquête et pour motiver ses conclusions et ses recommandations. De plus, la divulgation d'informations à toutes les parties est régie par des considérations juridiques et de sécurité, et les dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Ces dispositions régissant la divulgation d'informations sont consolidées par les dispositions de la partie III de la Loi qui empêchent quiconque de citer l'enquêteur à comparaître dans des poursuites judiciaires et qui portent que nos procédures ne peuvent ni compromettre les appels ou recours devant les tribunaux ou en vertu de toute autre loi ni être compromises par ces appels ou recours. Le but de ces mesures est de protéger l'indépendance et l'impartialité du Bureau et assurer l'intégrité de sa fonction d'ombudsman.

Les observations et les constatations de l'enquêteur correctionnel, à la suite d'une enquête, ne se limitent pas à déterminer qu'une décision, une recommandation, un acte ou une omission était contraire à la loi ou à la politique. Conformément au caractère délibérément général de son mandat d'ombudsman, l'enquêteur correctionnel peut déterminer qu'une décision, une recommandation, un acte ou une omission était « déraisonnable, injuste, oppressant, abusivement discriminatoire, ou fondé en tout ou en partie sur une erreur de droit ou de fait »; ou qu'un pouvoir discrétionnaire a été exercé « à des fins irrégulières, pour des motifs non pertinents, compte tenu de considérations non pertinentes, ou sans fourniture de motifs ».

L'article 178 de la Loi porte que, si l'enquêteur correctionnel est d'avis qu'un problème existe, le commissaire du Service correctionnel sera informé de cette opinion et de ses motifs. L'enquêteur a toujours eu pour pratique de tenter de résoudre les problèmes par la consultation au niveau de l'établissement et de la région avant de les signaler au commissaire. Même si nous allons continuer de nous adresser aux niveaux de direction compétents à l'intérieur du Service pour le règlement des plaintes et des enquêtes, cette disposition m'oblige à porter à l'attention du commissaire en temps opportun sur les « problèmes » des délinquants qui n'ont pas été résolus.

La Loi précise également que l'enquêteur correctionnel, lorsqu'il informe le commissaire de l'existence d'un problème, peut faire toute recommandation qu'il juge utile. Même si de telles recommandations ne sont pas exécutoires, conformément à son mandat d'ombudsman, l'enquêteur ne peut agir que s'il peut mener une enquête approfondie et objective sur toute la gamme des mesures administratives et présenter ses constatations et ses recommandations à une gamme tout aussi étendue de décideurs, ce qui comprend le Parlement, afin d'obtenir des correctifs raisonnables si les tentatives antérieures en ce sens ont échoué.

Une étape importante de ce processus se trouve décrite à l'article 180 de la Loi, qui oblige l'enquêteur correctionnel à informer le ministre si aucune action, qui semble à l'enquêteur convenable et indiquée, n'est prise par le commissaire dans un délai raisonnable. Les articles 192 et 193 complètent ce processus dans la mesure où ils obligent le ministre à déposer devant chaque chambre du Parlement, dans un délai prescrit, le rapport annuel et tout rapport spécial de l'enquêteur correctionnel.

La grande majorité des questions soulevées par les plaintes de détenus sont abordées au niveau de l'établissement, au cours de discussions et de négociations. Dans les cas où l'on ne parvient pas à les résoudre à l'établissement, la question en jeu est portée, selon le sujet de préoccupation, à l'attention de l'administration régionale ou centrale, avec une recommandation précise pour examen et mesure corrective. Si, de l'avis de l'enquêteur correctionnel, le Service ne prend pas, à ce niveau, des mesures raisonnables en temps opportun, la question sera renvoyée au ministre et elle pourra être exposée en détail dans un rapport annuel ou spécial.

Dans une année donnée, le Bureau reçoit et répond aux plaintes des délinquants 5000-6000. En plus de donner suite aux plaintes, les enquêteurs rencontrent régulièrement des comités de détenus et d'autres organismes de défense des délinquants, et ils font dans chaque établissement, réguliers des visites annoncées au cours desquelles ils rencontrent tout détenu ou groupe de détenus qui souhaite les voir. Au cours de l'année visée par le présent rapport, nous avons eu plus de 300 réunions avec diverses organisations de délinquants, y compris des comités de détenus, des groupes de détenus condamnés à l'emprisonnement à vie, des associations de détenus noirs et des fraternités et sororités autochtones.

Les plaintes portent encore sur des problèmes persistants dont nous avons fait état dans les rapports annuels antérieurs. On trouvera ci-après, dans la partie intitulée « Statistiques », la ventilation des plaintes, la suite qui leur a été donnée ainsi que des données sur les visites aux établissements et les entrevues.