FAQ's

Is the Office of the Correctional Investigator (OCI) part of the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC)?

No. Given its mandate to act as an ombudsman for offenders in the care and control of CSC, the OCI is a completely independent and autonomous agency.

What is an "ombudsman"?

An ombudsman is a person with authority to conduct thorough, impartial, independent investigations and to make recommendations to government organizations with respect to the problems of citizens. Normally ombudsman agencies investigate in response to citizen complaints but they can also investigate at their own initiative. In most cases an ombudsman is appointed by the legislature and can issue reports and recommendations to government officials and ultimately to the legislature.

The Correctional Investigator is appointed by the Cabinet and may report on individual investigations up to the level of the Commissioner of Corrections or the Minister of Public Safety. Our investigations concern the problems of federal offenders related to the conduct and decisions of Correctional Service of Canada staff and agents.

The Correctional Investigator's Annual Reports or Special reports (on urgent topics) are provided to the Minister of Public Safety, who must by law table them in Parliament.

The notion of righting a wrong is central to the Ombudsman concept. This involves measurably more than simply responding to specific legal, policy or technical elements associated with the area of concern under review or investigation. It requires the provision of independent, informed and objective opinions on the fairness of the action taken so as to counter balance the relative strength of public institutions against the individual. It as well requires responsiveness on the part of public institutions which is seen to be fair, open and accountable.

Can the OCI compel CSC to take corrective action?

No. As is the case of ombudsman agencies in most jurisdictions, the OCI only has the power to make non-binding recommendations. Generally, the OCI strives to resolve issues with the Service at the lowest possible level.

In the event that a solution cannot be agreed upon, the OCI can ask the Minister of Public Safety to review the matter or/and bring the latter to the attention of Parliament through a special report or its annual report. Special interest reports may also be publicly released.

Does the OCI have access to all information held by the Correctional Service of Canada?

Yes, the Correctional Investigator may require any person to provide any information that relates to an investigation. Investigators may enter and inspect any Correctional Service premises. The Correctional Investigator may hold hearings and examine witnesses under oath.

Why do offenders need an ombudsman?

The Office of the Correctional Investigator was established on the recommendation of an Inquiry into the 1971 riot at Kingston Penitentiary. The Inquiry concluded that inmates need an independent and impartial vehicle to resolve their problems in a timely fashion. We have been fulfilling this function ever since.

Our investigations promote the safe and humane custody and supervision of offenders in accordance with the law. As a partner in the criminal justice system we help to ensure the safe and effective reintegration of offenders into the community, contributing to public safety.

The safety of inmates and staff can be affected by disputes inside penitentiaries. Being able to conduct timely and relatively informal investigations, often on site in institutions, can allow us to resolve issues before they get more serious. Being independent and impartial enhances offenders' trust in our process and their willingness to raise problems with us.

We are not advocates for offenders or the prison system. We investigate from an impartial perspective and, if we decide a complaint has merit, we work toward achieving resolution of the problem.

FAQ

Est-ce que le Bureau de l'Enquêteur Correctionnel (BEC) fait partie du Service Correctionnel du Canada (SCC)?

Non, le BEC est, vu son mandat d'agir en tant qu'ombudsman pour les délinquants placés sous les soins et le contrôle du SCC, une agence pleinement autonome et indépendante.

Qu'est-ce qu'un ombudsman?

Un ombudsman est une personne autorisée à mener des enquêtes complètes, impartiales et indépendantes et à formuler des recommandations à des organisations gouvernementales concernant les problèmes des citoyens. Normalement, l'ombudsman entreprend une enquête suite à une plainte, mais il peut également le faire de sa propre initiative. Dans la plupart des cas, l'ombudsman est nommé par le corps législatif et peut émettre des rapports faisant état de ses constats et recommandations aux autorités gouvernementales et ultimement, au corps législatif.

L'Enquêteur correctionnel est nommé par le Cabinet. Il peut produire un rapport suite à une enquête au niveau du Commissaire aux services correctionnels ou le ministre de la Sécurité publique. Nos enquêtes portent sur les préoccupations des délinquants fédéraux relativement à la conduite et les décisions des employés ou agents du Service correctionnel du Canada.

Le rapport annuel ou les rapports spéciaux (sur des questions urgentes) de l'Enquêteur correctionnel sont remis au ministre de la Sécurité publique, qui doit par loi les déposer devant le Parlement.

L'ombudsman est essentiellement un redresseur de torts. Cela signifie qu'il lui faut aller au-delà des aspects juridiques, pratique ou de politique du secteur de préoccupation examiné ou une enquête. Il doit exprimer une opinion objective et indépendante sur le caractère équitable des mesures prises, en vue de contrebalancer, au profit des particuliers, la force relative des institutions publiques. Cela exige également de la part des institutions visées une réponse qui soit juste, transparente et responsable.

Est-ce que le BEC peut obliger le SCC à prendre des mesures correctives?

Non. Le BEC comme c'est le cas pour l'ombudsman dans la plupart des juridictions, n'a que le pouvoir de formuler des recommandations non-exécutoires. Généralement, le BEC s'efforce de traiter les questions litigieuses avec le SCC au plus bas niveau possible.

Si l'entente s'avère impossible, le BEC peut demander au ministre de la Sécurité publique de revoir la question ou/et porter cette dernière à l'attention du Parlement par le biais d'un rapport spécial ou de son rapport annuel. Rapports d'intérêt spéciaux peuvent également être rendu public.

Est-ce que le BEC a accès à toute l'information que détient le SCC?

Oui, L'Enquêteur correctionnel peut exiger de toute personne qu'elle produise toute information reliée à une enquête. Les enquêteurs peuvent entrer et examiner tout lieu appartenant ou sous le contrôle du Service correctionnel. Enfin, l'enquêteur correctionnel peut tenir une audition officielle avec interrogatoire sous serment.

Pourquoi est-ce que les délinquants ont besoin d'un ombudsman?

Le Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel fut crée suite à une recommandation découlant d'une Enquête effectuée relativement à l'émeute survenue au Pénitencier de Kingston en 1971. Une des conclusions de l'enquête fut que les détenus avait besoin d'un organisme indépendant et impartial pour enquêter et résoudre leurs problèmes sans délai indu. Nous assumons depuis ces responsabilités.

Nos enquêtes encouragent la garde et la surveillance des délinquants de façon humaine, sécuritaire et conforme à la Loi. Nous contribuons, en tant que partenaire dans le système de justice criminelle, à réintégrer les délinquants dans nos communautés de façon efficace et sécuritaire, contribuant à la sécurité publique.

La sécurité des détenus et du personnel peut être affectée par des disputes qui surviennent au sein des pénitenciers. Notre disponibilité pour effectuer des enquêtes sans délai indu et relativement informelles, souvent au pénitencier même, nous permet souvent de résoudre les problèmes avant que ceux-ci deviennent plus sérieux. Le fait que nous sommes impartiaux augmente leur confiance dans notre intervention et leur volonté de nous confier leurs préoccupations.

Nous ne sommes pas le défenseur des délinquants, ni du système correctionnel. Nous enquêtons de façon impartiale et si nous décidons qu'une plainte est valable, nous travaillons à trouver une solution au problème.