Office of the Correctional Investigator Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

As required by the Treasury Board Directive for the Management of Expenditures on Travel, Hospitality and Conferences, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the Office of the Correctional Investigator for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2012. It also provides the variance explanation from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by a government organization are related to supporting its mandate and the government’s priorities. In particular, for the Office of the Correctional Investigator, this includes the delivery of the following core program and services to Canadians:

The Office of the Correctional Investigator provides Canadians with timely, independent, thorough and objective monitoring of their federal correctional system to ensure that it remains safe, secure, fair, humane and effective. Essentially, its oversight role is to ensure that the Correctional Service of Canada carries out its statutory mandate in compliance with its domestic and international legal and human rights obligations. The mandate of the Office of the Correctional Investigator, as defined by the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, is to function as an Ombudsman for federal offenders. The Office of the Correctional Investigator is independent of the Correctional Service of Canada and may initiate an investigation on receipt of a complaint by or on behalf of an offender, at the request of the Minister or on its own initiative. The Correctional Investigator is required by legislation to report annually through the Minister of Public Safety Canada to both Houses of Parliament.

Total annual expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of the Office of the Correctional Investigator are summarized below:

Expenditure Category Expenditures for the year ending
March 31, 2012
(a)
Expenditures for the previous year ending
March 31, 2011
(b)
Variance
(a–b)
  (in thousands of dollars)
Travel - Public Servants $242 $235 $7
Travel - Non-Public Servants $6 $1 $5
International Travel by Minister and Minister’s Staff * N/A N/A N/A
Total Travel $248 $236 $12
Hospitality $7 $14 –$7
Conference Fees $10 $9 $1
TOTAL $265 $259 $6

Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year.

TRAVEL:

  • Public Servants: Compared to fiscal year 2010-2011, travel expenditures by public servants remained stable with an increase of 7K in this expenditure area.
  • Non-Public Servants: Compared to fiscal year 2010-2011, travel expenditures by non-public servants increased by 5K.

* The Minister or the Minister’s Staff does not travel as part of the Office of the Correctional Investigator’s program.

HOSPITALITY: Compared to fiscal year 2010-2011, hospitality expenditures decreased by 7K.

CONFERENCE FEES: Compared to fiscal year 2010-2011, conference fees expenditures remained stable with an increase of 1K.

Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences

Comme l’exige la Directive sur la gestion des dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l’information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l’exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Cette information est mise à jour annuellement et ne contient pas les renseignements non divulgués en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par une organisation fédérale appui le mandat de celle-ci et les priorités gouvernementales. En particulier, dans le cas du Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel, elles comprennent l’exécution du programme et des services de base suivants pour les Canadiens:

Au nom des Canadiens et Canadiennes, le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel (BEC) exerce en temps utile une surveillance indépendante, minutieuse et impartiale du système correctionnel fédéral afin de veiller à ce qu’il demeure sécuritaire, juste, humain et efficace. Ce rôle de surveillance vise avant tout à faire en sorte que le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) s’acquitte du mandat que lui confère la loi tout en respectant ses obligations nationales et internationales légales et en matière de droits de la personne. En vertu de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, l’enquêteur correctionnel a pour mandat d’exercer les fonctions d’ombudsman pour les délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale. Le BEC est indépendant du Service correctionnel du Canada, et il peut lancer une enquête par suite d’une plainte présentée par un délinquant ou en son nom, à la demande du ministre ou de sa propre initiative. L’enquêteur correctionnel est tenu par la loi de présenter un rapport annuel aux deux chambres du Parlement, par l’entremise du ministre de la Sécurité publique.

Les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel sont résumées ci-dessous :

Catégorie de dépense Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant le
mars 31, 2012
(a)
Dépenses pour l’exercice précédent se terminant le
mars 31, 2011
(b)
Écart
(a–b)
  (en milliers de dollars)
Voyages - Fonctionnaires 242 $ 235 $ 7 $
Voyages - Non-fonctionnaires 6 $ 1 $ 5 $
Voyages internationaux du ministre et du personnel du ministre* S.O S.O S.O
Total des dépenses de voyages 248 $ 236 $ 12 $
Accueil 7 $ 14 $ – 7 $
Frais de participation aux conférences 10 $ 9 $ 1 $
TOTAL 265 $ 259 $ 6 $

* Le ministre et le personnel du ministre ne voyagent pas dans le cadre du programme du Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel.

Écarts importants par rapport à l’exercice précédent

VOYAGES :

  • Fonctionnaires : Comparées à l’exercice 2010-2011, les dépenses de voyages des fonctionnaires ont augmenté de sept milles dollars. Les dépenses ont demeurés stables.
  • Non-fonctionnaires : Comparées à l’exercice 2010-2011, les dépenses de voyages des non-fonctionnaires ont augmentés de cinq milles dollars.

ACCUEIL : Comparées à l’exercice 2010-2011, les dépenses d’accueil ont diminués, de sept milles dollars.

FRAIS DE PARTICIPATION AUX CONFÉRENCES : Comparées à l’exercice 2010-2011, les frais de participation aux conférences ont demeurés stables avec une augmentation de mille dollars.