BACKGROUNDER
40th Annual Report to Parliament

Ethno-Cultural Diversity in Corrections: A Summary of Issues and Challenges

Overview

  • The Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) faces increasing challenges to accommodate ethnic, cultural, language and religious diversity.
  • Close to one-in-five (18%) federal offenders (community and incarcerated) is a visible minority.  This segment of the offender population has increased by 75% over the past 10 years.
  • Since 2006-07, the total offender population (community and incarcerated) increased by 1,539 offenders or 7.1%.  All new net growth in the offender population over this period can be accounted for by increases in Aboriginal (+793), Black (+585), Asian (+337) and other visible minority groups.  During this same time period, the total Caucasian offender population actually decreased (-466).
  • Though slowly declining, Caucasians make up the largest proportion of the offender population (62.3%), followed by Aboriginals (19.3%), Blacks (8.6%), Asians (5.4%), Hispanics (0.9%) and other visible minority groups (3.4%).
  • When combined, the number of Aboriginal and visible minority inmates now exceeds 6,000 of a total incarcerated population of approximately 15,000.  In other words, 40% of the inmate count on any given day now comes from a non-Caucasian background.
  • The growing proportion of visible minority offenders reflects an increasingly diverse, multi-ethnic and pluralistic Canadian society.  Nearly one in four visible minority offenders are foreign-born, many practice religious faiths other than Christianity and a number speak languages other than English or French in their home.  Facilitating institutional adjustment, meaningful participation in correctional programs and community reintegration for these offenders poses considerable challenges.      
  • Emerging demographic trends and patterns will shape and define who occupies federal penitentiaries for generations to come.

Case Study in Diversity

  • In 2012-13, the Office conducted a case study examining the experiences and outcomes of Black inmates in federal custody.  The case study included a literature review, data analysis and qualitative interviews with Black Inmate Committees, Black inmates, CSC personnel and community organizations and volunteers.  The findings of this case study are reported in the 2012-2013 Annual Report.  The full report is also available on the Office’s website (www.oci-bec.gc.ca). 
  • Black inmates are one of the fastest growing sub-populations in federal corrections.  Over the last 10 years, the number of federally incarcerated Black inmates has increased every year, growing by nearly 90%.  Black inmates now account for 9.5% of the total prison population, while representing less than 3% of the Canadian population.

Issues of Concern

Conditions of Confinement

  • On many indicators of correctional performance, visible minority offenders appear to fare better compared to the total offender population.  Over the last 7 years, on average, less than 5% of visible minority inmates have been readmitted within two years of their warrant expiry date.  There are however, important differences in these very distinct and diverse groups. 
  • As the case study on Black inmates demonstrates, Black inmates are over-represented in maximum security and segregation, incur a disproportionate number of institutional charges, and are more likely to be involved in use of force incidents.     
  • Discriminatory behaviour and prejudicial attitudes by some CSC staff are reported as common experiences for many visible minority inmates.  For example, Black inmates report stereotyping by CSC personnel that often labels them as gang members.  Black inmates report that their behaviours, actions or spoken communication appear to be assessed through a ‘gang lens’.
  • Diversity training that is integrated within the overall training framework and rooted in practical and operational experience and support is key to building awareness, sensitivity and cultural competency within CSC.   

Programming

  • The Case Study indicates that there needs to be increased attention given to the relevance, applicability and delivery of the current programming model.   Correctional programs need to be reviewed and updated from a diversity perspective and emphasis needs to be given to hiring and retaining more diverse front-line and program delivery staff in institutions which house the greatest proportion of ethno-cultural offenders.
  • Negative staff attitudes and stereotyping are perceived to create a barrier to prison employment for visible minorities.  Access to meaningful work opportunities and vocational skills training are important in preparing offenders for their safe and timely reintegration into the community. 

Cultural Programming and Services

  • Cultural programming, including community contacts , is an important complement to CSC programming in supporting rehabilitation and reintegration, but these opportunities are limited, offered on an inconsistent basis, and may have limited capacity for participation. 
  • The Case Study found that meaningful partnerships with external visible minority cultural groups are limited.  The support of external cultural groups can significantly impact reintegration success for visible minority offenders.      

Recommendations

  1. CSC develop a National Diversity Awareness Training Plan that provides practical and operational training in the areas of diversity, sensitivity awareness and cultural competency. This Training Plan should be integrated within the overall training framework.
  2. CSC establish an Ethnicity Liaison Officer position at each institution responsible for building and maintaining linkages with culturally diverse community groups and organizations, ensuring the needs of visible minority inmates are met and facilitating culturally appropriate program development and delivery at the site level.

DOCUMENT D’INFORMATION
40e  rapport annuel au Parlement

Diversité ethnoculturelle dans le milieu carcéral : résumé des enjeux et des problèmes

Tour d’horizon

  • Le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) a de plus en plus de défis à composer avec les questions liées à la diversité ethnique, culturelle, linguistique et religieuse.
  • Parmi les délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale (dans la collectivité et en établissement), près de un sur cinq (18 p. 100) est de minorité visible. Le nombre de délinquants appartenant à cette catégorie a augmenté de 75 p. 100 au cours des dix dernières années.
  • Depuis 2006-2007, 1 539 délinquants (une augmentation de 7,1 p. 100) se sont ajoutés à la population totale de délinquants (dans la collectivité et en établissement). On peut attribuer la nouvelle croissance nette de la population des délinquants au cours de cette période à l'augmentation de groupes autochtones (+ 793), noirs (+ 585), asiatiques (+ 337) et d'autres minorités visibles. Pendant cette même période, la population totale de délinquants de race blanche a plutôt diminué (- 466).
  • Quoique leur nombre fléchisse peu à peu, les délinquants de race blanche constituent la proportion la plus importante de la population de délinquants (62,3 p. 100), suivis des Autochtones (19,3 p. 100) et des délinquants de race noire (8,6 p. 100), asiatiques (5,4 p. 100), hispaniques (0,9 p. 100) et d'autres groupes de minorités visibles (3,4 p. 100).
  • Le nombre de détenus autochtones combiné au nombre de détenus appartenant à une minorité visible dépassent maintenant 6 000 au sein d’une population carcérale d’environ 15 000. Autrement dit, en tout temps, 40 p. 100 de la population carcérale est maintenant de race autre que blanche.
  • La proportion croissante des délinquants de minorité visible est le miroir d’une société canadienne de plus en plus diversifiée, multiethnique et pluraliste. Presque un délinquant de minorité visible sur quatre est né à l’étranger. Beaucoup adhèrent à des confessions religieuses non chrétiennes ou s’expriment en d’autres langues que le français ou l’anglais à la maison. Favoriser l'adaptation au milieu carcéral, la participation fructueuse aux programmes correctionnels et la réinsertion sociale dans la collectivité de ces délinquants présente des défis considérables.      
  • Les nouvelles tendances et constantes démographiques façonneront et définiront qui occupera les pénitenciers fédéraux pour des générations à venir.

Étude de cas sur la diversité

  • En 2012-2013, le Bureau a mené une étude de cas portant sur l'expérience et les résultats des détenus de race noire dans les établissements fédéraux. Celle-ci comprenait une analyse documentaire, une analyse de données et des entrevues qualitatives avec des membres des comités de détenus noirs, des détenus de race noire, des membres du personnel du SCC et des représentants d’organismes communautaires et des bénévoles. Les conclusions de l’étude de cas figurent au rapport annuel de 2012-2013, mais le rapport intégral est aussi accessible sur le site du BEC (www.oci-bec.gc.ca). 
  • Les détenus de race noire forment une des sous-populations qui augmente le plus rapidement dans les établissements correctionnels fédéraux. Au cours des dix dernières années, le nombre de détenus de race noire purgeant une peine dans un établissement fédéral a constamment augmenté, pour une hausse de près de 90 p. 100. Ils constituent maintenant 9,5 p. 100 de la population carcérale totale alors que les personnes de race noire représentent moins de 3 p. 100 de la population canadienne.

Sujets de préoccupation

Conditions de détention

  • Comme le montrent beaucoup d’indicateurs de rendement en milieu correctionnel, les délinquants de minorité visible semblent mieux s’en sortir que la population carcérale dans son ensemble. Au cours des sept dernières années, en moyenne moins de 5 p. 100 des détenus de minorité visible ont été réincarcérés au cours des deux années qui ont suivi la date d’expiration de leur mandat. Il existe toutefois d’importantes différences entre ces groupes très distincts et hétérogènes. 
  • Comme le montre l’étude sur les détenus de race noire, ces derniers sont surreprésentés au chapitre de la détention à sécurité maximale et de l’isolement, font l’objet d’un nombre disproportionné d’accusations d’infractions disciplinaires et risquent davantage d’être impliqués dans un incident de recours à la force.     
  • Selon beaucoup de détenus de minorité visible, certains membres du personnel du SCC adoptent couramment des comportements discriminatoires ou dénotant un parti pris. Ainsi, les détenus de race noire rapportent être l’objet de préjugés de la part de membres du personnel du SCC, qui, souvent, ne voient en eux que des membres de gangs. Ces détenus signalent que leurs comportements, leurs actes ou leurs communications orales semblent être analysés à travers une « lorgnette du gangstérisme ».
  • Une formation sur la diversité intégrée au cadre général de formation et ancrée dans les expériences pratiques et opérationnelles et le soutien sont essentiels à la sensibilisation aux cultures et à l’amélioration de la compétence culturelle dans les rangs du SCC.   

Programmes

  • L'étude de cas révèle qu'il faut examiner de plus près le modèle actuel sur le plan de la pertinence, de l'utilité et de la prestation des programmes. Du point de vue de la diversité, les programmes correctionnels doivent être examinés et mis à jour. Il faut aussi accorder davantage d’importance au recrutement et au maintien en poste d’une équipe de prestation de programmes de première ligne diversifiée dans les établissements qui accueillent la plus grande proportion de délinquants appartenant à des minorités ethnoculturelles.
  • Les comportements négatifs et les préjugés du personnel sont perçus comme un obstacle à l’emploi dans les centres carcéraux pour les membres des minorités visibles. L’accès à des perspectives d’emploi et à de la formation professionnelle valorisantes sont essentiels pour préparer les délinquants à une réinsertion rapide et en toute sécurité dans la société. 

Programmes et services culturels

  • Les programmes culturels, y compris les relations communautaires, apportent un complément important aux programmes du SCC pour favoriser la réhabilitation et la réinsertion, mais les possibilités sont rares et intermittentes et ne sont accessibles qu’à un nombre limité de participants.
  • L’étude de cas révèle une pénurie de partenariats valorisants auprès de groupes culturels externes de minorités visibles. L’appui de groupes culturels externes peut avoir des retombées majeures sur la réussite de la réinsertion des délinquants de minorités visibles.

Recommandations

  1. Que le SCC élabore un plan national de sensibilisation et de formation sur la diversité qui comprend un volet de formation pratique et opérationnelle sur la diversité, la sensibilisation aux cultures et la compétence culturelle. Ce plan de formation devrait être intégré au cadre général de formation.
  2. Que le SCC crée dans chaque établissement un poste d'agent de liaison à l'ethnicité dont les responsabilités seraient d'établir et de maintenir des relations avec les groupes et organismes communautaires de différentes cultures, de veiller à ce qu'on réponde aux besoins des détenus de minorités visibles et de favoriser l'élaboration et l'exécution de programmes qui tiennent compte des différentes cultures au sein de l'établissement.