BACKGROUNDER
38th Annual Report to Parliament

Summary of Issues and Challenges Facing
Older and Aging Offenders in Federal Custody


Overview

  • In Canada, and many other jurisdictions, the 50-year old benchmark is used to refer to aging or older offenders. The literature suggests that the natural aging process is accelerated by as much as ten years or more in an institutional (custodial) setting.
  • Close to one-in-five federally incarcerated offenders is aged 50 or over; 30% of federal offenders in the community are aged 50 and over. This segment of the offender population has increased by 50% over the past decade. At Bath Institution, for example, which is a medium security facility in the Ontario region, 35% of the total offender population is aged 50 or older.
  • The increasing proportion of older offenders behind bars reflects the changing demographics of an aging Canadian society. The median age of the offender population upon admission to federal custody is 33 years, which is increasing slightly each year.
  • An increasing number of offenders are entering federal penitentiaries later in life. In 2009-10, 20.3% of admissions to federal custody were offenders between the ages of 40-49 (up from 16.3% at the start of the decade).
  • In addition, the cumulative impact of policy, sentencing and legislative reforms (e.g. introduction of mandatory minimum penalties, elimination or tightening of parole eligibility criteria, expansion of indeterminate sentencing designations) means that a greater percentage of offenders are serving an increasing proportion of their sentence in custody rather than some form of community supervision.1
  • Today, 62% of the total federal offender population is incarcerated, while 38% is supervised in the community. The ratio between incarcerated and community supervised offenders is widening. The majority of federal offenders are now being released at statute (two-thirds point of the sentence) having never benefited from an early discretionary release of any kind (e.g. day or full parole, work release, temporary absence).
  • Other systemic barriers to community reintegration - e.g. limited access to programming, more complex offender profile, delays in preparing cases for parole review, decreasing parole grant rates - suggest that the proportion of aging and older offenders will continue to increase and accumulate inside federal penitentiaries.

Issues of Concern

Access to Programming

  • There needs to be increased attention given to the relevance, accessibility and applicability of the current programming model for older offenders. Older offenders may require specific accommodations in order to participate in correctional programming.
  • Older and long-serving offenders are often not considered as high a priority for reintegrative and rehabilitative programming or vocational training as younger offenders. As a group, aging offenders have different needs. Older offenders rarely access existing counselling, educational or vocational prison programs.
  • The structure and content of the current programming model, focused on 'intensity’ levels, 'employability’ and practical job market skills may have little relevance or meaning in the life status of an older offender.

Health Care

  • Canadian prisons are increasingly home to greater numbers of the infirm, the impaired and the aging. Older offenders use a disproportionate share of prison health-care services. Some aging offenders find it difficult to maintain normal everyday institutional routines (eating, dressing, hygiene) as a result of progressive physical impairment.
  • Aging offenders have higher rates of both mild and serious health conditions. Treatment of chronic diseases and illnesses associated with aging - including cancer, emphysema, dementia, diabetes and cardiovascular disease - often requires access to expensive outside medical facilities. Many older offenders will require palliative care as a result of terminal illness.
  • Relieving suffering and providing end of life care in a prison setting is an expensive endeavour, and often presents both ethical and operational challenges. A long-serving older offender may have few community ties or family supports outside of the prison walls.

Conditions of Confinement

  • Prisons were built to accommodate a young inmate profile. The physical design and infrastructure of a typical federal penitentiary are often not appropriate to the needs of aging offenders. Accessing fresh air exercise, participating in yard or gym or engaging in other regular social routines and institutional activities can be challenging for the mobility or sight-impaired.
  • Retrofitting institutions with special assistive devices and equipment to meet everyday housing, ambulatory, toileting, bathing and feeding needs of an aging offender population is expensive. New construction should have these needs taken into account.
  • Older offenders can be the victims of intimidation, muscling and bullying by younger, stronger and more aggressive inmates, which may deprive them of their physical safety and security. Segregating older offenders from the rest of the population for personal safety or institutional security reasons creates its own dilemmas and can result in further isolation and marginalization of an already distressed population.

Post Release Supervision

  • Section 121 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act allows for 'parole by exception’ release of a federal offender who is terminally ill. Such releases are rare. Even the most deserving of cases can be discouraged from applying as the referral and review process is complicated and lengthy.
  • Under the Criminal Code, the Royal Prerogative of Mercy, exercised by the Governor General or federal Cabinet upon recommendation of the Minister of Public Safety, is an exceptional provision that allows for a life-sentenced offender with a terminal illness to be conditionally pardoned and released to the community. In 2008, the Parole Board received 21 Royal Prerogative requests; none were granted.
  • The Office continues to see cases where the respective legislative criteria would seem to be met, but the applications were not considered, supported or prepared as diligently as they could be by the Correctional Service.
  • The result is that a number of terminally ill offenders are dying in federal penitentiaries each year, sometimes in tragic or less than dignified conditions.

National Older Offender Strategy

  • The Correctional Service lacks a specific and dedicated national older offender strategy. An Older Offender Division was created at CSC National Headquarters in 2000 and a policy group was tasked with making recommendations in support of a national effort, but both initiatives have long since been abandoned. None of the recommendations ever saw the light of day.
  • A national strategy is required to provide much-needed direction and reform in managing a significant, but often overlooked sub-population. Such a strategy needs to take account of the unique individual and group needs of aging offenders and include plans and resources to meet current and anticipated capacity demands in the areas of physical health care, accommodation, program development and independent care and living.
  • Special consideration should be given to pre-release planning and enhanced community supports to facilitate timely and safe reintegration of older offenders who pose no risk to public safety.

Recommendations

  1. The Service develop a more appropriate range of programming and activities tailored to the older offender, including physical fitness and exercise regimes, as well as other interventions that are responsive to the unique mobility, learning, assistive and independent living needs of the elderly inmate.
  2. Where necessary, CSC hire more staff with training and experience in palliative care and gerontology. Sensitivity and awareness training regarding issues affecting older offenders should be added to the training and refresher curriculums of both new and experienced staff.
  3. Where new construction is planned, age-related physical and mental impairments should be part of the infrastructure design, and include plans and space for a sufficient number of accessible living arrangements.
  4. The Service prepare a national older offender strategy for 2011-12 that includes a geriatric release component as well as enhanced post-release supports.
  5. The Service’s practices and procedures for preparing terminally ill offenders for 'release by exception’ consideration be independently reviewed to ensure CSC standards are being met and that cases are being prepared with appropriate diligence, rigour and timeliness.

Footnote

1. Approximately 3,200 offenders are currently serving a life or indeterminate sentence in a federal penitentiary. Most will eventually be considered an 'older’ offender before they are even considered eligible to apply for parole. The average time served in prison for first-degree murder in Canada is 28.4 years, greater than most other advanced democracies.

FICHE D’INFORMATION
38e Rapport annuel déposé au Parlement

Résumé des enjeux et des problèmes auxquels font face les délinquants vieillissants et âgés dans les établissements fédéraux


Aperçu

  • Au Canada, comme dans bien d’autres administrations, on utilise comme point de référence l’âge de 50 ans pour désigner les délinquants vieillissants ou âgés. Selon la littérature, le processus de vieillissement naturel peut être accéléré de dix ans ou plus en milieu carcéral.
  • Près d’un détenu sous responsabilité fédérale sur cinq est âgé de 50 ans ou plus. Il en est de même pour 30 % des délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale sous surveillance dans la collectivité. Le nombre de délinquants âgés a augmenté de 50 % au cours des dix dernières années. Par exemple, à l’Établissement de Bath, un pénitencier à sécurité moyenne en Ontario, 35 % de la population carcérale totale est âgée de 50 ans ou plus.
  • Le pourcentage à la hausse de délinquants âgés en prison est représentatif du vieillissement de la population canadienne. L’âge moyen des délinquants à leur admission dans un pénitencier fédéral est de 33 ans et augmente légèrement d’année en année.
  • Un nombre croissant de délinquants sont incarcérés dans des pénitenciers fédéraux à un âge plus avancé. En 2009-2010, 20,3 % des délinquants étaient âgés entre 40 et 49 ans au moment de leur admission (une augmentation de 16,3 % par rapport au début de la décennie).
  • Par ailleurs, en raison de l’effet cumulatif des modifications législatives et réformes en matière de politiques et de détermination de la peine (notamment la mise en place de peines minimales obligatoires, le resserrement des critères de libération conditionnelle, l’élimination de certaines formes de mise en liberté et l’élargissement du nombre d’infractions entraînant une peine de durée indéterminée), un pourcentage plus élevé de délinquants passent une plus grande partie de leur peine derrière les barreaux plutôt que sous surveillance dans la collectivité1.
  • De nos jours, 62 % des délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale sont incarcérés, et 38 % sont sous surveillance dans la collectivité. L’écart entre les deux s’élargit. La majorité des délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale sont maintenant mis en liberté à leur date de libération d’office (aux deux tiers de leur peine) sans jamais avoir bénéficié d’une forme quelconque de mise en liberté discrétionnaire (comme la semi-liberté, ou la libération conditionnelle totale, un placement à l’extérieur ou une permission de sortir).
  • Compte tenu des autres obstacles systémiques à la réinsertion sociale, notamment le manque d’accès aux programmes, le profil complexe des délinquants, le retard dans la préparation des cas pour les examens en vue d'une libération conditionnelle, et les taux d’octroi de la libération conditionnelle à la baisse, on peut supposer que le pourcentage de délinquants vieillissants et âgés continuera d’augmenter dans les pénitenciers fédéraux.

Sujets de préoccupation

Accès aux programmes

  • Il importe d’examiner de plus près le modèle actuel de programmes pour voir si les programmes sont pertinents, accessibles et utiles pour les délinquants âgés. Ces derniers ont souvent besoin de mesures spéciales pour participer à des programmes correctionnels.
  • Les délinquants âgés ou purgeant une peine de longue durée passent trop souvent après les délinquants plus jeunes lorsqu’il s’agit de suivre des programmes axés sur la réinsertion et la réadaptation ou des programmes de formation professionnelle. Les délinquants âgés, en tant que groupe, ont des besoins différents en matière de programmes. Ils ont rarement accès aux programmes en matière de counseling, d’éducation ou de formation professionnelle offerts en milieu carcéral.
  • La structure et le contenu des programmes correctionnels existants, qui sont axés sur les niveaux d’intensité, l’employabilité et le développement de compétences utiles sur le marché du travail, n’ont pas beaucoup d’utilité ou d’intérêt pour les délinquants âgés et leur vie.

Conditions de détention

  • Les pénitenciers ont été conçus pour une population carcérale jeune. Vu l’aménagement des lieux et les infrastructures physiques, un pénitencier fédéral typique ne répond pas aux besoins particuliers des délinquants âgés. Pour les délinquants malvoyants ou à mobilité réduite, il peut être difficile de prendre de l’air frais ou encore de participer aux activités dans la cour et le gymnase ou à d’autres activités sociales ou institutionnelles courantes.
  • Il est très coûteux de rénover les établissements pour y installer des accessoires fonctionnels spéciaux dans le but de répondre aux besoins quotidiens en matière de logement, de déplacements, d’élimination, de propreté et d’alimentation des délinquants âgés. Ces besoins particuliers doivent être pris en compte dans la construction des nouvelles infrastructures.
  • Les délinquants âgés peuvent être victimes d’intimidation par des détenus qui sont plus jeunes, plus forts et plus agressifs qu’eux, ce qui les prive de leur sécurité. Le placement des délinquants âgés à l’écart du reste de la population pour assurer leur sécurité personnelle ou pour des raisons touchant la sécurité en établissement crée d’autres problèmes et peut avoir pour effet d’isoler et de marginaliser encore plus un groupe déjà fragile.

Surveillance dans la collectivité

  • L’article 121 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition autorise la libération conditionnelle à titre exceptionnel au délinquant sous responsabilité fédérale en phase terminale. Or, ce genre de libérations est rare. Même dans les cas les plus fondés, il peut être décourageant de présenter une demande, sans compter que le processus de renvoi et d’examen est long et complexe.
  • Aux termes du Code criminel, le gouverneur général ou le Cabinet peut, à la recommandation du ministre de la Sécurité publique, exercer la prérogative royale de clémence, qui permet d’accorder un pardon conditionnel et la mise en liberté à un condamné à perpétuité en phase terminale. En 2008, la Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada a reçu 21 demandes en vertu de la prérogative royale de clémence, mais aucun pardon conditionnel n’a été accordé.
  • Le Bureau continue de constater des cas qui semblent répondre aux critères de la loi, mais les demandes n’ont pas été étudiées, appuyées ou préparées avec toute la diligence nécessaire par le Service correctionnel.
  • Par conséquent, un certain nombre de délinquants en phase terminale meurent chaque année dans des pénitenciers fédéraux, parfois dans des circonstances tragiques ou dans des conditions qui manquent de dignité.

Stratégie nationale pour les délinquants âgés

  • Le Service correctionnel n’a pas de stratégie nationale traitant spécialement et exclusivement des délinquants âgés. Il a créé en 2000 une Division des délinquant(e)s âgé(e)s à l’administration centrale et a chargé un groupe de travail de présenter des recommandations en vue d’appuyer un plan national, mais les travaux des deux groupes ont été abandonnés depuis longtemps. Aucune des mesures recommandées n’a été mises en place.
  • Il faut établir une stratégie nationale afin d’apporter les directives et les réformes nécessaires pour gérer ce sous-groupe important, mais souvent négligé, de la population carcérale. Cette stratégie doit tenir compte des besoins individuels et de groupes particuliers des délinquants âgés. Elle doit comprendre des plans et des ressources pour satisfaire la demande actuelle et future en matière de soins de santé physique, de logement, de programmes ainsi que des soins et des unités résidentielles visant à maximiser l’autonomie et l'indépendance.
  • Il faudrait porter une attention particuliére à la planification prélibératoire et améliorer le soutien dans la collectivité pour faciliter réinsertion sociale en toute sécurité et en temps opportun des délinquants âgés qui ne présentent aucun risque pour la sécurité publique.

Recommandation

  1. Que le Service crée une série appropriée d’activités et de programmes adaptés aux délinquants âgés, notamment des programmes de mise en forme et d’exercice, ainsi que d’autres interventions qui répondent aux besoins particuliers de ces détenus en matière de mobilité, d’apprentissage, d’aide à la vie autonome et de vie autonome.
  2. Que le SCC embauche, au besoin, d’autres personnes ayant une formation et une expérience en soins palliatifs et en gérontologie. Il faudrait ajouter des activités de sensibilisation et d’information sur les problèmes vécus par les délinquants âgés au programme de formation et de recyclage des employés chevronnés et des nouveaux employés.
  3. Que le SCC tienne compte, dans la planification des projets de construction, des déficiences physiques et mentales associées au vieillissement et prévoie l’espace nécessaire pour un nombre suffisant de places dans des milieux adaptés.
  4. Que le Service établisse pour l’exercice 2011-2012 une stratégie nationale pour les délinquants âgés qui comprend notamment un volet sur la mise en liberté pour la population gériatrique, ainsi que des mesures de soutien accru après la mise en liberté.
  5. Que les pratiques et les procédures de préparation des détenus malades en phase terminale à une « mise en liberté accordée à titre exceptionnel » soient examinées de manière indépendante pour vérifier si l’on répond aux normes du SCC et si cette préparation est faite avec la prudence, la rigueur et la rapidité voulues.

Note de bas de page

1. Environ 3 200 délinquants purgent actuellement une peine à perpétuité ou de durée indéterminée dans un pénitencier fédéral. La plupart seront considérés comme des délinquants âgés avant même de devenir admissibles à la libération conditionnelle. Un condamné pour meurtre au premier degré au Canada purge en moyenne 28,4 années en prison, plus que la plupart des autres démocraties avancées.