The Ed McIsaac Human Rights in Corrections Award

In 2008, the Office of the Correctional Investigator, Canada's federal prison Ombudsman, celebrated its 35th anniversary. Throughout the history of this small agency, it worked to keep up with increasing demands for its Ombudsman services and to fulfill its commitment to remain accessible and responsive to its clientele. Its story is one of perseverence in sustaining the integrity of its core mandate to address offender concerns, which at times has been difficult and unpopular. For 18 years, Mr. Ed McIsaac epitomized tenacity, determination and perseverence through his work and leadership as the Executive Director of the Office of the Correctional Investigator.

This award commemorates the work and dedication of Mr. Ed McIsaac and honours those who demonstrate a similar lifelong commitment to improving corrections and protecting the human rights of the incarcerated.

Mr. Ed McIsaac's actions continue to serve as an example to all those involved in correctional practice.  His relentless desire to uphold the human rights of prisoners was the force behind numerous reforms promoting social justice in federal Corrections.  Mr. McIsaac began his career with the Office of the Correctional Investigator in 1981, then became the Director of Investigation in 1986, and was appointed as Executive Director in 1990 - a position he held until his retirement in 2009.  Throughout his career, he inspired his staff and rallied support from various community organizations to defend against unfair treatment and to denounce systemic injustice in federal Corrections. During his impressive career at the OCI, he made countless recommendations which would improve correctional effectiveness, protect the human rights of offenders and enhance public safety.

The award is presented annually to a person or an organization. Award recipients are those whose social justice commitment and persistent efforts have contributed significantly to the advancement of human rights and correctional practice in Canada.

Upon his retirement, Mr. McIsaac was presented with a sculpture entitled Medicine Man. This work was created by Ms. Audrey Greyeyes, a Plains Cree artist from Muskeg Lake Cree Nation in Saskatchewan. It symbolizes wisdom, clarity of thought and leadership. Award recipients will receive a reproduction of the statue and a $250 cash donation will be presented to a charity of their choice.

Choosing the Candidates

The National Selection Committee consists of:

  • The Correctional Investigator, chairperson;
  • One voluntary sector representative (to be selected by the NAACJ); and
  • A representative of the Government of Canada (to be selected by the Ministry of Public Safety).

The Committee seeks candidates who meet the following criteria:

  • they are Canadian citizens;
  • leadership in human rights and Corrections have played a significant role throughout their career;
  • their efforts have significantly improved the treatment of offenders in Canada and consequently public safety;
  • they have demonstrated leadership, creativity, cooperation and hard work in advancing social justice in Corrections; and,
  • they have created effective partnerships with the public, the voluntary sector, local communities and/or governments to achieve their goals.

Nomination Procedures

A candidate for the Ed McIsaac Human Rights in Corrections Award may be sponsored by an organization, or individuals - whom are unrelated to the candidate.  The application must include the following information:

  • name, address and telephone number of the candidate;  
  • a Personal Release and Consent Form, signed by the candidate;
  • names, addresses and telephone numbers of the sponsor(s); and,
  • a detailed description of the candidate's accomplishments under each of the criteria, including relevant documents (e.g., publications, letters of support, awards, press clippings).

Candidates will not be considered posthumously.

This information must be submitted by June 1st to:

Ed McIsaac Human Rights in Corrections Award Secretariat
Office of the Correctional Investigator
P.O. Box 3421
Station "D"
Ottawa ON K1P 6L4

Privacy Notice

All personal information created, held or collected by the Office of the Correctional Investigator for the sole purpose of administering the Ed McIsaac Human Rights in Corrections Award is protected under the Privacy Act. This means that individuals will be informed of the purpose for which it is being collected and how to exercise their right of access to that information. Individuals will be asked for their consent where appropriate.

As it relates to personal information, the Office of the Correctional Investigator’s Personal Information Bank (Info Source) Record Number: OCI BEC 035 states

Purpose: Personal information is used to administer, determine eligibility, disburse funds in respect of and obtain views and opinions about the nominees for the Ed McIsaac Human Rights in Corrections Award. Personal information is collected pursuant to the Corrections and Conditional Release Act

Consistent Uses: The information may be used or disclosed for the following purposes: maintaining an inventory of nominees for the Ed McIsaac Human Rights in Corrections Award. Nominee information may be shared with any province or institution relevant to the nominee. Some information about recipients of the award is published on the Internet.

Retention and Disposal Standards: Records will be retained for 2 years after the nomination process is closed on June 1st of each year. No record shall be destroyed or disposed of before Library and Archives Canada has issued a records disposition authority.

Some of the information on this Web page has been provided by external sources. The Office of the Correctional Investigator is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information.

Prix Ed McIsaac pour la promotion des droits de la personne dans le système correctionnel

En 2008, le Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel (BEC) - l'ombudsman pour les délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale au Canada - a célébré son 35e anniversaire. Tout au long de son histoire, ce petit organisme s'est efforcé de suivre l'accroissement de la demande pour les services d'ombudsman et de remplir son engagement de demeurer à la disposition de sa clientèle et d'être attentif à ses besoins. Le BEC s'est montré persévérant pour maintenir l'intégrité de son mandat principal, qui consiste à répondre aux préoccupations des délinquants. En effet, à quelques reprises, le BEC a eu du mal à s'acquitter de son mandat et ne bénéficiait pas de la faveur populaire. Pendant 18 ans, M. McIsaac a personnifié la ténacité, la détermination et la persévérance dans le cadre de son travail et de son leadership à titre de directeur exécutif du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel.

En plus de souligner le travail et le dévouement de M. McIsaac, ce prix rend hommage aux personnes qui ont dévoué leur vie à améliorer le système correctionnel et à protéger les droits des détenus.

La façon de faire de M. McIsaac continue de servir d'exemple à toutes les personnes travaillant dans le domaine correctionnel. Son désir incessant de défendre les droits des détenus a été le moteur de nombreuses réformes faisant la promotion de la justice sociale au sein du système correctionnel fédéral. M. McIsaac a commencé sa carrière au Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel en 1981. Il est ensuite devenu directeur des enquêtes en 1986, puis a été nommé directeur exécutif en 1990, poste qu'il a occupé jusqu'à sa retraite, en 2009. Tout au long de sa carrière, il a inspiré son personnel et a mobilisé divers organismes communautaires à se défendre contre les traitements injustes et à dénoncer les injustices systémiques au sein du système correctionnel fédéral. Pendant ses impressionnantes années de service au BEC, il a formulé d'innombrables recommandations qui ont permis d'améliorer l'efficacité du système correctionnel, de protéger les droits des délinquants et de renforcer la sécurité publique.

Chaque année, le prix est décerné à une personne ou à un organisme dont l'engagement sur le plan de la justice sociale et les efforts incessants ont contribué grandement à l'avancement des droits de la personne et à la pratique correctionnelle au Canada.

Lorsque M. McIsaac a pris sa retraite, on lui a remis une sculpture intitulée Medicine Man (Le guérisseur). Cette sculpture a été réalisée par Mme Audrey Greyeyes, une artiste autochtone de la Nation Plains Cree du Lac Muskeg en Saskatchewan. Elle représente la sagesse, la clarté de pensées et le leadership. Les lauréats recevront une reproduction de cette sculpture, et une somme de 250 $ sera remise à l'organisme de bienfaisance de leur choix.

Choix des candidats

Le comité national de sélection sera composé des membres suivants :

  • l'enquêteur correctionnel, président;
  • un représentant du secteur bénévole (sera désigné par l'ANIJC);
  • un représentant du gouvernement du Canada (sera désigné par le ministère de la Sécurité publique).

Le comité étudiera les candidatures des personnes qui répondent aux critères suivants :

  • elles sont citoyennes canadiennes;
  • le leadership dont elles ont fait preuve dans la promotion des droits de la personne au système correctionnel représente un aspect important dans l'ensemble de leur carrière;
  • les efforts qu'elles ont déployés ont considérablement amélioré le traitement des délinquants au Canada, et par conséquent, la sécurité publique;
  • en plus de faire preuve de leadership et de créativité, elles ont travaillé en collaboration et de façon acharnée afin de promouvoir la justice sociale dans le système correctionnel;
  • elles ont formé des partenariats efficaces avec le public, le secteur bénévole, les collectivités locales et les gouvernements pour atteindre leurs objectifs.

Mises en candidature

Les candidats peuvent être parrainés par un organisme ou des personnes avec lesquelles les candidats n'ont aucun lien de parenté. La demande doit comporter les renseignements suivants :

  • nom, adresse et numéro de téléphone du candidat;  
  • un formulaire d'autorisation et de consentement signé par le candidat;
  • les noms, adresses et numéros de téléphone des parrains;
  • une description détaillée des réalisations du candidat pour chacun des critères de sélection et documents pertinents à l'appui (p. ex. publications, lettres d'appui, prix, coupures de journaux).

Les candidatures à titre posthume ne seront pas acceptées.

Les mises en candidature doivent être présentées au plus tard le 1er juin, à l'adresse suivante :

Secrétariat du Prix Ed McIsaac pour la promotion des droits de la personne dans le système correctionnel
Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel
C. P. 3421
Station « D »
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 6L4

Avis de confidentialité

Tous les renseignements personnels créés, recueillis ou conservés par le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel dans le cadre de l’administration du Prix Ed McIsaac pour la promotion des droits de la personne dans le système correctionnel sont protégés par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Cela signifie qu’on vous informera des fins auxquelles ces renseignements sont recueillis et de la façon dont vous pouvez exercer votre droit d'accès à ces renseignements. Le cas échéant, on vous demandera d’exprimer votre consentement par rapport à ces renseignements.

En ce qui à trait les renseignements personnels, Renvoi au document no. : OCI BEC 035 au fichier de renseignements personnels à l’Info Source indique :  

But : Les renseignements personnels sont utilisés pour administrer les fonds liés du Prix Ed McIsaac pour la promotion des droits de la personne dans le système correctionnel. Ils servent également à déterminer l'admissibilité des candidats et à attribuer les fonds. Les renseignements personnels sont recueillis conformément à la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition.

Usages compatibles : Les renseignements personnels peuvent être utilisés ou divulgués dans le but de tenir un répertoire des candidats au Prix Ed McIsaac pour la promotion des droits de la personne dans le système correctionnel. Les renseignements relatifs au candidat peuvent être communiqués à une province ou à une institution liée à celui-ci. Des renseignements au sujet des lauréats du prix sont affichés sur Internet.

Normes de conservation et de destruction : Une fois le processus de mise en candidature terminé, les dossiers doivent être conservés pendant deux ans à partir du 1er juin de chaque année. Aucun dossier ne doit être détruit ou jeté avant que Bibliothèque et Archives Canada n'ait émis une autorisation de disposition de documents.

Une partie des informations de cette page Web à été fournie par des sources externes. Le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel n'assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations.