The Ed McIsaac Human Rights in Corrections Award


Photo: The inaugural Ed McIsaac Human Rights in Corrections Award. From Left to right: Mr. Ed McIsaac, Professor Michal Jackson, and Mr. Howard Sapers.

The Ed McIsaac Human Rights in Corrections Award was established in December 2008. It commemorates the work and career of Ed McIsaac, who served as Executive Director of the Office of the Correctional Investigator for eighteen years. Throughout his career, Ed McIsaac inspired staff and attracted support from various community organizations to address unfair treatment and to correct systemic issues in federal corrections. He contributed to countless recommendations to improve correctional effectiveness, protect the human rights of offenders, and enhance public safety.

The Ed McIsaac Human Rights in Corrections Award recognizes the work and dedication of those who have demonstrated a lifelong commitment to improving Canadian corrections and protecting the human rights of the incarcerated.

The award may be presented to a person or an organization. Award recipients will be those whose social justice commitment and persistent efforts have contributed significantly to the advancement of human rights and correctional practice in Canada.

Upon his retirement, Mr. McIsaac was presented with a sculpture by Ms. Audrey Greyeyes, a Cree artist from Muskeg Lake Cree Nation, entitled Medicine Man. The sculpture symbolizes wisdom, clarity of thought and leadership, qualities that reflect Mr. McIsaac’s character and career.

Award recipients will receive a reproduction of the Medicine Man sculpture, as well as a modest cash donation to a charity of their choice.

The Office of the Correctional Investigator is mandated by an Act of Parliament to be an independent Ombudsman for federal offenders. Details on nomination procedures for the Ed McIsaac Human Rights in Corrections Award may be found at the following: http://www.oci-bec.gc.ca/cnt/award-prix/nom-eng.aspx.

Past Recipients:

For more information, please contact:

Ivan Zinger, J.D., Ph.D.
Executive Director and General Counsel
(613) 990-2690
Ivan.Zinger@oci-bec.gc.ca

Le Prix Ed McIsaac pour la promotion des droits de la personne dans le système correctionnel


Photo: La première Prix Ed McIsaac pour la promotion des droits de la personne dans le système correctionnel. De gauche à droite : M. Ed McIsaac, Professeur Michael Jackson, et M. Howard Sapers.

Le Prix Ed McIsaac pour la promotion des droits de la personne dans le système correctionnel a été créé en décembre 2008. Il commémore le travail et la carrière d’Ed McIsaac, qui a été le directeur exécutif du Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel pendant dix-huit ans. Pendant sa carrière, Ed McIsaac a inspiré les employés et a obtenu le soutien de divers organismes communautaires afin d’éliminer le traitement injuste des détenus et de corriger les problèmes systémiques dans le système correctionnel fédéral. Il a contribué à d’innombrables recommandations visant à améliorer l’efficacité des services correctionnels, à protéger les droits fondamentaux des délinquants et à améliorer la sécurité publique.

Le Prix Ed McIsaac pour la promotion des droits de la personne dans le système correctionnel reconnaît le travail et le dévouement des personnes qui, pendant toute leur vie, se sont engagées à améliorer le système correctionnel canadien et à protéger les droits fondamentaux des détenus.

Le Prix peut être remis à une personne ou à une organisation. Il sera remis à ceux dont l’engagement en matière de justice sociale et les efforts persistants ont contribué de façon importante à la promotion des droits de la personne et à l’avancement des pratiques correctionnelles au Canada.

Au moment de sa retraite, M. McIsaac a reçu une sculpture de Mme Audrey Greyeyes, une artiste crie de la nation crie de Muskeg Lake, intitulée Medicine Man. La sculpture symbolise la sagesse, la clarté des idées et le leadership, des qualités reflétant la personnalité et la carrière de M. McIsaac.

Les récipiendaires du Prix recevront une reproduction de cette sculpture, et une modeste somme en argent sera remise à l’organisme de bienfaisance de leur choix.

Le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel est chargé, en vertu d'une loi fédérale, d’agir comme ombudsman pour les délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale. Vous pouvez connaître les détails concernant les mises en candidature pour le Prix Ed McIsaac pour la promotion des droits de la personne dans le système correctionnel en vous rendant à l’adresse http://www.oci-bec.gc.ca/cnt/award-prix/nom-fra.aspx.

Lauréats précédents

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, veuillez communiquer avec :

Ivan Zinger, LL. D., Ph. D.
Directeur exécutif et avocat général
613-990-2690
Ivan.Zinger@oci-bec.gc.ca